We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
East Horsley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning hotel!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Old Bank Hotel last week for one night. My daughter was attending an Open Day at Oxford. From the minute I made the booking, the staff were fantastic. They came back to me straight away and confirmed that they would ensure I had a room with a view. They also gave me excellent directions on how to get to the Hotel car park. When we arrived, we were told by the very friendly staff at Reception that we had been upgraded to a suite. Our suite (Room 32 on the second floor) was absolutely amazing - beautifully decorated with windows looking out over the spires of Oxford. And everything was so comfortable. The bathroom was great and the bath has such good pressure that you are warned that it will be full in 2 minutes!
We had dinner in the hotel's main restaurant, Quod, which was very busy and clearly very popular. The food was delicious and the service excellent. We also had a very good breakfast there the following morning.
Check out was supposed to be at 11am but I asked for a later check out because I had to get my daughter to the open day. They obliged without a murmur.
All in all, I would say this is one of the best, most friendly and most beautifully appointed hotels I have ever stayed in. I hope to go back some day soon. Oh and I have forgotten to say that the location is perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thanks so much

I'm glad you enjoyed the staff and the hotel.

See you soon i hope.

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    296
    64
    19
    6
See reviews for
204
598
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Lovely hotel perfectly situated for a bout of shopping or sightseeing in the picturesque town of Oxford. As a last minute reservation we were pleasantly surprised that the concierge managed to find us a restaurant reservation at their sister hotel on a Saturday evening.
The room was well appointed, with lovely REN products, spacious with a well stocked mini bar.
We missed breakfast in the busy brasserie on Sunday morning, but the smells and smiles said enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelster021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thanks very much

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for about 5 nights while attending a conference. I had no hand in picking the hotel as that's where my office booked my hotel. This was an amazing hotel in Oxford - the rooms felt quite spacious for Oxford. It was modernized and very clean. Even though it was almost midnight, the staff was accommodating and got me some food. My only compliant is all the doors in the hallway and the really weird configuration with many steps and turns in the hallway - but I guess that's firecode and the fact that it is a very old building, but it made getting luggage through really difficult. The location is quite central, about a 20-min walk from the train station. The Quod restaurant is right there so it was easy to grab a bite or a drink. I can definitely see why this is rated No. 1 in Oxford. They have an agreement with a sportsclub in Oxford - that was about a 5 minute walk and the facilities were okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Booklust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is an absolutely super hotel packed with bags of character. The staff are super efficient but lovely and caring as well - they could all easily be employed in a far more expensive establishment. Our room was super and quiet. I have to add that the chips served in their restaurant, Quod, were probably the best we have EVER eaten. Again the service at lunch and breakfast was excellent. There in only one drawback to this hotel in the shape of a vengeful avian (variety unknown) who chooses to make his opion on vehicles in his own unique way (cancel the RSPB membership!!!) however yet again the ever obliging staff cleaned our car for us. Will certainly return to this hotel even without a reason for visiting Oxford.

Room Tip: We had a room at the side of the hotel which was close to the high street without the noise, really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValerieAnne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thanks very much for your review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

The birds do roost on occasion, i must admit. We are very happy to clean cars if necessary.

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is an excellent City centre boutique hotel right in the middle of Oxford. It is really well run with delightful and highly capable staff. The position is ideal if one is visiting the University - one is right in the middle of many of the oldest colleges and the hotel's restaurant buzzes with University life. The rooms are very comfortable, albeit mostly quite small and the rooms facing out onto the High Street are a little noisy with buses passing by all night. It is better to have one of the rooms on the back which, although mostly the lower category of rooms, are much quieter and the bells of one of the college's chapel bells is all that will disturb you. In a City where car parking is a big problem, the hotel's private car park for guests is a big bonus. In my view, this is the best of the Oxford hotels although if it is full then you will also do well at it's sister hotel, the Old Parsonage.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

An excellent hotel. Exceptional staff, comfortable and quiet room and central parking. Not cheap but well worth the price

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Old Bank Hotel at the beginning of May. The hotel is perfectly located on the High Street, very close to the Radcliffe Camera and Bodleian Library, several colleges and the main shopping area. Despite the central location the room was very quiet, our room was at the back of the hotel but due to traffic restrictions on the High Street itself there was not too much traffic passing by at the front during the day. The free parking was definitely a bonus, and the hotel also offered complementary bicycle hire to guests. Double room was a good size, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, with high quality bed linen and a nice soft bed. The bathroom was compact but well equipped with enough storage space and lovely REN toiletries. We found the staff very friendly and helpful with maps and recommendations if needed, checkout was quick and efficient. We ate at the Hotel's restaurant (Quod) on the first evening - the food was tasty and value for money with a great atmosphere. If we were to return to Oxford we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing