We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Enjoyed the stay we had here. Couldn't really fault anything other than the noisy location. Food and service were excellent, but expected at that price range. Would visit again as very convenient for working in Oxford.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks so much for your review
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Our rear facing rooms tend to be the quieter but front facing rooms have the benefit of better views on the whole.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family last summer and absolutely loved it. As soon as you walk in the door the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were beautifully kept with great views of the city and very very comfortable. Yummy food and room service was efficient. Perfect location right on the high street, walking distance to everything. Great stay! Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellaeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time for reviewing us
We have changed one thing since last summer. Our internet is much better.
I hope you will revisit very soon.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Old Bank for a week in late May and really enjoyed it. Never been to Oxford, but knew we'd need some rest when we landed at Heathrow, so decided to explore and rest before moving on to London. Our suite was ready right away so we could get some sleep and we awoke to a gorgeous view of University Church of St. Mary the Virgin and the comings and goings on the High Street. Plenty of space, good storage, in-room coffee/tea service and mini-bar, plus still and sparkling water. Room-darkening drapes helped with the time zone adjustment, and there was very little noise from the street just two stories down. (Almost no noise from hotel hallways or between rooms and floors.) The decor is sort of a British modern mix that has held up, but the carpets could use replacing. (They are clean and fine, just a bit worn.) The bath was small but well-appointed with cabinets, heated towel bar, tub and separate shower. The staff was fantastic -- from the front desk to all of the housekeepers to the servers at Quod, where we ate several meals or snacks.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the High Street, some face a courtyard, and some appear to face Oriel College next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeitherHereNorTher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks so much for your review
see you again.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are planning to visit the campus of Oxford University, this is the perfect hotel. Wonderful historic building across the street from some of the oldest building on campus.

The hotel is quaint and has a wonderful restaurant. The service is very pleasant from the front desk to the restaurant. Room service is 24 hours.

We enjoyed the afternoon Oxford Campus Tour which was complimentary!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you would like quiet. We enjoyed the view of the old church across the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aledo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I found quite a few establishments in oxford rely on their great locations to see them through. Not so the Old Bank. It is in a cracking location but it is also a fantastic hotel.

We were helped in the booking process, especially with the high street restrictions getting very details advice on arriving by car.

We were warmly welcomed and dealt with very professionally, despite being very early and our room not being ready. We popped into town for a few hours and our luggage was waiting in our room when we returned.

We were asked if we needed a map, directions or suggestions on where to head. We also got a small pack of I formation including a restaurant guide.

The room was one of the smaller ones but perfect. Not too small by any means with a decent sized bathroom too. We were on the front of the hotel overlooking the high street which was great. The windows kept out the noise at night and the air con stopped the room from getting stuffy. We left our windows open when we went out in the morning and they were left open.

The bed was super comfy and the room clean and fresh.

Check out was as efficient and friendly as check in. In fact all contact with all staff was excellent throughout our stay.

I can't wait to return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MrsACJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for your review
I hope to see you very soon.
Thanks so much
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Right on High Street and across from the University, lies a dynamic hotel with relaxed dining room and comfortable rooms (many with views of gorgeous towers and spires) all decked out with an entertaining collection of modern art. Excellent breakfast! Great menu all day!

Room Tip: We had a quiet king size bedroom on the back. Think it was 309. Great shower and view onto one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mimipjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks very much for your review
I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us.
A few of the rear facing rooms have great views but most face towards the courtyard, however they do tend to be the quieter rooms in the hotel.
See you soon.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

In the heart of Oxford, right on High Street, short walk to Blackwell's book store -- that's the key. Our room was a bit dingy, but we saw some others in passing that were quite bright. Nice breakfast included. Staff sometimes incredibly helpful and cheery. But what is it with English restaurants? Do they think "customer service" is some quaint American custom? You can sit and sit and not only not get your check, you can't find the waitstaff to ask for it. Nonetheless, the active restaurant on site is good and upbeat and filled with people for dinner.

A nice choice in Oxford, which is such a wonderful city to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Budd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks very much for your review
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
It is my aim that your would receive prompt, courteous service in the restaurant as in the hotel so my apologies that this was not the case. I would certainly do my best to avoid the cliché you have highlighted and have waiters available all of the time.
See you next time.
Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
726 reviews
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
736 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £198 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing