We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was our first time at The Old Bank having sampled other hotels in the city. We were not disappointed. The location is superb, central and perfect for both wandering 'old Oxford' as well as the shops and places to eat out.
The hotel itself is smart, modern and very clean. The staff from reception to housekeeping and waiting were polite, friendly and efficent. We were always made to feel very welcome and valued.
Our room was spacious and well appointed.
The owner has filled the hotel (including the rooms) with selections from his private art collection and whilst maybe not to everyones taste, we found this and interesting and pleasing addition. It served to enhance our experience.
Unusually for us we chose to 'eat in' one evening and we had a meal at The Quod. The food was excellent as was the service; I felt it represented value for money.
The one small issue I has with the hotel regarding the location of our room was dealt with in a completely professional and satisfactory manner by the manager who could not have done more to ensure our stay was a happy one.
I make no apologies for this glowing report; being a seasoned hotel guset in various cities I feel this is a case of 'credit where credit is due'. 10/10

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveJ211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

951 - 957 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Overall Comments: Great hotel in the historic heart of Oxford

Room: Modern room, reasonably well furnished with nice bathroom. All normal amenities, mini bar, satellite tv, wifi (paid) etc.

Location: Perfect location just 50 metres to Radcliffe Camera.

Facilities: Lacks facilities of larger hotels…pool, gym etc, but made up for with location.

Food: Nice restaurant in front of hotel, casual atmosphere and friendly staff.

Service: Very friendly & helpful staff

Parking: Secure private parking on hotel grounds…very tight corner to get in so don’t bring a Hummer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodJunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A beautiful hotel in the heart of a beautiful city. Staff were friendly and professional, accommodation worth the price tag, and food was really good too. Parking can be a bit tricky when busy but that's the only negative thing I can think of. A visit to The Bear pub is also highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank skiingarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Old Bank Hotel in Oxford, England is a WONDERFUL place to stay. To a person, the staff is professional, friendly, and welcoming. If I ever have the privilege of returning to Oxford, I can guarantee that this is where I will stay. I hope you will as well.

Room Tip: Just make a reservation - the staff will be very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriareading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We adored this hotel. Our room was wonderful, comfortable and quiet. The staff were ALL so very friendly and helped us with every need. The free walking tour with Isabella was excellent and fun. And, the food in the attached restaurant was amazing. And, on top of all that, the hotel is incredibly convenient. We can't wait to go back. Simply wonderful all the way around.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyP692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had two night break at the Old Bank Hotel as weekend treat to get to know Oxford. It was a super hotel. The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Our rooms were excellent - we paid a bit more for the deluxe rooms and it was worth it. The hotel is right in the centre of Oxford so if you want somewhere peaceful then perhaps ask for a room at the back. However, we loved the hustle and bustle of the city and the view from our window at the front of the hotel was stunning - looking across at the city's stunning buildings. Our rooms were very clean, tastefully furnished and we loved all the art on the walls. It has real character. We found the car park no problem and is such a bonus as you car is secure and right next to the hotel. Do eat at Quod - the restaurant attached to the hotel - the food is excellent and the waiters were wonderful and friendly. If you are looking for a vibrant, and 'with it' hotel, with all that Oxford has to offer on the doorstep, then the Old Bank is perfect.

Room Tip: We had two deluxe rooms on the third floor. Room 40 had the most stunning views across the city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyGuest65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This hotel is just lovely! The staff are polite and helpful. The rooms are exquisitely comfortable - smooth cotton sheets; soft warm blankets (although the small double I had would be a little cozy if I hadn't been traveling alone for business). The restaurant has good fare at a reasonable price and all that lovely Oxford on your doorstep. Memorably good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nem_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £187 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing