We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth considering”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Smarden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth considering”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The two of us stayed at this hotel for three nights in a twin room. The tariff was £245 a night for bed breakfast and parking.

Best things: the very central location on the High Street; the extremely helpful reception and room service staff; the parking behind the hotel where they simply leave you to park up and don't ask for your keys to shunt the cars about (contrast this with the Mercuri hotel down the street); the quality of food and standard of service at breakfast.

Disappointments: our top floor room had good views and a spacious bathroom but the bedroom itself was cramped and had little wardrobe space; even on moderately warm April nights it was stuffy: we certainly wouldn't have wanted to be sleeping there on a hot summer night; finally, although a full breakfast was included in our tariff, there were some complicated charging arrangements whereby you could incur a surcharge for a certain level of cooked breakfast: the waiting staff seemed vague about these charges and they struck one as petty on a £245 a night rate.

Oxford is so charismatic that it's very difficult for the city's hotels to live up to it. I don't think the Old Bank is ideal but then the city's centre is never going to yield up the green field site where that ideal could be created. So within the range of luxury hotels available the Old Bank is well worth considering, especially if you need car parking. And I can't overemphasise the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillandDianeSmarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thanks very much for your review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay on the whole. As a city hotel, it is true we are a little short on green spaces, but we are well served within a 5 minute walk, most notably, Merton field and Christchurch Meadow - which are delightful and offer nostalgic historical vistas over the city. Also, the botanical garden is lovely. Magdalen college has a deer park and beautiful Parsons walk, through what seems like idyllic woodland countryside. Merton and New college have wonderful gardens that feel like oasis of quite and offer sweet smelling sanctuaries of glorious blooms, and that is to mention but a few.
See you next time.
Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    303
    65
    19
    6
See reviews for
209
614
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a bit belated, but I had to write a glowing review for the Old Bank because it was a truly wonderful experience staying here. We stayed in Dec 2013 and it was our first visit to Oxford. Being such a neat city, to stay right in the center was definitely a highlight. The location of Old Bank cannot be beat. And the fact they have parking is an added (and huge) bonus.

They were very helpful providing directions and advice on how to get to the hotel, finding the parking lot can be a bit tricky. Check in was great, they were very friendly and even upgraded us to an amazing room facing the street. It was enormous, with two window seats and a fireplace. We had originally been in another room but there was an issue with the lights and so they quickly moved us. The first room was smaller, but also really beautiful. All rooms have great amenities, and are very clean.

The service of the hotel was also top notch. Always willing to help us carry our bags, give us recommendations etc. We met friends at the bar in the hotel restaurant and wow this place was cool. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, but it was packed and the food looked great. The bartenders were nice, drinks were fantastic, and the general vibe was fun and hip.

We had a wonderful time in Oxford and can't wait to come back. There is no doubt we'll stay here every time we come. Its so lucky to find a place you love right off the bat and this place was just that for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us
I hope to see you again soon.
Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again after a stay shortly after the hotel opened some years ago. The reception was excellent as was the restaurant, but we were most disappointed by our room. It was the size of a broom closet, with steps up to the bathroom, a closet so close to the bed that it could only be accessed by one person at a time and hot from the fridge inside it.

Our overall impression was redeemed by the reception staff who could not have been more helpful when our taxi failed to arrive.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for your review

I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel but sorry you found the room too small. There is a variation in room size and the room you had is one of the smaller doubles with en-suite shower. Please do let us know immediately if you are dissatisfied with your room, next time. It may be that we can make a room move if there is availability.
Thanks again.
Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All over Europe
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Old Bank is a lovely hotel in a great location in Oxford, with some of the most friendly and service oriented staff that I have encountered. The stay began with me arriving at the hotel at a horrendously early hour (7 hours in advance of the stated check in time) and being met by such a helpful fellow who got a coffee into my hand and a room sorted in less than 10 minutes. For those frequent travellers out there you know that there is no more precious a gift after a dreadful long-haul flight than an early check in and a friendly host. The rooms are well appointed and designed, replete with the essential coffee making apparatus, extremely comfortable bed, and double-glazed windows to help keep the street noise away. But then things got somewhat frustrating. I am unfortunately highly reliant on the internet for work and despite my best efforts to be otherwise it is a solid feature of my day to day work. And for the whole 5 day stay with the Old Bank it did not work properly at all. Rather hard doing skype calls and having it cut 5 times or sending emails etc. This may seem like a small deal and likely is for those on holiday or visiting, but for those that do require it, this is more than an inconvenience. Repeated calls to the front desk did not help, and so I had to de-camp to the nearest coffee shop frequently. For the price of this hotel they should deliver on these details.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTestDummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks so much for your review
I'm so sorry you had an issue with the internet. I completely agree with you on this point: good wifi is a necessity. We've only just had super fast broadband installed in to the hotel so I cannot fathom why you had a problem in this instance. I'm only sorry we didn't manage to find a fix for you at the hotel, as clearly having to leave the hotel is not acceptable.
Thanks once again and see you next time.
Ben Truesdale
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

During my recent 10 night visit in the U. K. I stayed at 3 lovely hotels. In Oxford I stayed 2 nights at the Old Bank Hotel. Spacious bathroom, lots of storage, good, free wi-fi, and, wonders of wonders, air conditioning and ice in my room. Great location and free walking tour provided. A really good, well-run hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Stonewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks so much
Really glad you enjoyed.
Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This 40 room boutique hotel is in a great location on the High Street so we could walk to all the sites and shops.
It is beautifully decorated with lots of original art, a lovely restaurant (Quod) an outside terrace which is lovely, plus car parking on site, what more could you want. The rooms vary in size and price but this is not a' low cost' hotel so be aware. We would love to visit again.
A couple of comments - do get directions to the car park - it is interesting to find and also to negotiate if you have a larger vehicle. Service is generally very good and friendly but as a resident we sometimes felt that more attention was given to customers coming in from the street than those entering the restaurant/terrace from hotel reception. Something that needs addressing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are a little noisy but there is double glazing and A/C. The rooms right at the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Very comfortable, friendly hotel, in an excellent location. Staff unfailingly polite. Stayed 4 nights so feel can really recommend it. Particularly liked seeing all the modern art covered walls, not all to my taste but that isn't the point. So much better than art from the great factory in the sky. Would recommend it, worth the money. Didn't eat in hotel.

Room Tip: Had a room at the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing