We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$63.87*
and up
Mad Hatter's Alice In Wonderland Walking Tour in Oxford with Christ Church...
Ranked #11 of 172 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Leiria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The college is beautiful but you don't get a lot for your money... If you are in Oxford you have to visit a College therefore I don't regret it... just thought it was a bit too expensive and busy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Palermita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    434
    122
    44
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Campus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

One of many beautiful colleges making up Oxford. I'm personally not a. Harry. Potter fan, but the great hall was a beautiful room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Auntie_LaLa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonbeach, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very interesting and grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Went to this one as it is supposed to be the biggest and most impressive. Cost was £8 each, more expensive of the colleges I think. Very impressed, grand old buildings and interesting history. I enjoyed the Hall most as it does look just like the dining hall from Harry Potter! I also took interest in the menu for the week pinned up, which shows what these English Scholars get to eat. We paid an extra £2 to look through the Picture Gallery, which to us (being ignorant about art) was ok, but to someone with more knowledge I'm sure would be impressive. May was quite nice and quiet too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia3196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Harry Potter's Great Hall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Yes, the same Great Hall used in the first film. We were told that a duplicate was built for the subsequent films. but the immense hall is still impressive, just knowing who some of the great names of former students were who attended Christ Church College and sat in this hall. Prime Ministers, philosophers, religious (John & Charles Wesley), and even Albert Einstein for a residency.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lewis Carroll trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were very lucky that the great hall was open and a very polite and friendly attendant stopped us to point out the Lewis Carroll stain glass window with the Alice in Wonderland characters displayed while another told us a wonderful story about the origins of the White Rabbit, a delight

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jfg7111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing