We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked at The Old Bank Hotel whilst visiting our grandson at Christ Church College. The Hotel is very centrally located on the High Street, two minutes walk from Christ Church, and also within very easy walking distance of other colleges (Brasennose, Hertford, University College etc.) There is a good sized residents' car park, and we found all the staff, without exception, to be friendly, helpful and extremely courteous.
Our standard room was small, but adequate (cruise ship sized) and very comfortable. The bathroom was good, with a very nice selection of toiletries.
The "Quod" on the ground floor is a good spot for a drink and a bar snack. We were fortunate enough to arrive on a Sunday when there is live jazz in the evening.The bar staff are most professional, as witnessed by their diplomatic handling of a couple of customers who were clearly over the limit (Freshers' week had just finished!) Breakfast is also served here.
A welcoming, comfortable, and very conveniently located Hotel for your stay in the centre of Oxford.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the building which was very quiet. I can imagine that rooms at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

711 - 717 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

I would thoroughly recommend the Old Bank Hotel to anyone looking for a luxury hotel in Oxford. The hotel is not only lovely inside, it is in a fantastic location for visiting all the sites of Oxford. Best breakfast I have had in a long time served in the Quod Brasserie too.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WimbleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Old Bank is very well located, with free parking, a good restaurant attached ("Quod"), great service, nice fresh/quality rooms, interesting design, free fitness association at "LA Fitness", free wifi, and it is not too large. Hard to beat, and I can't imagine it will disappoint anyone.

Room Tip: Quiet on the back (south) side, looking over the parking lot towards chapel spire (and sun rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This is a consistently excellent hotel. The terrific central location on the High gives it a natural advantage, followed up by elegant, contemporaryinteriors and a warm, attentive staff. The rooms are very comfortable, many on the high floors with beautiful views over Merton College or the Radcliffe Camera. Breakfast in the restaurant Quod is fresh, local and upmarket. I am looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I spent some time looking into where to stay in Oxford for a short city break and the reviews for the
Old Bank suggested it was the best place to stay. Although we stayed for just one night my wife and I had a great time. The hotel is superbly located and we were able to explore central Oxford, the hotel also offered a free walking tour which enabled us to visit the sites and colleges nearby. The guide was very knowledgable and friendly. Despite it's central location the hotel also offers parking. The service was fantastic and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely be returning in the future and would strongly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Oxford.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Good location and added bonus of free car parking at hotel. We were very pleased with the first impressions of the hotel as we drove in. Room a bit disappointing, quite small for the price.
Staff helpful with directions and suggestions. Breakfast was extra and the most expensive we have encountered in the five weeks we have been in the UK......we ate elsewhere.
We ate both nights at the Quad restaurant as it was convenient after sightseeing all day.
We personally found the place just lacked a little warmth and personality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thanks so much for your review.

Sorry to hear your felt like that about the hotel.

Hopefully next time you come your experience our warmth and personality.

Thanks again.

Kind regards.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The Old Bank Hotel is a perfect blend of edgy design and good, old-fashioned guest care.
Each room is decorated with art from the owner's personal collection, the marble bathrooms are
spacious, the food in their adjoining restaurant QUOD is first-rate but not overpriced. One can
even get in-room massages and facials. Ask for a room facing the interior courtyard, to avoid
the traffic noise on High Street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Thanks very much for your review.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £188 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing