We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff. Granted, it's a little quirky in some ways (we had to transit the small dining room in order to access our suite), but we were charmed by the two sets of french doors that led from our suite to a semi-private garden containing a few wooden tables and chairs. It was a heavenly place for a brief reading session or a moment of quiet contemplation, especially as St. Giles Church was situated on the other side of the garden wall.
There is a small parking area to one side where we allowed our car to rest for our entire stay, while we walked everywhere. Nothing important to see or do was very far away; and a number of good restaurants were within easy striking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noah203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

I spent 2 lovely nights here a very pleasant stay. The breakfast was plentiful and hot. A very central hotel with car parking. Unfortunately I didn't have lunch or dinner there , but the high teas looked good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdavies460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Old Parsonage in October. What a delightful place. The old building is very cozy and very well decorated.
The room is quite comfortable, with a small terrace. The dining room is pretty cool and it is worth dinner at the hotel.
Staff are helpful, despite a little confusion with the clothes we sent to wash. But nothing to ruin a perfect stay.
I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My daughter & I, were there last September 2013. We were staying there for about 4 nights. Amazing, helpful & very welcoming staff. Our room is on the first floor with a view towards the little private courtyard. All in all, we have had a fantastic time and definitely would love to come back again, since my daughter now is attending one of the University there in Oxford. The hotel itself is amazing old & full of character building. I love Old Parsonage!

Room Tip: It is where you can just walk, not too far away to High Street/Centre for shopping(s), loads of nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

If you want a relaxed atmosphere in Oxford we would totally recommend you stay at the Old Parsonage. Our 2 nights was absolutley perfect from the minute we walked through the door to be greated with a nice smile and a roaring log fire, we were shown to our very quaint room which apparantley Oscar Wilde used to frequent. Our room was perfect and the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast is something you should not miss the Full English is absolutley fantastic. The staff are so friendly and helpful,its just a shame the hotel is closing for 4 months for a complete refurbishment, cant wait to go back and see all the improvements..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

First, the good news: the staff are great--very service-oriented. And the amenities are high-end.

The bad news: the rooms are WAY too small to be comfortable. The bed is a double/twin (not a king, and not even a queen). There is very little room to walk around the bed, The furniture is likewise small or even missing: the desk is not large enough to be functional; there is no bureau/chest of drawers to hold your clothes; and the night tables are too small to hold anything larger than a small glass.

The cramped feeling starts at the lobby. You have to walk through the restaurant and up a few stairs to get to the guest rooms (there are people to help you with your luggage if you need it). It's hard to explain, but it feels very odd to do this. It must be unpleasant for the diners, too, frankly. If the restaurant is full, people need to move out of your way as you pass with your luggage.

I'd have no problem with this is the price reflected this. But this hotel is extremely expensive. So for a five-star price, you're getting a two-star room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadalot212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed for one night so only booked a standard room. Staff were welcoming and efficient but the overall ambience is of a city pub rather than a restaurant / hotel. Access to the bedrooms is via the bar and dining areas which makes one feel like an intruder rather than a guest, especially when diners have to move to allow one to pass through.
Afternoon tea was very filling and tasty, as was breakfast on the following morning. Service was speedy and courteous.
The big disappointment was the bedroom. It was small, badly laid out, and had clearly had a hard life, judging by the condition of the old furniture. The room was badly in need of redecoration and the carpet was pretty dingy; fortunately slippers were provided so that one was able to avoid skin to carpet contact. The pillows seemed to be rather elderly as they provided no support - one didn't rest on them as they had no load bearing capacity and collapsed to minimal thickness at the first sign of weight. The bathroom was similarly in need of a deep clean and refurbishment and fungal growth on grouting and mastic sealant was pretty off putting. Cables dangling from behind the wall mounted TV indicated a lack of attention to detail. At least there was plenty of hot water.
The major plus point is proximity to the centre of Oxford. However, on site parking is limited and the small size of the parking spaces severely restricts the options for parking even a medium size saloon, let alone a large car. There is public parking nearby but it is expensive and not always available during busy periods.
One expects to pay a minimum of about £200 per night for a room and breakfast in the centre of Oxford. However, it shouldn't be too difficult to provide a smart, clean, and well decorated room if a hotelier is charging that sort of price. By that standard The Old Parsonage isn't good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments regarding the décor of the hotel are very prescient. Our forthcoming refurbishment project has been a long time coming. It is fair to say that certain improvements and maintenance projects have been deferred, pending full replacement or repair. The hotel will close on the 1st of November, for approximately 4 months, during which time major structural and decorative changes will take place.

As the Old Parsonage has grown in reputation and popularity, the fact that it has never been a purpose built hotel is increasingly exposed; quirks like having to take suitcases through the restaurant or be unable to provide guests with their own residents lounge are being rectified.

The whole hotel is being refurbished, with brand new soft furnishings, bedding and furniture, as well as all fixtures and fittings. Further details can be viewed on our website; our online diary will keep you abreast of developments over the next few months. Our ultimate aim is to be the most luxurious and well-appointed hotel in Oxford.

We do hope you will return to the Old Parsonage, in its new incarnation, to experience these improvements first hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 45 in Oxford
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
3.4 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £171 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing