We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Super hotel with everything you could want. I can thoroughly recommend it.
Comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good food and great atmosphere.
Very helpful with good ideas for the day. The hotel is right in the centre of the city and everything is easy to reach.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank rachel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Old Bank. Certainly picked the best hotel for location, and had a lovely room on the top floor. Service very friendly. Couldn't really fault our stay, but still felt the rooms were somewhat overpriced (even for such a prime location) as slightly outdated in some respects (e.g. the showers). Daily complimentary walking tour a nice touch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snudge08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here in September and had a wonderful anniversary weekend in Oxford. The hotel made our weekend very special. The location of the hotel is brilliant and the staff at the hotel were very helpful and attentive. Although our room was quite small, it was decorated lovely and had enough wardrobe space. The bathroom was a sufficient size and had a good supply of complimentary toiletries. There was also a good supply of tea, coffee and bottled water. The breakfast was also very delicious! Another plus is the car park which is a rarity in Oxford. It is really expensive to stay at The Old Bank but in my view it is worth every penny!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristolmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is very seldom that you can have such a superb stay at a hotel and rate it as faultless, but we have just returned from a two night stay at the Old Bank Hotel which is situated in the middle of
Oxford.(easy to find with the use of a satnav) The staff were all wonderful especially as my husband was using his wheelchair and we were made to feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them.Our adapted room was comfortable ,food and service excellent.,and David our tour guide for our short tour of Oxford was both knowledgeable and interesting.We look forward to our next visit in the not too distant future.

.

Room Tip: Room 2 adapted for wheelchair user is on the groundfloor and central to all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redhair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thanks very much for your review
see you very soon.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for two nights having a business meeting on the first night. The location is excellent and parking fine but quite a squeeze to get in if its busy. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was well equipped however very hot so it was either noisy and desiccating from the air conditioning or really too hot. Ask for a fan... we overlooked the High Street and made the mistake of opening the windows - Oxford never sleeps and it seemed that there were buses drunks and rowdies most of the night! The room was otherwise well equipped and the wifi just about worked ..The tea/coffee set up was good but you do need to ask for milk as none is provided. The mini bar is well stocked and price-y as usual.

Room Tip: At the back would be quieter but views from front really exceptional - ask for a fan and ask for mil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffinerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This is an expensive hotel. It is a good hotel but you pay a premium for it's position in the centre of Oxford.

So, if it throws down with rain for the duration of your visit, and you spend your afternnon sat in your room, you feel that you did not get great value for your money.

The hotel did nothing wrong, breakfast was excellent, but the room was on the small side and when we arrived at 14:30 the car park was full of people who were full of their own importance after enjoying a late lunch.

It was quite a long walk to find somewhere for an evening meal, because there are few restaurants in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a great option for an Oxford stay. The staff was top notch; the rooms, while a bit quirky, were well appointed and stocked with extremely comfortable beds. Located city center, it's perfect for walking to just about everything including the wonderful trails along the Thames. The one negative for us was driving to the location. Do not trust your GPS and Do follow the hotel directions very carefully or it will cost you, literally as the hotel is located in a restricted driving area. When in doubt, call the hotel before arrival.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thanks so much for your review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. That is very sound advice as regards driving to Oxford. I always recommend guests to plan it and not rely on their satnav's.
I hope to see you soon.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £182 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing