We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok, nothing special but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed there for two nights. I have to say that, apart from our room, I did not like the rest of the hotel.

Starting with the good, our room was clean, spacious, had avery nice and big TV, view to the garden, and in general it was fine. He slept very well.

Apart from that though, the rest of the hotel was quite old, the elevator really old, small and "weird", the reception dull and old-fashioned. We were not impressed by the breakfast, I would say that even the large variety of things, the quality was poor at some of them.

In general I would propose that the hotel had the common areas renovated, and then it would be a really nice place to stay. If you would take somebody blindfolded to the room, then he would be very pleased! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midiangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you very much for your review, all of your comments have been taken onboard and passed onto the relevant departments - the hotel is under going a refurbishment in the next 18 months and your comments will be taken into account.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

A standard 3 star hotel in a lovely quiet location. The rooms were a bit small but very clean and bathroom was very good. It was very useful to have an iron and a fan already in the room. Normally you have to request these. Breakfast was definitely the best part. Excellent ingredients and huge selection. The sausages were particularly good. The rooms were meticulously cleaned each day and the restaurant, bar and cleaning staff were friendly unlike some at reception!

Only downside was that some of the reception staff are pretty cold and unhelpful. I arrived around half an hour before check in time and no one attempted to check if the room was ready, I was simply told to leave my bags and come back later. I felt that I was bothering certain reception staff so a few more smiles and warmth would be nice from a couple of them (not all)!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you very much for your review about Linton Lodge Hotel Oxford. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments on our bedrooms and breakfast.

Your experience at reception has been noted and is being looked into

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Booked to stay here and was given a minute single room that you could not close the door without trapping the bed spread in the door. The room was £75 a night but for the same price other people I was staying with had much larger rooms with double beds and baths. The room was directly over the kitchens which had extractors next to the window, so if you opened the window you got a lovely aroma of grease.
Bathroom was clean, shower only "please put used towels in the bath if you want them changed" was not exactly sure where to leave them.
Room 117 is the room to avoid.
I would have expected this room to be much cheaper than others.

Room Tip: Not room 117
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review, sorry that you didn’t find everything up to your expectations during your stay. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments and are being looked into.

Once again thank you for your review

Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 11 am on 22 Jun 12. We had requested an early occupancy of a second floor room. The reception was in a word "frosty" and we were informed that our room was not ready. We were offered a room on the first floor which would indicate that no arrangements are in place to service rooms earmarked for early occupancy as a priority. Both receptionits (namely "Karen" and "Christina") were totally disinterested in our predicament and were unable to forecast when our room would be ready. In fact we had to wait one and a half hours before being informed that it had been serviced.

The final straw occurred when payment was requested in advance for our two night stay. We were informed that it was "hotel policy". We were not even allowed to inspect our room for suitability before being charged. This was a first for us having stayed in hotels worldwide. If this "policy" was explained when booking accommodation we feel it would drastically impact on the hotel"s business!

Despite information to the contrary the Free WiFi did not work in our room. To obtain internet connection we had to resort to a dongel which incurred an unecessary additional expenditure of £10.

Our visit to Oxford was to attend a relative's wedding. Had we been there for any other reason we would not have stayed at this hotel.

To many American tourists visiting Oxford the standards encountered would vindicate their belief that faulty Towers was a documentary.

The only good oint of the hotel was the young man who helped us with our luggage. He was helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Go for a second floor room - all the floors squeek!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your email, I am glad that your enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Keith Walford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Having booked four hotel rooms one year in advance for a special birthday celebration you might think there'd be a chance of having the desired rooms. However, on arrival only one of the four rooms requested was the correct one. This despite regular phone calls throughout the intervening period to check.
However the worst has to be the lack of friendliness or apology from the girl on reception who was super impolite concerning the possibility of changing rooms. In the end the switch is possible, but good customer service is vital and of course expected when a hotel has the best western mark...! The birthday should be fun anyway and the breakfast is great :-))

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankie261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review and I apologise for the service you received here at the hotel. This incident is being looked into, please could you contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your experience

Thank you
Susanne Bange
01865 404200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

WE stayed two in the Linton Lodge and found it very comefortable. The staff we excellent, good car parking facilities, lovely clean room, excellent bathroom facilities and within walking distance of the centre of Oxford. Definately worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are not the best option
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review and I am glad that you had such a pleasant stay with us here at Linton Lodge. If you find yourself back in the area then please do come and stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Slightly disappointed with the noise from the room above us. Thin walls!! Dinner at the hotel is not recommended. Steak awful!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sessylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal in the Restaurant - please be assured that your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards
Susanne Bange

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.1 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
442 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel

Address: Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England (Formerly Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £88 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linton Lodge Hotel, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing