We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Any time you're in Oxford ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Parsonage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Any time you're in Oxford ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

It's really lovely if your children have a place at university in Oxford, but it's not an easy city to find central good accommodation and none of it is cheap. The Old Parsonage manages to feel peaceful and almost rural whilst resting centrally on St Giles. The rooms are mostly not large and on one occasion we suffered with the noise of the kitchen fans, but we have stayed there so many times that one disappointment almost seems churlish to mention. The staff keep a record of your personal likes and dislikes so that return visits go just that little bit more smoothly. The food is good though the restaurant suffers a little from lack of space but somehow, the atmosphere makes up for it and the staff have always been attentive and helpful. We would certainly rate this as our Oxford hotel of choice - and we have stayed at at least a half a dozen others...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    181
    52
    23
    10
See reviews for
135
310
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful, near St Giles and all the colleges, but very peacefull too, I particularly liked the breakfasts here as well, highly recommended, especially if you are after value fro money, which this place definitely provides.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brummyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I had eaten at the restaurant here a couple of times and enjoyed the food and ambience immensely. However, the hotel doesn't live up to the restaurant in quality or decor. My room was a deluxe option and certainly spacious, but the decor was somewhat jaded and for privacy's sake I had to keep the curtains perpetually closed as the French windows opened onto the hotel gardens. This meant the room was rather gloomy. The hotel is actually a modern extension to the hotel's far prettier front facade and rather charmless. Breakfast, however, was ample and tasty.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gallivant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are, at this very moment, closed for refurbishment and I am pleased to report that our ‘jaded décor’ has been consigned to history. Work continues apace and we on schedule to re-open at the end of March.

I would like to clarify that the hotel gardens are private and for exclusive use of hotel guests. They are not over-looked and, we feel, provide a peaceful aspect with plenty of daylight, at the rear of the hotel.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the ‘new’ Old Parsonage on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Davids, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel with a very helpful and friendly staff. Granted, it's a little quirky in some ways (we had to transit the small dining room in order to access our suite), but we were charmed by the two sets of french doors that led from our suite to a semi-private garden containing a few wooden tables and chairs. It was a heavenly place for a brief reading session or a moment of quiet contemplation, especially as St. Giles Church was situated on the other side of the garden wall.
There is a small parking area to one side where we allowed our car to rest for our entire stay, while we walked everywhere. Nothing important to see or do was very far away; and a number of good restaurants were within easy striking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noah203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I spent 2 lovely nights here a very pleasant stay. The breakfast was plentiful and hot. A very central hotel with car parking. Unfortunately I didn't have lunch or dinner there , but the high teas looked good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdavies460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Old Parsonage in October. What a delightful place. The old building is very cozy and very well decorated.
The room is quite comfortable, with a small terrace. The dining room is pretty cool and it is worth dinner at the hotel.
Staff are helpful, despite a little confusion with the clothes we sent to wash. But nothing to ruin a perfect stay.
I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My daughter & I, were there last September 2013. We were staying there for about 4 nights. Amazing, helpful & very welcoming staff. Our room is on the first floor with a view towards the little private courtyard. All in all, we have had a fantastic time and definitely would love to come back again, since my daughter now is attending one of the University there in Oxford. The hotel itself is amazing old & full of character building. I love Old Parsonage!

Room Tip: It is where you can just walk, not too far away to High Street/Centre for shopping(s), loads of nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Property: Old Parsonage Hotel
Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#3 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing