We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location with free parking in the middle of Oxford!!”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous location with free parking in the middle of Oxford!!”
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel Sunday 27th and Monday 28th September - because of these particular nights we were able to take advantage of The Old Bank's "stay Sunday night and get Monday night at half price" offer. This made it affordable for us and helped me make my decision - I had been tossing a few other ideas around as there are so many accommodation options in Oxford and the surrounding area.

We were able to park our hire car at the rear of the hotel (ring reception for directions if necessary), and all the sights were on the front door step! One minute and you're at the Radcliffe Camera, five minutes and you're down by the River next to Christchurch Meadow.

We booked a Deluxe Double and I'm glad we did - it wasn't very big so I'm not sure how small the Standard Room would be?? Our room was located at the rear of the hotel, and although this only afforded a view of the leafy car park with glimpses of surrounding college spires, it was well away from the very busy High Street which was undergoing roadworks immediately in front of the hotel at the time of our stay.

The bed was large and comfortable and the room had all the amenities one would expect from a Hotel of this calibre. The bathroom was spacious with a great shower. Housekeeping visited often for morning tidy up and night-time turndown service.

The service was sometimes slightly hurried but always helpful - and we enjoyed our two breakfasts in Quod. Great food, ambience and attentive wait staff.

The best part was the location - we saved so much time by staying in the centre. Sight seeing and fabulous shopping on your doorstep! I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talk61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    311
    68
    19
    6
See reviews for
214
626
48
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Of all the pricey options here (no real great B&B options for Oxford) stay here, without a doubt! This was our last night in England and wanted to stay close enough to London but not return to London (with our rental car). The location cannot be beat to all the colleges in Oxford. The place itself is fabulous. Very chic, comfortable, and pampering. IT's new with blonde wood and some unusual photographs on the walls - all art! The Library was fabulous with high glass windows, cozy chairs, games, etc. The staff were incredibly solicitous of our comfort (most from Eastern European countries but quite fluent in English)! Parking is in the back of the hotel and plentiful with a convenient back-entrance into the lobby (the front is on a very busy street). For the rooms: although the did not have connecting rooms for us, they did their best to give us adjacent rooms. Appointed so well - art books, lithographs on walls, comforting earth tone decoration - all modern and brand new! I cannot say enough and wished to have stayed more nights! We ate at the lobby brasserie/restaurant. Good food - brick oven pizza, soups, etc. Nothing outstanding but very good.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2007NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at the Old Bank Hotel at the end of a 7 night holiday in London. The hotel was in a superb location --took the bus from London (Marble Arch) --very quick and comfortable ride). Disembarked very close to hotel. Room was lovely --upper floor, overlooking glorious courtyard). Building is beautifully restored and the art in the public areas is quite wonderful. The Oxford walking tour offered by the hotel is excellent. Cant say enough about it. and the amazing lady that leads it. We got an amazing overiview of the history of Oxford, toured various colleges, and attended Evensong at Christ Church. Had an excellent dinner at Quod. Be sure to visit the Oxford Botanical Garden while you are there. The hotel is expensive--no bargains to be had, but the location, service, restaurant and extra features (waling tour) make it a great bet. We took the bus at the end of our 2 night stay directly to Heathrow and it was a breeze. Well worth the price and go for a superior room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CANADIANTEXPLORERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

So many great things to say about this hotel! The location couldn’t be better, right on Oxford High St. and within walking distance of shops, pubs, restaurants, schools, churches, etc. There’s also a complimentary car park right behind the hotel (it’s a bit hidden and easy to miss the signs – it’s off of Merton, then right on Magpie).

The room was incredibly spacious and decorated nicely. The hotel has a unique modern art collection so there are interesting pieces throughout the hotel and in the rooms. There was a good-sized desk and chair, and complimentary wi-fi is available. The bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in.

The bathroom was also surprisingly spacious and had Ren toiletries. There’s a warning posted in the bathroom about the hotel’s high water pressure, and it is (in a good way).

The staff at check-in/out was pleasant. We arrived much earlier than the official check-in time and they had no problem letting us in our room early.

I doubt you could find a better base for exploring Oxford. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beantown_illini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We returned to the Old Bank following a week there earlier in this year (May 09). This time we visisted with our family to celebrate our daughters birthday. Our party included various age groups inc teenagers, parents and grandparents. The Old Bank catered for us all, taking into account accomodation and food.

We requested 3 rooms on the front of the hotel and a specific table for our evening meal. We visited for the weekend to include the Jazz on Sunday Evening.

We arrived early in the morning and we parked our cars - we left our cases at the hotel and spent the day in Oxford. The carpark was free other hotels in the city charge for this.The hotel rang us on our mobiles when our rooms were ready. The rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated - good size bathroom with nice white fluffy towels and nice bathroom toiletries and bath robes.

The Jazz in the Quod was excellent and was on for 2 hours (5 -7pm). I asked for a table by the large front windows which they arranged. The resurant was buzzing and the atmospere was very good. We all ordered different food and each meal was delicious. The wine was well priced for a city hotel.

We had a fabulous weekend and this was due to the excellent service, accomodation and food. I have read the negative comments made by a previous person and I totally disagree. I would recommend this hotel to friends and look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenBateman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed for 3 nights during August in a Deluxe Room. Overall we had a great time. Oxford itself is a fantastic place, and a great city break. The hotel is the perfect place to use as a base to explore the city, and to enjoy just lounging around or drinking in the bar.

We had no problems finding the car park (like others have mentioned). Upon arrival the setting was lovely, and hotel staff competent. Our room seemed perfect for our needs, with a nice view towards Christ Church at the rear of the hotel. The overall unique, comfy feel in the lobby/restaurant bar areas, spanned into the bedroom. The decor was nice, and not too over the top, or trying too hard.

Although we originally planned to try and eat at the restaurant, after reading the good reviews, the alternate options always outweighed any need for lunch or dinner at the Quod. Perhaps in any normal city, the Quod would stand out, but not in Oxford! There are just too many good places for food, and you're spoilt for choice. Especially if you're only around for a few nights. We ate at Jamie Olivers italian, and Raymond Blancs Les Manoir aux quat Saisons. Yet didn't get chance to try Chiang Mai Thai, Gee's, Le Petit Blanc, Aziz Pandesia or a whole host of others. For lunch, a few doors down from the hotel, and opposite in the Covered Market, there are some unique, and great food outlets - all organic, all tasty, and great value for money. Next door, the patisserie sells great french pastries, and a better option than having breakfast at the hotel.

We had breakast included, so we obliged. Overall very good. Breakfast is a tried and tested formula, the same pretty much everywhere. Quod is no exception, with a contemporary twist - which i wasn't sure whether it worked or not. The Continental style breakfast was great - good cheese, ham, cereals, fruit, bread, toast, croissants. The English was ok - sure the bacon and sausages were 'quality produce' but not necessarily tasty. Sometimes you can't beat a pub or B&B style English. Having cherry tomatoes, and garnish (coriander?) looked great on the plate, but I missed something more traditional. Also, there was no sweet pastries available (like plenty of other hotels I've stayed in have) - where were the pain au chocolats, or danish's? Even more argument to go next door to the patisserie.

We had a drink in the bar a few nights - this was good. Great atmosphere, even early in the week. Quite pricey, but as is all of Oxford.

We enjoyed our 3 nights in the room, just a few gripes. The bedding is all Goose Down. Now, even though some deem this as luxurios, my wife and I are part of the 1 in 3 who get allergies, and Goose Down in not anti-allergenic. So we had to get it all changed - the staff alluded that they'd done a complete change many times before - no surprise! The hotel calls itself a "boutique hotel", but having stayed in plenty of boutique hotels, there's hardly any aspect that could live up to this - it's just a standard hotel. The bathroom products are measily. Shampoo, Cream, Bath Gel. Nothing else. Hotel has no spa. Boutique? The lighting in the bedroom is good, with controls and dimmer for all lights - but not in the bathroom. Now, this normally wouldn't be a problem, but the bathroom lights are bright, and there's a spotlight directly over the bath, which spoils reading/relaxing. Shame. Also, there's no support handle to get out of the bath, which is actually quite tricky. They've gone to the trouble to put a Flat Screen LCD in the bedroom, but the selection of TV channels is poor, our TV reception was very poor, the TV stopped working when the cleaners vacuumed, the reception is analogue not digital, and where the TV is widescreen, the picture has been hardcoded as 4:3. Watching TV was v poor experience, day or night. Though if I'm paying for a quality TV unit, I'm expecting the overall TV service to be just as good.

Which brings me onto price. The hotel is certainly not value for money. If the rate was about half the price, I'd give the place 5 stars, and live with the minor gripes. But for the rate we paid, (even discounted in their summer deal), the quality and postive aspects just don't match. Indeed other hotels in the area are of similar price, but staying in Oxford in a simple B&B would yield just as good holiday results. Purely on price, I'd not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Just got back from a two night visit to The Old Bank Hotel and can safely say it's one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

The room was exceptionally clean and well maintained and will excellent amenities. The beds were ludicrously comfortable and all the bed linen was like new.

All the staff we came across, Reception, Chambermaid, Restaurant and Bar, were all exceptionally friendly and professional and the level of service was incredibly good.

The restaurant was excellent and great value, offering a very informal setting (the courtyard terrace was particularly charming), an interesting menu with truly excellent quality ingredients. We dined there for breakfast, lunch and dinner - I've never stayed in a hotel where I really don't want to eat anywhere else in town!

Overall I can't recommend it enough for a visit to Oxford.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Property: Old Bank Hotel
Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing