We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and were so impressed. If the breakfast had been better I would have given it an excellent. I felt that the poached eggs had been sitting for a while and the crispy bacon was not hot. Also the staff making up bedrooms were very loud outside the door! It was also marvellous that there was a hotel car park.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the back as I think the front could be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

491 - 497 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is right in the centre of the university, so getting around on foot is easy. We did the complimentary tour twice & really enjoyed them.
The hotel is comfortable, & the rooms good without being spectacular. All very English. The free bikes were another nice touch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kiwitripper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We chose the Old Bank Hotel as it was centrally located for seeing the city and it certainly delivered. We booked a basic room which was adequate and comfortable for our needs. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The private car park behind the hotel was ideal as it allowed easy secure access by car. On check in we took up the offer of a complimentary guided tour of Oxford, this was certainly worth the time and was very informative. We dined in the hotel restaurant in the evening and enjoyed a lovely meal, again staff were friendly and attentive. We were going to take advantage of the free bikes the next day but poor weather changed our plans. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Paris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights just before Xmas, and included a Chrsitmas shopping trip to Bicester Village. The hotel is situated in a beautiful period building, located right in the heart of the city, with its own car park. Our room was clean and modern with a large en-suite. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, also open to non residents, and we ate there both nights. They also do a fantastic breakfast, cooked to order, with plenty of choices. After a hard day's shopping, we returned to cocktails in the bar, with a live Jazz band - brilliant! Planning to return next year to do it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was our choice for a weekend in Oxford, and the location is perfect, 2 minutes from Radcliffe Camera, 10 mins from Ashmolean and a few mins from the shops. It was a chilly December weekend so it was good to find the hotel so well heated, nice and cosy. Our room wasn't very big, but comfortable, with good lighting by the bed and overhead, and a very nicely fitted-out bathroom. Furnishings are muted/neutral and there are a lots of lovely paintings and prints on the walls. The Quod restaurant is quite buzzy, breakfast had huge choice and was cooked to order. We also enjoyed a nice meal here one evening. Free extras such as tickets for the Moore/Bacon at the Ashmolean and a free guided walking tour give real value for money. The staff were all young, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms at back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandieLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were three friends staying one night at The Old Bank, and what a wonderful place to stay!! (I was very disappointed last time I stayed at another hotel in Oxford..) Very friendly staff, lovely, clean rooms (we loved nr 4, a twin bed superior), the best location. We had dinner at the hotel's own restaurant while listening to jazz music - nice!

We'll be back!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank SunseekerOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights while lecturing at the College. So wonderful. The beds and the service was top notch. I really appreciated the recommendations from the staff on local places for a bite. .. Will continue to book here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jrsplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £207 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing