We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good accommodation, good staff, good location”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“good accommodation, good staff, good location”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is right in the centre of the university, so getting around on foot is easy. We did the complimentary tour twice & really enjoyed them.
The hotel is comfortable, & the rooms good without being spectacular. All very English. The free bikes were another nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kiwitripper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    300
    65
    19
    6
See reviews for
207
605
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We chose the Old Bank Hotel as it was centrally located for seeing the city and it certainly delivered. We booked a basic room which was adequate and comfortable for our needs. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The private car park behind the hotel was ideal as it allowed easy secure access by car. On check in we took up the offer of a complimentary guided tour of Oxford, this was certainly worth the time and was very informative. We dined in the hotel restaurant in the evening and enjoyed a lovely meal, again staff were friendly and attentive. We were going to take advantage of the free bikes the next day but poor weather changed our plans. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Paris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights just before Xmas, and included a Chrsitmas shopping trip to Bicester Village. The hotel is situated in a beautiful period building, located right in the heart of the city, with its own car park. Our room was clean and modern with a large en-suite. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, also open to non residents, and we ate there both nights. They also do a fantastic breakfast, cooked to order, with plenty of choices. After a hard day's shopping, we returned to cocktails in the bar, with a live Jazz band - brilliant! Planning to return next year to do it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was our choice for a weekend in Oxford, and the location is perfect, 2 minutes from Radcliffe Camera, 10 mins from Ashmolean and a few mins from the shops. It was a chilly December weekend so it was good to find the hotel so well heated, nice and cosy. Our room wasn't very big, but comfortable, with good lighting by the bed and overhead, and a very nicely fitted-out bathroom. Furnishings are muted/neutral and there are a lots of lovely paintings and prints on the walls. The Quod restaurant is quite buzzy, breakfast had huge choice and was cooked to order. We also enjoyed a nice meal here one evening. Free extras such as tickets for the Moore/Bacon at the Ashmolean and a free guided walking tour give real value for money. The staff were all young, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms at back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandieLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We were three friends staying one night at The Old Bank, and what a wonderful place to stay!! (I was very disappointed last time I stayed at another hotel in Oxford..) Very friendly staff, lovely, clean rooms (we loved nr 4, a twin bed superior), the best location. We had dinner at the hotel's own restaurant while listening to jazz music - nice!

We'll be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SunseekerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights while lecturing at the College. So wonderful. The beds and the service was top notch. I really appreciated the recommendations from the staff on local places for a bite. .. Will continue to book here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My mother, brother, and I stayed here for one night and for the price expected a bit more. I ended up with the nicer room -- quite large with two big windows facing High Street, but the other two rooms weren't that remarkable. I felt like the high expense of this hotel was really due to it's fantastic location. I don't know how you could be more in the center of things, so in that sense the value was excellent. Staff were all very helpful, especially in promptly routing us for parking. Beds and linens were quite comfortable and the bathrooms were fine. We had breakfast served in our rooms and it was also good. I would stay here again, maybe just close my eyes as I hand over my credit card . . .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing