We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home..”
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Once again, the Old Bank Hotel exceeded expectations. General Manager, Ben Truesdale runs such a smooth operation that everything just falls into place. I have been to this hotel before, but this time was just so worth writing about. The restaurant menu has not changed but the service has soared. While good enough in the past, the waitstaff is now very attentive and friendly. No more trying to flag down someone to take your order. The breakfast is substantial and varied with lots of choices. Some staff are new but you can tell right away that they ike their job. I was greeted with a smile, and while my room was not ready yet (I was quite early), I was checked in and could leave my bags and go for lunch. When I returned, my key was cheerfully handed to me and my room was the one I requested. In the morning, I was personally escorted into the dining room for breakfast by the GM, Ben, who happened to see me emerge from my room. He thanked me for staying once again, and I really felt like "part of the family".

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueIrishEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2010

service was excellent- ben, alene, lisa, guy, maric at reception. everyone was helpful and courteous. room very nice. over breakfast, i just ran into ben who asked how everything was. i mentioned that the extra bed was a bit creaky and the shower drain was a bit slow. by that afternoon, both matters were resolved. the room is very comfortable and quiet. central location excellent. front view from window, could see the bodleian library. behind the hotel is the shortcut gate to christchurch meadows. 10 mins walk to the left out of front door is oxford castle, 10 mins to the right is magdalen bridge from which to go punting. short walk from the london transfer buses (espress and oxford tube) as well as oxford city buses. free parking, free internet. i feel like this hotel really thought of travelers' needs. the second time i came here, i was able to avail of a promotional weekend rate which makes the stay sweeter. its quod restaurant has good food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodiebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2010

Thanks very much for your review

I'm really glad your stay was enjoyable and that we managed to sort out those little issues, quickly and efficiently.

See you very soon, i hope.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Staying here right now and using the in-room internet access provided in the price. (Other expensive hotels take note - internet access should never be an add-on).

Like a few other travellers, I'm staying in one of the two top level rooms. It's big, quiet, comfortable and offers pretty good views. It's like a mini-suite really, with a raised area for lounging and the bathroom is very big. I particularly like having a seperate shower/bath.

There's a little bit of wear and tear, but I like that. I don't want the cold perfection of a chain hotel.

The artwork throughout is rather good, the staff very friendly and the location perfect.

Negatives? The room is a little hot, and it's not exactly baking outside. There is aircon but it's quite noisy. I'd also have liked some complimentary biscuits to accompany my morning cuppa. They cost pence and touches like that distinguish great from very good.

Overall though, this is a fine hotel and I'd visit again without question.

****** Note - there's a buses/taxis only restriction which I didn't know about on the streets of Oxford. This might have cost me £80. My SatNav didn't know about this so that's someting to be aware of. I'm going to suggest that the hotel includes this info when booking, and also in it's confirmation email *****

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellingtonian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Great hotel centrally located. Expensive as a result and quite parsimonious. One towel and no bathrobes - in a room for two. Quickly rectified. Plates for inclusive breakfast buffet, which was sparse but fresh, were the size of saucers. Presumably to limit the food intake. There is no indication at all that there are different types of rooms on the website other than standard and double. BUT when you arrive there are many gradations of rooms. Our first night was in a very small room, but was upgraded to a very acceptable room the next night. So I guess if you are in the know, call and discuss what you will get!
Unlike most places in the UK the carpets were actually vacuumed and the hotel was very clean. There is a lovely garden which in the summer is outstanding. And the food at the restaurant is acceptable. Staff are very willing and friendly.
Also the "high speed" internet is 0.5MB/s which is definitely not high speed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBN18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2010

Thank you for your review

I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel.

When you booked on the website we only had availability for one room type and hence it only showed availability for what we had. We do have deluxe, superior deluxe and a suite but these will only show availability if they are not booked.

We sometime find that guests who book on the website don't add the correct number of guests to the room, as in your case, hence the single towel and bathrobe. It is always our intention to get you the correct number of towels etc.

We've just had an upgrade to the wifi so with a bit of luck we'll have a faster service. I'm afraid the speed does vary on time of day and number of users. We also offer a wired internet service that can be a touch quicker during busy periods.

See you on your next visit.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed here for a weekend break with another couple and had the 2 attic rooms. They were both spotlessly clean with fantastic views over the spires.

The staff were very helpful, making sure we had maps and reservations sorted for meals. We had drinks in Quad which had a good atmosphere.

We walked to Gees for the Jazz supper. It takes about 15 minutes to walk past lots of lovely buildings to look at on the way. Tha food at Gees was fantastic. Very good value for money, £26.50 for a three course meal.

We would definately stay here again if we ever came back to Oxford.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauralou911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2010

Thanks for your review

The attic rooms really do have a great view over oxford, i must admit.

We're so lucky being so close to all the historic buildings.

So glad you enjoyed Gee's too.

See you next time.

Ben Truesdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Very central, staff very friendly and helpful, Rooms well appointed and extremely clean.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We enjoy staying at The Old Bank so much we keep going back. Right in the centre of Oxford, we love the relaxed, unstuffy atmosphere and the art works never fail to draw the eye. Rooms are tastefully decorated with the best beds we've ever slept on. The staff are always attentive and helpful, even when it's busy. Resident guide Isabella Underhill offers personalised tours which are worth signing up for. She was far more knowledgable and interesting than the tour we went on through the Tourist Information office (which was dreadfully dull). The food at Quod is great with a bistro type menu and good cocktails! Always popular, priority is given to residents.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberSpyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
2.3 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92-94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#2 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £198 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Bank Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing