We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Bank Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$454
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$402
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Newton House(Oxford)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$458
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$446
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveller rating
834
325
71
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
834
325
71
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquod restauranthigh streetcar parkradcliffe cameramodern artmagpieuniversity churchwalking tourperfect locationlovely hotelcovered marketbodleian libraryboutique hotelsister hotelfresh milkcentral oxfordmini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
760 - 765 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I had a wonderful 24 hr stay in the Old Bank Hotel. Every single member of staff was caring and welcoming; the bed and linens so comfortable, and the hotel although full, was completely quiet at night. The courtyard was a delight to sit in and enjoy a coffee. And the location is superb, walk straight out onto The High and you are in very centre of Oxford. Food excellent too, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the quietest. Front faces the The High Street.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynneinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Old Bank in early Sept. and enjoyed it so much that we returned a week later. The staff could not have been more welcoming, accommodating or professional. They went out of their way to ensure that our visits were comfortable and enjoyable. Let me give you an example. On our second visit, we checked in to a twin bedroom, and soon found that the loo was running. We went downstairs for a cocktail and mentioned the toilet issue to the front desk. The maintenance staff had gone home, so they offered us a new room, an upgrade at that!, and moved everything in our original room to the new room EXACTLY as it was. The Old Bank is a lovely place with a terrific staff. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel, its central location in the beautiful city of oxford the tasteful art on the walls, the fantastic bar and restaurant and most amazing food.

Its somewhere we always feel welcome, relaxed and able to truly indulge.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We picked The Old Bank for our wedding night after viewing a number of hotels in central Oxford & are so glad we did. From the moment we arrived the service and quality were impeccable- we had a beautiful, bright Deluxe double at the back of the hotel (very quiet) with double doors opening out to the view of the church at the back of the building. I would recommend this room for any bride to be- waking up on your wedding day and throwing open those doors to the sound of church bells is rather special! The room was large and airy (high ceilings and lots of windows which I love!) and the bathroom felt sumptuous- with a lovely deep bath, big fluffy towels and dressing gowns. We ate both breakfast and dinner in the Quod Brasserie, both of which were fantastic and the evening meals in the Quod were sup rising good value for money. The staff really were fantastic- friendly, efficient and extremely helpful and really made our stay a special one. We will be returning- perhaps for an anniversary treat :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen_Scot_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Nothing really too wrong, but it is a 4 star hotel in my view – 5 star has to really stand out, and apart from the reception staff here, everything is rather bland ‘seen it all before’ dullness. But they are happy to charge big £££ for it!

The lift (stenciled in with someone’s name in the wood) creeks its way up to your floor – stairs faster. I stayed in a ‘Superior room’ facing front, but did not find ‘superior fixtures and fittings’ as claimed on their website. The furniture was cheap and uncomfortable, shower probably the worst I’ve experienced in last five years of travel, taps on bath needed changing, TV large but hotel budget screen etc – you get the picture.

The ‘overwhelming’ modern art, often far too big for the wall it’s hanging on, gives the feeling of a six form art gallery, both in your room and communal areas.

I only had breakfast in the restaurant which was again very average, with fresh fruit rather tasteless and dry and never offered orange juice etc.

Should be much better for this price - the website promises an experience but you don't get one.

£100 cheaper a night worth it for location.

Will look for something more memorable next time

Room Tip: Try and get upgraded - otherwise you will be disappointed by cheaper rooms tiny size.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_need_a_hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thanks very much for your review

Glad you enjoyed your stay on the whole and liked the location etc. So sorry you shower experience was not as expected and that some aspects of the hotel were not to your liking.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews