We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish this place would have a shake up!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Garden at The Gardener's Arms

The Garden at The Gardener's Arms
Ranked #100 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wish this place would have a shake up!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I love this place but as a visitor of 15+ years do honestly feel it is losing its sparkle - and could really do with a bit of a shake up.

I appreciate the graffiti art may be popular, but does feel like a very odd choice, and makes the place look like a hippy squat.

Starting to fall out of love with it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestassesment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Forever and Always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is great. No it's not for a romantic night out, but perfect for a group of friends. The service is basic, and perfect for what it is. Lots of vegan options, too, at this veggie establishment that I love. The veggie sharing platter is great, but you don't need to share!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank turkergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Greasy food that lacks imagination”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I'm amazed so many people are raving about the food here. I've eaten here a few times now and every single time the food has been, at best, average. If you're going to specialise in veggie food then you need to be good at it. Their menu mainly consists of veggie burgers and veggie sausages in a variety of formats. The burgers are no where near as good as the spinach and lentil burgers at the Jericho Tavern so if you're veggie, you're better going there! I've had the vegan mushroom pie as well which was also poor. The pub has a lovely beer garden and drinks are reasonably priced so it's a good place for a drink in summer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic veggie food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We always come up here with family, friends etc. always get consistent great veggie food. Getting a table can be difficult sometimes but don't let that out you off. It has a garden with tables so you can make good use of it now the weather is better.
Great veggie burgers- a fave with my kids and nieces (who are non veggie). Try the daily curry , and the veg chilli.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellerTink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Almost converted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Wow, as a confirmed meat eater I am surprised how good the food is in this pub. It is also a proper british boozer, complete with eccentric land lord and interesting staff.

All I can say this is a must visit place in Oxford, we never miss the opportunity when in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Garden at The Gardener's Arms also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Garden at The Gardener's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing