We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“nice but not great”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The reception and rooms are nicely decorated but hallways in need of decoration. The room was not perfectly clean. Cobwebs around windows and dust in bathroom. A couple of toiletries were in the bathroom but for the price and four starts I would have expected more and of a better quality. The bed was comfy and tea/coffee making in room. Although we stayed for 2 nights the free bottled water and tea,coffee used was not replaced. The most dissapointing thing was the breakfast. It was awful! good location for city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor / Booking.com following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I apologise for the Housekeeping standards which are unacceptable and will be adressed along with the Breakfast quality.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    291
    186
    89
    47
See reviews for
117
261
56
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed one night here on a business trip. Overall the hotel is pleasant and the reception areas have been recently refurbished. I would not recommend staying here during the summer months due to the lack of air conditioning in the rooms, but in winter it should be fine.

Good points:
- Very clean
- Nice new bathroom with powerful shower
- About 20 minute walk to the city centre
- Plenty of off street parking available
- Delicious breakfast
- Friendly and very attentive staff on reception and in the restaurant

Bad points:
- This is the warmest hotel I have ever stayed in. There is no A/C and the room was like an oven overnight, even with the window open
- There is no A/C in the room
- Some of the furnishings in the room were tired and flimsy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italicBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor / Booking.com following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford. Being a traditional Edwardian hotel, like the majority of similar hotels in the UK, it is impossible to now to install Air Conditioning
Our major refurbishment is almost complete and our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by 15 brand new Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was suggested this hotel as it was the place where the rest of the group (business contacts) will check in. After reading through some of the comments, I was beginning to doubt my decision, especially after I have learnt about the construction work in the hotel. Nevertheless, I decided to give it a try and then change the hotel the following day if it really was that bad. It turned out that majority of the construction work in the common areas was over and that this hotel proved to be a rather comfortable stay, especially considering its three stars.
My room was on the first floor facing a well maintained backyard. The room had squeaky floors (like every second lodge or B&B in the U.K. given that these are usually very old buildings), some gap between the floor and door, the carpet has seen better days (but it was vacuumed), but there was no dust in the room, the bed linens were clean, the bathroom was recently refurbished and clean, the room was warm (there is a large heather and the windows are new) and the closet was rather decent. The internet connection is very good. The hotel staff is very kind and professional.
Occasionally, one might hear some footsteps above or on the stairs (that would not last for too long as the guests were OK and minding others), but I have no problems with sleep and these did not bother me.
Do not expect miracle for breakfast. Basically, you can have the items that make a traditional English breakfast, some average quality cheese (oddly packed and it takes forever to open), porridge (on demand) and some fruit. I was not too impressed, but, again, given that it is a three star hotel and that I had to rush out pretty early each morning and could not be bothered with eating elsewhere for similar price, I ate in the hotel. If you have more time you might considering eating elsewhere (for 10 GBP there are plenty of options). Especially given that there is complementary coffee/tea in the room.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel if a close proximity to the city centre (approximately 15 minutes by foot and near the bus stop), clean bed and bathroom is what one is after. If one is after luxury, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnbiasedChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor / Booking.com following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford.
As you mention our major refurbishment is nearing completion and our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by 15 brand new Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband recently stayed at Linton Lodge for six months whilst working locally and during his long stay was very much looked after as was I when visiting.

The rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable with the bonus of the newly refurbished rooms being very nice indeed. The lounge and reception area were refurbished during this time too and look fantastic. The lounge is modern and comfortable to relax in with the options for drinks and food from the bar. We also sampled the restaurant a few times and the food and wine were delicious.

The hotel has a car park which is always a big bonus and a lovely garden. Every single member of staff we dealt with were friendly, helpful, professional, considerate and respectful and nothing ever seemed to be a problem.

Thank you to you all at Linton Lodge for making my husbands stay so comfortable and for making me feel welcome too. We wish we could have moved Linton lodge and the staff to our next location!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor / Booking.com following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that your husband enjoyed his long stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford. We all wish him well for the future and hope to see you both again soon
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I stayed hear for one night and we found it a perfect location only 15min walk to the city centre, the hotel was nice although they did have building work being carried out which restricted to amount of parking and we found the rooms where nice but a bit tatty and dated. Breakfast was good quality and buffet style.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor / Booking.com following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford.
Our major refurbishment is almost complete and our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by 15 brand new Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel only had a double room left for our family of 2 adults and 1 teen but they offered to put an additional bed in the room - importantly this was a proper bed not a camp bed so our son had a decent night's sleep. I also really liked the fact that they had added a glass, teacup & saucer, spoon and towels for the 3rd occupant. Many hotels forget to do that even when they add an extra bed. The room & bathroom were spotless, lots of towels, free wifi, windows you can actually open, free parking, ironing board, kettle & selection of drinks. Continental breakfast at £6pp was excellent value though waiters had to be reminded to bring hot drinks (it was v busy). The hotel itself is in a nice quiet residential area, a 10-15 min pleasant walk into the city and 5 min from a massive park. Thumbs up!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClogsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor / Booking.com following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We paid £130 for one night. The reception area is being refurbished and looks lovely unfortunately that cannot be said for the rest of the hotel. Shabby rooms with chipped furniture, stained carpets and peeling paint. We found pubic hair on the bathroom floor and also in a drawer. The curtains were hanging at the windows and did not close properly. The staff we the best part of the hotel . Not good at all. We didn't order breakfast.

Room Tip: not sure there are any !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review on Trip Advisor / Booking.com following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I apologise for the issues that you raise which are well below the standards that we try to achieve.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
279 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Address: Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England (Formerly Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linton Lodge Hotel, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing