We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfied” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Old Bank, was there for a week on business. Rooms are small by American standards but had all the amenities – bathroom was quite generous with a full size tub. Staff was very friendly and helpful, accurately directing me to various destinations and arranging for transportation. Hotel has some very cool art both in the common areas and in the rooms. They have a nice library to read/work and get quality free coffee. Great central location, can walk to many colleges and restaurants.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better, elevator very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    292
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
197
590
46
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at The Old Bank in November 2012, our fourth visit as we have found it ideal previously. It has the best situation in Oxford, with ample, private parking behind the hotel, accessed via a very narrow lane; the sharp turn into car park will test those with large cars!
The reception staff are outstanding, helpful and well-informed. When noise in the central heating pipes proved a problem, they offered us an immediate upgrade to a suite, which was spacious, and extremely comfortable, as was our original room.
Quod, the hotel restaurant, serves very good food throughout the day, with friendly, efficient service. The breakfast, English or Continental, is particularly good.
On a previous visit, we took the afternoon walking tour, which was interesting and informative on art and history, and well worth doing.
We will return!

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 22 are in the Elizabethan part of the building, and are large and comfortable, looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

What a treat this hotel is. I usually stay at malmaison but after the last stay was significantly below par, we tried the old bank. Service was impeccable. Rooms were immaculate and a large, well designed bathroom with Ren products included. It is a great boutique hotel with carefully thought out finishings. There is a library for a quieter drink or the busier bar if you want more atmosphere. Breakfast was included and well worth it. The best central hotel in Oxford

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzlybear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed for four nights at The Old Bank Hotel in Oxford towards the end of October, 2012, it having been recommended to us by a good friend. That is what friends are for, after all!!!

We had not spent any time in Oxford for well over 30 years so we didn’t know directions to the hotel or the street layout of the City centre. We had been warned about the traffic, the difficulties in finding car parking and the fact that High Street (‘The High’, as it is commonly referred to) is closed to all but public service vehicles for most of the day.

As we didn’t have the advantage of a SatNav, we had to rely on the AA Routes to approach Oxford by hire car from the east and then we followed the directions the excellent hotel reception staff had sent to us before we left home and these led us direct to the hotel’s own car park for the final few miles.

On arrival at the hotel, we were warmly welcomed by Natasha at reception. She had been exceptionally helpful when we made our booking with the hotel by ‘phone and had carefully ensured our special requirements were met in full. (The other members of the reception team were equally helpful throughout our all too brief stay).

Our bedroom was well appointed and of an adequate size. Fresh milk for the refreshments tray in the bedrooms has to be ordered through reception as the hotel prefers not to use the usual small cartons of cream or milk. This is a good feature of the high level of service upon which this hotel prides itself.

The location of the hotel simply couldn’t be better for seeing the City centre on foot. It is centrally situated on The High and the centre is fairly flat, though comfortable working shoes are best for the cobbled streets. A first class cooked (or Continental) breakfast is served with quiet efficiency in The Quod Brasserie on the ground floor and we discovered that this eatery is popular for lunches and evening meals too. It is best to make a reservation with the hotel reception on the day for dinner but hotel guests are afforded priority booking. However, the food served in Quod is reasonably priced for such a top class hotel! Moreover, the Brasserie Manager managed to remember that it was my birthday meal on the final night of our stay, in spite of the hundreds of diners who eat in Quod every week – a simple thing but highly impressive and illustrated that personal touch all hotel guests appreciate.

There are only two negative comments I would make in the interests of balance. The first is that the bedroom had hardly any drawer space, not even beside the bed, and storage space for our two suitcases was hard to find, even in our Deluxe room. The second is that lighting in the bedroom is not bright enough to be able to read comfortably in the evenings, except when sitting by the lamp on the desk. This could be easily rectified by the installation of two reading lights over the bed.

We were on the 3rd floor but it is worth remembering that, whilst the 4th floor of the hotel offers better views over the City, the lift (escalator) only goes up to the third floor. In my view, it is better to book a room at the front, if possible, but we were unable to do so because of the demand for them. Of course, rooms at the front face The High and are probably noisier at night.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel which totally justified all the good reports we had read prior to booking. We experienced only a few very minor issues which were promptly resolved, with courtesy and a smile, to our entire satisfaction. My wife and I stayed for four nights at The Old Bank Hotel in Oxford towards the end of October, 2012, it having been recommended to us by a good friend. That is what friends are for, after all!!!

We had not spent any time in Oxford for well over 30 years so we didn’t know directions to the hotel or the street layout of the City centre. We had been warned about the traffic, the difficulties in finding car parking and the fact that High Street (‘The High’, as it is commonly referred to) is closed to all but public service vehicles for most of the day.

As we didn’t have the advantage of a SatNav, we had to rely on the AA Routes to approach Oxford by hire car from the east and then we followed the directions the excellent hotel reception staff had sent to us before we left home and these led us direct to the hotel’s own car park for the final few miles.

On arrival at the hotel, we were warmly welcomed by Natasha at reception. She had been exceptionally helpful when we made our booking with the hotel by ‘phone and had carefully ensured our special requirements were met in full. (The other members of the reception team were equally helpful throughout our all too brief stay).

Our bedroom was well appointed and of an adequate size. Fresh milk for the refreshments tray in the bedrooms has to be ordered through reception as the hotel prefers not to use the usual small cartons of cream or milk. This is a good feature of the high level of service upon which this hotel prides itself.

The location of the hotel simply couldn’t be better for seeing the City centre on foot. It is centrally situated on The High and the centre is fairly flat, though comfortable working shoes are best for the cobbled streets. A first class cooked (or Continental) breakfast is served with quiet efficiency in The Quod Brasserie on the ground floor and we discovered that this eatery is popular for lunches and evening meals too. It is best to make a reservation with the hotel reception on the day for dinner but hotel guests are afforded priority booking. However, the food served in Quod is reasonably priced for such a top class hotel! Moreover, the Brasserie Manager managed to remember that it was my birthday meal on the final night of our stay, in spite of the hundreds of diners who eat in Quod every week – a simple thing but highly impressive and illustrated that personal touch all hotel guests appreciate.

There are only two negative comments I would make in the interests of balance. The first is that the bedroom had hardly any drawer space, not even beside the bed, and storage space for our two suitcases was hard to find, even in our Deluxe room. The second is that lighting in the bedroom is not bright enough to be able to read comfortably in the evenings, except when sitting by the lamp on the desk. This could be easily rectified by the installation of two reading lights over the bed.

We were on the 3rd floor but it is worth remembering that, whilst the 4th floor of the hotel offers better views over the City, the lift (escalator) only goes up to the third floor. In my view, it is better to book a room at the front, if possible, but we were unable to do so because of the demand for them. Of course, rooms at the front face The High and are probably noisier at night.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel which totally justified all the good reports we had read prior to booking. We experienced only a few very minor issues which were promptly resolved, with courtesy and a smile, to our entire satisfaction. The bar staff are well trained and very knowledgeable about cocktails - I can vouch for their skills in producing a marvelous Manhattan! In fact, I would say that the prime asset of this hotel is its wonderfully friendly and obliging staff, of which the management should be (and no doubt is) exceedingly proud. One example to illustrate this occurred when we returned to the hotel one afternoon and I realised that I had forgotten to purchase my daily newspaper. When I enquired about the closest newsagents, the gentleman on reception immediately offered to send someone to buy one for me. Now, that’s what I call ‘service’!

Just one other general tip if you are thinking of visiting this beautiful city. Please don’t think it will be quiet on Oxford during July when the students are not there – they are simply replaced by new students attending summer courses at the Colleges!


In fact, I would say that the prime asset of this hotel is its wonderfully friendly and obliging staff, of which the management should be (and no doubt is) exceedingly proud. One example to illustrate this occurred when we returned to the hotel one afternoon and I realised that I had forgotten to purchase my daily newspaper. When I enquired about the closest newsagents, the gentleman on reception immediately offered to send someone to buy one for me. Now, that’s what I call ‘service’!

Just one other general tip if you are thinking of visiting this beautiful city. Please don’t think it will be quiet on Oxford during July when the students are not there – they are simply replaced by new students attending summer courses at the Colleges!

Room Tip: Speak to the reception staff by 'phone in advance if you have a particular need or rquirement
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giggleswick/Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Arrived mid afternoon, parked car in carpark behind hotel this was free which is a great bonus as parking in Oxford can exceed £50 for a weekend! Beware if you have a large car as it is a sharp right turn from Magpie lane we needed two goes to get in, leaving was no trouble. Staff very pleasent at reception give us lots of information for our stay. Room very comfortable, very quiet at back of hotel. Free bottled water and cookies which was a really nice touch, the only thing i would say about this hotel is I think for how much they charge per night which is well over £250 it would make sense to have breakfast included as do the Mal and other 5 star hotels in Oxford. Would definitly stay again.

Room Tip: When trying to find hotel carpark put Magpie Lane into sat nav and it takes you straight to carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirecouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Old Bank Hotel in mid-October. It has an excellent location, on High Street and walking distance to most of the places you would want to visit in Oxford. We were pleased with the size and cleanliness of our double-deluxe room, which is located on the top floor overlooking the city. The elevator stops one floor short of this level, so a one-flight stair climb was needed, but it was well worth the small extra effort for this quiet and relatively spacious room with large modern bath. We took a 2 hour walking tour of the city and University, which leaves from the visitor information center just a few blocks away. There are many good restaurants close by, and the Quad Restaurant at the hotel, where we had lunch, is also very good. Next time we’ll stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This is a really nice little hotel with nice old fashioned English standards - nothing is too much trouble and the Bistro style food in the Quad Restaurant is very good - as is the atmosphere and the service.
Not as easy hotel to find when driving to Oxford (very few road direction signs) my sat nav using the post code dropped me in Broad Street - thereafter it was a bit of a nightmare. If using Sat Nav maybe put in Magpie Lane or Merton Street it should lead you to the hotel cat park.
Certainly one to visit when in Oxford.

Room Tip: I suspect that the bedrooms overlooking the outside dining/drinks area may be a bit noisy on summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Longey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing