We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and well run”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in a room overlooking the High Street, which was spacious and (thanks to the double glazing) surprisingly quiet. Apart from that it also had the two absolutely non-negotiable requirements of a decent hotel room: a comfortable bed and a powerful and efficient shower. The multi-national staff were uniformly courteous and helpful, and the location is unbeatable for anyone visiting Oxford. The only very minor problem we had was that the policy of the hotel's restaurant, Quod, on reservations, isn't as clearly communicated as it might have been, so if you need to be sure of a table you should double-check. We've previously stayed in the sister establishment, the Old Parsonage, which is currently being refurbished, and despite the differences in outward style the same 'guiding spirit' is manifest in both these fine hotels. It is expensive but it is in my view worth it.

Room Tip: Paradoxically the rooms overlooking the High Street can be quieter than the rooms at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucullus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

507 - 513 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed in Oxford only one night, and the staff was very helpful giving us guidance for touring the city and recommending transportation to Blenheim Palace the next day. The hotel is centrally located, and has a lift with only one small stelp from the street level. The room was spacious and well equipped with a shower and tub. Though we did not test it, we acknowledged the warning that the water pressure is quite good, and not to leave a running bath unattended. The staff was very helpful, both at check-in and departure. This is not a bargain hotel, but if location is important, it is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaHockeyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Fantastic location in the centre of Oxford, with helpful and very friendly staff. We parked conveniently in the carpark at the back of the hotel and were directed by telephone there by one of the team - we probably wouldn't have found it without him - so thank you.

The room was lovely and had everything we needed and the breakfast included in our price was very tasty. I would certainly recommend a stay here. Complimentary champagne and afternoon tea as part of the package was also very well received - especially as it was husband's birthday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as we did have experience noise from passersby returning fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoescape2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Old Bank Hotel captures the spirit of modern Oxford like no other place. Located right in the centre of the city, opposite some of its most iconic landmarks, this charming, warm watering hole with rooms gives you the real feel of a top university city which knows itself well.
The restaurant offers a wide choice - you can eat 'pub' grub or scrub up a bit to something more posh. The wine list is interesting and offers good choice between new world and traditional.
Having eaten well, sampled terrific service - often from warm-hearted students earning some extra cash - you can then retire to your room. Rooms can be cramped and a very 'city centre', but nonetheless adequate. You shouldn't go to Oxford and spend too much time in your room anyway. If it bothers you, ask for a big suite ( which will get you an average sized American room). A great spot to adventure from.

Room Tip: If you want a 'big' room, be sure to say this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

All the staff here can't do enough to help.
They Hotel is beautiful and modern. The beds are super comfortable. Convenient car parking.
The breakfast is fantastic with a choice of hot dishes and a great selection of pastries and cereals.
We also used the meeting facilities which were perfect for our small meeting.
Slightly expensive but great for treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theomillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We loved our stay at the Old Bank Hotel, while driving, we should have been more careful to find the entrance to the parking which is situated quite a long distance from the htel on the main road, as we had to turn back in town where circulation is forbidden! Anyway once the entrance was foynd, it is well indicated and the parking so well situated right in city centre, at back of hotel. We were gven a fantasstic room, overlooking he main road opposite the spires. We had a large bed and a convertible sofa or our 7 yr old child. She loved it. The reception staff, very professional and helpful. The room perfectly clean and totally silent. We loved evry mnute of our stay. We ate at the hotel brasserie where the food was good and the staff nice to children. The hotel is perfectly situated for discovering the town and the reception staff were very helful withtheir advice. We wish we can go back to Old Bank Htel next time for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had never stayed in downtown Oxford before and selected this hotel based on reviews and location. We were amazed at the quality of the rooms and the service and friendly staff. Everyone seems happy to work here and it all makes your stay that much more pleasant. We had a room looking out the front but the street noise was not a problem and it was nice to be able to watch people walking about at all hours. Location is perfect to explore Oxford - out the front door and across the road and you are into the colleges - watch out for the bicycles though - there are a lot of reckless riders and they ignore pedestrian rights of way. The room was very nicely laid out and the bathroom fabulous with a separate shower. Our breakfast was included and while standard English breakfast fare it was very good and cooked to order. All this doesn't come cheaply but overall we would rate it worth the price and would return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCoastJohn&Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £206 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing