We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and perfect location”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Is it possible to have a better location in Oxford? I wouldn't think so. This is also an excellent, comfortable hotel with exceptionally friendly and helpful service. They let us know about the bicycles they have available for guests, which we would never have thought of. Oxford is a cyclist's kind of place, and we enjoyed very much cycling out to dinner. One word of caution: if you have in mind having the hotel do any laundry for you, be sure to confirm the price first. We were astonished at how high it was. However...overall the hotel and its service is nothing but exceptional, and we won't ever stay anywhere else in Oxford.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micropete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

although not exactly cheap we have been in this hotel for the third time . our son goes to school in oxford and every time we visit from italy we book this hotel. last year we could not get a room because it was fully booked, we had to stay in another place, was nice too but nothing compares to the old bank!! so we try to book this hotel way ahead to make sure we get a room in this perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We visited the Old Bank in January and had a fantastic mid-winter break.

It gets all the little details right from the moment you arrive with helpful staff and thoughtful extras such as a free walking tour included as part of your stay. Given it's central location the Old Bank isn't cheap but we splashed out on one of the superior deluxe double rooms which somehow felt cosy and understated at the same time as being quite luxurious. The enormous bed was a particular treat.

The restaurant is excellent with a varied but unpretentious menu and a relaxed feel. Despite the fact it was often busy we were never rushed and even had the time to enjoy the papers alongside our substantial breakfasts in the morning.

There is a separate library area where you can help yourselves to complimentary tea and coffee throughout the day that makes for an excellent place to take a pit stop while you are exploring the town centre and saves you from having to fork out at some of the more touristy cafes if you just want to stop for 15 minutes.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Arriving here for one night as part of our honeymoon, we had one of the warmest welcomes from Natasha, who was kind enough to show us to our room - where we were kindly greeted by a bottle of champagne on ice!

The Hotel had a great feel - really suiting the oxford setting. The location is perfect for access to all the delights Oxford has to offer, such as botanical garderns, punting, radcliffe camera, shopping district to name but a few! The bicycles the hotel have are a great touch and a must if the weather is nice.

The car park is a great bonus and very well signposted (once you have been politely directed over the phone to the right side of Oxford!!!).

When leaving we met a couple who were visiting to celebrate their 30th anniversary - i have no doubt that if this hotel keeps up with itself, i'll be back for our 30th anniversary!!

Room Tip: the deluxe are just that little bit more spacious - worth it in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 773RBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Centrally located hotel with chic decor that manages to be consistent with the style of the older architecture in Oxford yet still modern and uncluttered. Lots of thoughtful touches, including bikes for use around town. Professional yet welcoming staff. Our room overlooked High Street--a busy place--but we were not bothered by noise (to be fair, though, we were on the top floor, so this may have minimized the impact of potential street activities). Location can't be beat (across from All Souls and just a little bit away from the Bodleian and other ...you can walk to just about all the key sites). The Old Bank also has a car park (a real rarity in town). Our room included a continental breakfast, which was big enough to carry us through the day with only a light lunch. We had one of the larger (and pricier) room because there were three in our family, but there was plenty of room. This is an expensive hotel, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: If you tend to be a light sleeper, you might want to ask about streets not facing the street (High S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHCNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I had a wonderful 24 hr stay in the Old Bank Hotel. Every single member of staff was caring and welcoming; the bed and linens so comfortable, and the hotel although full, was completely quiet at night. The courtyard was a delight to sit in and enjoy a coffee. And the location is superb, walk straight out onto The High and you are in very centre of Oxford. Food excellent too, highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are the quietest. Front faces the The High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynneinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Old Bank in early Sept. and enjoyed it so much that we returned a week later. The staff could not have been more welcoming, accommodating or professional. They went out of their way to ensure that our visits were comfortable and enjoyable. Let me give you an example. On our second visit, we checked in to a twin bedroom, and soon found that the loo was running. We went downstairs for a cocktail and mentioned the toilet issue to the front desk. The maintenance staff had gone home, so they offered us a new room, an upgrade at that!, and moved everything in our original room to the new room EXACTLY as it was. The Old Bank is a lovely place with a terrific staff. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £188 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing