We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely breakfast, noisy night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Eastham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely breakfast, noisy night”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

staff very friendly and helpful. breakfast fab but if you are allocated room 1 just say no thanks, it was clean but we must of had a heard of elephants above us, if they moved we heard it, if they spoke we heard it. we have been in ground floor rooms before but have never heard noise like that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for submitting your review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford.
I have noted your comments regarding the room and will look into the issues that you raise regarding the noise for which I apologise
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    291
    186
    89
    47
See reviews for
117
261
56
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here last night for one night on a visit to Oxford for leisure. The hotel and room were clean and tidy with no complaints. Yes, they are still working on the front entrance but this did not inconvenience our stay. It's a 15min walk into the city which is ideal and it's just off the Banbury Road where you can pick up the sightseeing tour bus.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank x-hanpan-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for submitting your review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford.
As you have said our major refurbishment is almost complete and our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by 15 brand new Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

My mum & I stayed here last Oct and enjoyed our 2 nights. Rooms clean & comfortable. Restaurant refurbished to a modern dining look - was lovely, but sort of looked out of place compared to age of the hotel.
There is a lift, but you still need to climb a few stairs before getting to your room.
The hotel is easy walking distance to the main street where buses come by quite frequently. It could also be nice walk into town if desired.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for submitting your review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a wonderful time in Oxford.
Our refurbishment has now been completed and the whole ground floor has been changed to reflect the Restuarnat that you experienced, as well as 15 brand new Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Never stayed here before but the hotel renovation seems to have worked well - all areas looked clean and fresh, bedrooms and bathrooms perfect. The bar is a little small but I wouldn't expect to want to drink in a hotel bar when Oxford centre is only 10 minutes walk away. Very good value breakfast. All staff helpful and welcoming

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pplr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times before as it's close to town centre at a reasonable price. Basic but clean rooms, a beautiful garden and a large bar area with beer on tap made this hotel feel more comfortable and often encouraged us to start our evening here. When we returned May this year we were disappointed. They have clearly spent a lot and renovating the place but have spoilt it. Trying to make something modern on a budget has left the lobby and new tiny bar area look tacky! The new bar area is approx a meter wide now and clinical with no selection of beers and no staff at lunch time. A beautiful day so we asked to have a snack in the grader which was not easily accessible any more and had hardly any furniture in to sit on. Such a shame as we will not return to somewhere we really enjoyed before

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I am sorry that you feel that the hotels character has been changed, however it was in need of bringing up to date and our major refurbishment is almost complete and our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by 15 brand new Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens which has a fully furnished sunken seating area, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel.
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I checked into this hotel for 1 night whilst on business. The hotel is currently being refurbished, some of the carpets had seen better days. I ventured into the restaurant for a meal only to have service which was somewhat reminiscent of Fawlty Towers. Half way through taking my order the person went away to seat other people, this I found extremely rude and then my order was not correct. When it arrived there 2nd person who delivered the meal could not speak English and I had to speak French to explain what was wrong. For a hotel charging this amount I expect a lot lot better. If I have a choice next time the Linton will not be high on my wish list.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PJWIBBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for completing the review regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
I apologise for the poor service in the Restaurant, for which I can offer no excuses, and this is something that we will use to emphasise the high importance of customer service
I do hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This is a no-service no-frills motor lodge. The best I can say is that the bathroom was spotless. For the price, you can do better. Take advantage of the excellent bus service to downtown and widen your search.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeinmotio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LintonLodge99, General Manager at Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for submitting your review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel, Oxford. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.
By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a better experience for you and other guests in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Keith Walford
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Linton Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
274 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Address: Linton Road, Oxford OX2 6UJ, England (Formerly Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linton Lodge Hotel, previously 3 Edwardian houses still with some original features but fully converted, set in one and a half acres of gardens, in a quiet suburb yet just a mile from the city centre. Our brand new bright, airy and contemporary Restaurant, Lounge Bar and Reception have now been supplemented by our brand new Executive Bedrooms, many overlooking the Gardens, all adding to create a new vibrant look for the hotel. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon where you can see for yourself the changes that we have made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Linton Hotel Oxford
Oxford Best Western
Best Western Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing