We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff - but Oh dear!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Staff - but Oh dear!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Ask to see the room before you pay. Ok, I booked a single room and expected a cell, albeit a clean one. But I did not expect a cell with a double bed. A no-brainer – no room to move around. The bathroom was spacious and my bedroom was probably the small sitting room to a two bedroom suite. Just guessing. Décor was dated, and a bit grubby.

The only thing that this hotel has going for it is its staff – all are pleasant and fighting a losing battle with disgruntled guests.

And the food?! I travel frequently and the breakfast at Linton was awful. It looks ok, but everything was of the poorest quality. Putting one’s teeth into an old, old apple was not a quality experience. And I can’t say much about the evening smorgasbord, except for the upset stomach and diarrhea that continued for the next three days. Avoid.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you pay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie46Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for sending your feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton lodge Hotel, Oxford.

Your business is very important to us and we value your opinion. I am disappointed that you did not raise your concerns whilst staying with us so that we could have rectified the situation before you left.

I am sure it is of little comfort to you now but we are currently undergoing a refurbishment which will address some of the issues that you raise regarding the hotel structure.

I have noted your comments regarding the food, but without firm knowledge as to when you stayed it is difficult for me to address these issues direct as we have had no other negative feedback and nothing was brought to our attention by yourself directly

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future but If I can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01865 553461.

Kind Regards
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    270
    181
    88
    46
See reviews for
109
251
53
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights, Sunday & Monday. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was just perfect with a nice garden view. The garden area was lovely but it was raining whilst we were there so could not take advantage of sitting out in the evening. Other reviews I read commented on the 'long walk' into Oxford. This took the two of us about 20 minutes on the Sunday when we arrived, but in reality it took us less than 15 minutes, as far as I am concerned that is not far. There is a decent car park so no need to take it into Oxford and pay for parking also plenty of buses.

We actually stayed at the hotel for our evening meal on the Sunday, this was a buffet style 2 course meal (starter & roast meats and veg) with glass of wine for £12 with no restrictions on how many times you could go back for more, we could not fault it.

We chose this hotel for location and the parking, It was good value for money and would stay there again.

Happy travelers West Yorskhrie

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary190786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for sending your feedback regarding your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton lodge Hotel, Oxford.

Your business is very important to us and we value your opinion. By telling us what you liked about your stay, and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind Regards
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Large room with comfortable bed. Very pleasant and helpful staff on the reception desk. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. Regular bus to town if you don't fancy a short walk. I'll definitely return if in the area again for work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr00mba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your email, I am glad that your enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the linton lodge. We had room 8 which has a view of the garden at the rear of the hotel, a large room with nice bathroom. The only criticism was the creaking floorboards from the room above, the 1st night disturbed our sleep but the 2nd night wasn't really a problem. The buffet breakfast is very good and enough choice to suit all tastes. It's quite a long walk into oxford city centre but we found the buses very reliable, every 5 minutes and costing £1.70 for a single journey but you can buy a 24 hour pass for £4.00 which gives you unlimited journeys. All in all a perfect hotel for exporing the delights of historic oxford. If we visit this area again we'll definitely stay at the linton lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lLiverpoolSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us here at BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge. Your feedback has been taken back to all the departments. If you find yourself in the area again we would be pleased to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Perfect for business travelers or anyone passing through the area. The staff is top notch and made by two week stay much more enjoyable. It's a bit of a walk to downtown Oxford, but it's easy enough and probably a good thing after feasting on fish and chips.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing Linton Lodge hotel and I am glad that you enjoyed your 2 week stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the area

Kind Regards
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was my second stay at the Linton Lodge Hotel. This time I had a nicely decorated room on the ground floor, heating/ac, good TV, quiet room, kettle etc. for coffee/tea, nice enough bathroom with a walk-in shower, which is what I wanted. There is parking, free WiFi and the staff is very pleasant and efficient. The lobby, dining room and bar could be refreshed, but the area generally is very pleasant and the hotel enjoys a rear garden for nice weather. Not central, but most convenient for my purposes. I had one lunch and 2 breakfasts, all really decent for the price.

Room Tip: My ground floor newly done up room was very nice, though not large, with view into the car park. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review about the Linton Lodge Hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of your comments have been passed onto the team here.

Once again thank you for taking time to review the hotel

Kind Regards
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

My wife and I just stayed here for five nights. The room was roomy and clean. It overlooked the street, which worried us at first, but the street ended up being very quiet, so even my very sensitive wife didn't mind. The furnishings and decor are not super new, but they were nice enough. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Another review here mentioned bad WiFi, but I didn't have any problem with the WiFi at all.

The location is not right in the center of Oxford -- for which you'd probably be paying a lot more -- but is within a comfortable walking distance of center, probably about twenty minutes, and the bus is just a bit over a block away. I actually enjoyed the walk from the hotel down pretty tree-lined streets.

The only negative thing I have to say was about the restaurant. It seemed like the staff had never worked in a restaurant before, it was almost comical. And the food was overly expensive, I'd recommend walking a few blocks down the main street to one of the many nearby pubs for a tastier and cheaper meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent five night stay with us; we are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your time here. All of your comments have been taken on board and will be addressed accordingly.

Kind regards,
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Address: 11-13 Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing