We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil hotel for busy tourist trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Absolutely first class service, food really really lovely and the vegetarian breakfast a joy

However, a lady on her own shouldn't have to ask for an upstairs bedroom when the ground floor rooms have Juliet balconies...not very safe when you want the windows open at night

But otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pionsttaseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
There are newer reviews for Old Parsonage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed for one night at The Old Parsonage, and had been upgraded on arrival (my wife and her bridesmaids had stayed there the night before our wedding). The room was a little small, but the bed was comfortable and we had a view out onto the courtyard, as well as free wi-fi. The bathroom had both bath and shower, and there were plenty of super shower gels, shampoo and body lotion for us. Fresh milk was brought up to the room for us, along with some very tasty shortbread biscuits, and the mini bar was extremely well stocked with lots of treats. Breakfast was a great spread, with freshly cooked English breakfast to order, as well as toast and muesli, and fresh coffee too. The staff were kind, helpful and utterly professional. I think our only gripe was that, as we paid the bill, we were asked if we wanted to add a tip, something we have not been asked before in a UK hotel, and it came across as rather unnecessary and unprofessional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you like more peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steviecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have been visiting Oxford for many years and normally stay in The Old Bank but this time we decided to try the sister hotel The Old Parsonage and we are so pleased we gave it a try.

Upon arrival we managed to find a car park space, it is worth noting that there are limited parking facilities, but we had informed the hotel we required a space and there appeared to be several spaces reserved. At the front of the hotel there is a lovely patio area with wooden tables and chairs with large umbrellas. This could be used for breakfast, afternoon tea or eating out in the evening. We used this for afternoon tea which was delicious and well priced, also we have drinks before our evening meal, it was very relaxing to just let the world go by.

We booked a standard double room, which was on the small side, we normally book a suite when we travel as we like spacious rooms, when we return we will make a point of booking a larger room as it was quite cramped, however this did not spoil our stay. The rooms were very clean with all the usual amenities, a nice touch was fresh milk was available in a jug when required rather than those small plastics containers, also handmade delicious shortbread biscuits. The room was a/c but there was a french door which was lovely to open to let the fresh air in.

We ate in the Resturant on one of our nights stay, the food was very tasty and reasonably priced, we could only manage a main course as we had afternoon tea. There was a good choice of wine again well priced.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay enjoyable and homely.

We have rated this hotel as very good, this is because we feel the bedrooms need to be refurbished. We were told by reception that the hotel is due to undergo a major refurbishment program at the end of 2013 and we look forward to returning when this has been completed. This would then make this hotel perfect and our rating would change to excellent.

One thing to bear in mind is there appears to be no lift and the stairs are narrow and steep and some people might find this difficult.

We would definately recommend this hotel to our friends and look forward to returning.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenBateman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed at Old Parsonage hotel in a deluxe double room whilst on a conference in Oxford. The Hotel is very central and conveniently located. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms basic but light and roomy by English standards. Breakfasts were good coffee and fantastic croissants. The only down side was the noise on the street outside at night. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back. The highlight was the wonderful staff who were bright, helpful and with personality

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

we first stayed at the Old Parsonage 15 years ago when my wife was pregnant with our daughter. we came back for one night and to see a gig in Oxford. The hotel is beautiful, atmospheric, the sun shone and Oxford was beautiful. If you are in town to go to the Botanical Gardens. We had lunch on the terrace at the Old Bank (sister hotel) which was fantastic. I can guarantee we will not leave it 15 years before we are back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NictheCigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed at the Old Parsonage Hotel for 3 nights & really enjoyed it - so atmospheric & redolent of Old English traditions & history. You couldn't find a more genuinely charming place. Even though our room must have been one of the tiniest in the hotel & we had to stow everything away in the ample cupboard in order to move around in the bedroom, we were delighted with the ambience. Our bedroom was located on the 2nd floor, up two small staircases. Lovely tea tray provided & fresh milk is brought at your request, along with delicious shortbread biscuits. Bathroom was fine with bathtub/shower & bed was comfortable, though small! Breakfast was delicious & served by attentive & friendly staff, with plenty of choice. We ate in the hotel one evening in front of the log fire, which was a wonderful experience. You can walk into the central shopping area in about 10 minutes; well located near the colleges. Lovely patio in the front & bicycles available if wanted. Highly recommended for those who enjoy charm & quaintness & don't mind a creaky floor or two!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and it was excellent, ok it is old, quirky, quaint, doesn't have all the "mod cons" of an anonymous chain style hotel, but it does have charm. The location is great, literally a few hundred yards (sorry I only know old money!) from the centre of Oxford, so easy walking and no need to take the car our.

Fortunately we stayed in the old part of the hotel, which was large, very clean, quirky and to get to it you go up an old original staircase. The room was well appointed, mini bar, coffee/tea making facilities, free Wi Fi, tv etc.

All of the staff are excellent, mothing was to much trouble for them, they made you feel welcome and at home.

Breakfast choice was limited but very good, I had the cooked full english for the three days we stayed and it was freshly cooked to order and the quality was consistant. The continental looked good as well, again not much choice but good quality.

I think the only downside is the car parking as there are relatively few spaces at the hotel, but they do have other parking facilities nearby, I beleive.

The hotel is dog friendly and all are made welcome.

If you want a modern "box" hotel then this isn't for you, however if you want something more personal and homely this is a must stay hotel in Oxford, we will be returning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the old part of the hotel
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donkey3653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
704 reviews
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £200 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing