We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Hotel with Six Star Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Five Star Hotel with Six Star Staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Spent one night DB&B Tuesday 5th April 2011.Excellent value on a Macdonald's Spring Offer.Room at rear of hotel very quiet.Food very good.Staff attitude could not be improved as nothing was a problem - they all went the extra mile!
Neil Cowen Head Concierge as always looked after us well - particularly with car parking.
At first glance may appear expensive but the offer was excellent value.Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Location excellent with bonus of secure parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and I know the team and indeed Neil will be very pleased to learn of your feedback.

Here at the hotel we offer various promotions both exclusive to The Randolph Hotel and as part of Macdonald Hotels. Our Reservations Team are happy to discuss the various options available and the promotions running at the time of booking.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    837
    542
    289
    147
See reviews for
555
1,458
131
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

There's three ways of looking at the Randolph.
1- You are a foreign tourist looking for a "ye olde English" hotel in a great location and are prepared to judge as quaint and wonderfully English eccentric the faded furnishings, maze of passages and stairs to get to the "new" rooms, erratic service, and don't mind paying a high price for the experience.
2- You're a local who knows the place well and knows what you're getting.
3- You've travelled, stayed in real 5-star hotels, and think the "ye olde" ambience, great location, faded furnishings, maze of passages and stairs to get to the "new" rooms, erratic service, and high price are simply not worth it.

Room Tip: Great location, but no 5-star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremyfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We always strive to offer good value for money and I am sorry that you did not feel this was the case.

I hope that you may consider us in the future should you be visiting Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Beautiful building, appropriately decorated. The service was smooth and professional. The food simply delicous! The hotel is ideally located to explore the city on foot. A wonderfully relaxing visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbo5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that we will have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The staff are fantastic - not stiffy - young & vibrant - this hotel is perfect for Oxford city centre - beautiful clean room - the staff are so willing to make your stay perfect. The food - oooohhhhh wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Go on spoil yourself - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillsWeekendBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and in particular our staff here at the hotel. They will be most motivated by this and we look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panzoult
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our stay in the Randolf Oxford was to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and it could not be faulted; from the bedroom to the restaurant and from the luncheon room to the Morse bar, everything was 'first class'. I definitely earned 'brownie points'.

Room Tip: Situated in the centre of Oxford city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panzoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your special occasion with us and congratulations from all the team at The Randolph Hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We stayed in the modern extension, which meant that, while the rooms were of a high standard, they were a 'very very ' long way from the dining rooms & Bars, and a bit 'bland'.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan186305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for writing a review. I fully appreciate that the rooms in The Worcester Wing are some distance from the main body of the hotel. However these are offered with every confidence and are spacious contemporary executive rooms which are very popular with guests.

I do hope that we can be of service to you again in the future and please ask at reservation stage for a bedroom in the maid body of the hotel.
Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We were returning to this legendary hotel to celebrate personal important anniversaries and to see RUSSELL WATSON at the NEW THEATRE. We had stayed in one particular room before and asked for it again. We were told that if possible we would be granted our request. On arrival we found that we were allocated that room. (Am not telling in case you all want it) . We were met on arrival, our luggage was taken in and our car was taken from us. We next saw it when we booked out and left. On booking in our luggage was taken from us and we were taken to our room. From beginning to end our stay was absolutely wonderful. All the staff were courteous, smart, commnicative, helpful and considerate to us. When we arrive the duty concierge was a fine smart young man.He remembered our name and was helpful throughout our stay.
We ate in the dining room and had a light lunch before departure in the lounge.
My wife liked the cocktails in the MORSE BAR. She is glad that the barman is constantly adding new cocktails as she has "gone through the list".

Room Tip: Visit .See for yourself.A must if you like MORS E.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your visit. The hotel is perfectly situated for a theatre break. We are adjacent to The Oxford Playhouse and just round the corner is The New Theatre.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future when your travel plans next bring you to the city of Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing