We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, charming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely location, charming staff”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas & were lucky to be placed in room 45 - top floor with a wonderful view over the Radcliffe Camera. The room was lovely, all of the staff very pleasant, friendly, efficient and courteous. The walking tour was interesting & enjoyable - Isabella is a great guide, and she tailored the tour for us as we wanted to see particular 'unseen' bits of Oxford. Both breakfast and lunch in Quod were very good, again welcoming and knowledgeable staff. A charming hotel in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    296
    64
    19
    6
See reviews for
204
598
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel in the centre of Oxford. The decor is lovely, with luxury toiletries. The service is excellent, I received a phone call the day after I'd left telling me I had left something behind, which was immediately then sent on to me. Lovely food in Quod. And the free parking is very worthwhile in Oxford. The only drawback is the lack of a cosy residents lounge; after dinner it would have been nice to curl up on a squashy sofa in front of a fire. As the library was being used for a corporate event we could only return to our rather small room and cold bathroom.

Room Tip: We had a standard twin which was stylish but quite small. It might be worth asking about the other r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonThelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Great place, very friendly staff, the rooms are very clean and have everything you need for your stay, in the restaurant bar, great choice of cocktails and super friendly staff that will make you very welcome, the Restaurante is amazing great choice of food, the deco is fab, highly recommended for everyone would like to spend a wonderful time in Oxford and stay in style.

Room Tip: Great views if you stay in the front rooms, but if you prefer a quiter night stay in the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate a significant birthday and our wedding anniversary; on check-in when the wonderful staff on the desk discovered this, a bottle of bubbly and a card were delivered to the room! The location and the staff make this hotel, located on The High (Street) it is ideal for walking out to see the sights, visit the colleges and walk over to the Ashmoleon. The real gem of the place; the staff who are the best we have come across anywhere, nothing was too much trouble and always done with a smile.
Dislikes, only perhaps the "discretionary" 12.5% service charge in the restaurant, especially when applied to breakfast where the waiting staff really don't have a lot to do.
Would we recommend it/stay again, certainly, in fact we are already thinking about the next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Simply put, our experience at The Old Bank Hotel was truly something special. Great customer service, beautiful and clean room. Perfect location to explore Oxford. And the eggs royal for breakfast not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfielsd
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Really enjoyed our Oxford stay. From the moment we approached the reception desk we were made to feel very welcome and that the hotel were really interested that we made the most of our stay. Given lots of info on restaurants galleries tours etc .The room was perfect for our stay. Looked over courtyard at rear but was pleasant . Room did get hot urging the night but air con worked a treat. Turn down service was a nice touch. Breakfast was not the best but fine it was served well by attentive staff . Overall excellent!! Staff are the making of this hotel. Well done. Would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to book. We had room 19 overlooking courtyard at rear lovely twin beds excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

First time staying here, not for lack of wanting to in the past.
Everything excellent from the moment we arrived.
Nice room (No.21) - spacious, sofa, separate bath and shower, reasonably quiet being towards the back of the building. The bed was a bit soft for my liking, but still a good night's sleep.
Cooked breakfast good, albeit a slightly stingy portion. The breakfast "buffet" table was pretty poor compared to many hotels I've stayed at, with only a few items to choose from.
What made the stay memorable was the service. Genuine smiles and attention from all staff, all the time - be it front desk, breakfast or house-keeping.
Have previously stayed at Malmaison, which probably has better rooms for less money, but service there not as good.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the rear of the hotel - they're quieter. And I would probably avoid the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing