We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing, poor value for money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lina Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lina Guest House
Ranked #56 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very disappointing, poor value for money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

When we arrived at the guest house, there was a note on the door telling guests to call a number for check-in... so I had to call up an get instructions over the phone to get a key, unlock the door and pick up our room keys from an envelope left on the stairs. Other bewildered guests arrived at the same time. All a bit odd.
Room was small but a reasonable attempt had been made to modernise it (unlike the bathroom, with very tired fittings and taps that didn't work properly).
The breakfast was a complete con. We knew it was continental breakfast, but for £100/night thought it'd be a decent spread - cheeses, cold meats, different rolls/pastries (you know, like on the continent). Instead we got mini packs of cereal, a piece of toast each, a tired-looking mini croissant, 2 babybels (frankly laughable if we weren't so hungry) and some portions of jam and butter. Awful tea. Ended up going for a proper breakfast elsewhere and didn't even bother on the second day. I'd be amazed if any self-respecting French or German guest would recognise that as a continental breakfast.
Fine if it's a bargain option but £100/night it feels like guests are being taken for a ride. Agree with other reviewers that friendliness leaves a bit to be desired. Plenty of other options on Banbury Road - go check them out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandolddukeofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    24
    10
    12
    4
See reviews for
10
23
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AMS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We were in oxford to atend the wedding of a friend. We decided to make it into a short hollyday. The suburb of summertown is just a short bus ride from oxford center it is also possible to rent bikes down te street. Lovely place with nice simpel rooms and a nice simpel continental breakfast. Only point of criteque is the caffetiere with instant coffy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We booked the Lina Guesthouse after speaking to the manager and finding out there would be enough facilities to suit us and our 18 month old baby. We arrived early in the day, around 12.45pm, and just went to knock to see if we were ok parking our car where we had left it. We were rudely spoken to by the housekeeper, room not ready, no receptionist, so left to go into Oxford.
The room was fine, shame we were given a room with a shower as we have a baby but they had supplied a good travel cot, however no towel for the baby. I asked if we were able to use the reception area to have a drink with our brother and sister in law, but was told that the reception shut at six, and there was nowhere other than our room to socialise. We didn't want to got to bed at 7pm with the baby!
We were on the ground floor, and the noise from upstairs was unbearable to no fault of the occupants, there was no sound insulation from the cheap laminate floor. We were served breakfast in the same unfriendly manner as the welcome by the housekeeper. And a cooked option was an additional £4.50 on top of the £85 room price.
Very bad value for money, we would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I've stayed in the flat for two months and it was good value for money and the staff was friendly and helpful. Cosy bedroom, nice kitchen, small practical toilet, and useful living room area at the flat extension. The car parking space was convenient. I highly recomend it for single occupancy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed here with another couple and the comments below re the room didn't apply in their case, so overall rating based on this. We had the front room on first floor, lovely tasteful room but... Small double bed has seen better days, sagged in middle, so spent an uncomfortable night, compounded by blinds that neither prevent light from street / dawn or traffic noise from busy main road. All combined to give very poor nights sleep, further disturbed by the fact that the shower ran whenever anyone elsewhere in the building ran water! Such a shame, the hotel has real potential, a new mattress and some good light/noise blocking curtains would transform this experience and as I said our friends were very satisfied with their side facing room. Breakfast was pleasant enough, polite, if a little slow and unnecessarily labour intensive service. Very good value for the area, but a good nights sleep is an essential so avoid that room unless your alone and a heavy sleeper! Great location, about a mile form city centre with buses going right by the door, and anyway an easy and pleasant walk.

Room Tip: Make sure your not in a road facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeenBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Lina Guest House was perfectly located for me as I was visiting family in Summertown, but even if you're visiting the centre of Oxford it's perfect as there are very regular buses into town, or it's a pleasant 20 minute walk. There are also many local facilities just outside the guest house in Summertown itself.

When I arrived I was welcomed by the owner, and he kindly directed me to the parking; four spaces behind the property and two in front. The room was very well decorated and clean, with a small but functional bathroom. For the price I was very happy, although some more expensive guest houses have higher quality pillows, but for two nights it was absolutely fine. My only complaint was that the floor boards upstairs are very creaky, and as I was staying in a room downstairs these were quite loud any time guests were in the room above.

The breakfast was continental (I believe as I'd chosen a cheaper option online), but was very well presented in the beautifully decorated dining room.

Overall a very enjoyable stay, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boadilla del Monte, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Small family-run guesthouse where we felt very welcome. Rooms are slightly bigger than the traditional B&B in the UK. It was clean with good decoration.

We had free access to parking, free wifi and fully served breakfast.

The owner looked after us at all times and he was very flexible and nice with us at all times.

And location is very convenient with easy access to the city centre (10 mins by very frequent bus services)

Thanks very much.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Ignacio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
1.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlborough House Hotel
Marlborough House Hotel
#33 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lonsdale Guest House
Lonsdale Guest House
#67 of 84 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
Five Mile View Guest House
0.4 mi away
Noa Residence
Noa Residence
#14 of 21 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lina Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lina Guest House

Property: Lina Guest House
Address: 308 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lina Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lina Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing