We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but wish noisy babies were not encouraged when dining!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We had a special offer, DBB. Could not have afforded this 5* Hotel otherwise. The hotel staff were very attentive and there was always one around when you wanted something. The room and bathroom were comfortable (although clearly not their best rooms!) but a bit hot. Thank goodness windows opened for cool night air. So, all in all, because of the special offer, it was very good value for money. The thing however that spoiled it for us was for some reason, we were placed on a table at dinner next to a baby that really was a nuisance. OK we thought, parents have right to a dinner too. The trouble was that the next morning at breakfast, we were taken to a table (with hardly any spaces in the dining room) and next to us was the same baby who at the end of their breakfasts was getting fed up and we got tense. It did spoil the eating experience both times. We were too polite to make a fuss! So I do hope that if any Randolph management read this, they take on board that their hotel is expensive and people do not want to listen to fractious babies evening and morning while dining. Apart from that, it's a great hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superdooper020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was pleased that your stay with us on the whole was good, I was however concerned that your room was too hot and your felt it was not one of our best. Please be assured that we offer all our rooms with every confidence that our guests will be comfortable. I do appreciate that some of our rooms are on the cozy side. We do offer various room categories and various tariffs.

I was sorry that you were disturbed by an enfant both at dinner and at breakfast. We of course welcome families to the hotel and I take on board your comments that this was not conducive of a relaxing dining experience. I shall be discussing your comments with the restaurant team and assess the training needed for this type of occurrence.

I do hope that we can be of service to you again in the future and thank you once again for posting a review.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,807 - 2,813 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hotel lobby was small; chairs very uncomfortable. Room was pleasant, with high ceilings. Bathroom was freezing; kept door closed at all times! Hair dryer was hard-wired into desk drawer; impossible to fully extend when seated at desk. Safe was located in floor-level cabinet; could not access unless sitting on the floor. Staff was Britishly distant.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaFleisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you had issues with certain aspects of the hotel. I shall be discussing these with the team and I hope that you had a pleasant journey home.

Please do bear us in mind should your travel plans next bring you to the city of Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Spent one night DB&B Tuesday 5th April 2011.Excellent value on a Macdonald's Spring Offer.Room at rear of hotel very quiet.Food very good.Staff attitude could not be improved as nothing was a problem - they all went the extra mile!
Neil Cowen Head Concierge as always looked after us well - particularly with car parking.
At first glance may appear expensive but the offer was excellent value.Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Location excellent with bonus of secure parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryHampshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review and I know the team and indeed Neil will be very pleased to learn of your feedback.

Here at the hotel we offer various promotions both exclusive to The Randolph Hotel and as part of Macdonald Hotels. Our Reservations Team are happy to discuss the various options available and the promotions running at the time of booking.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

There's three ways of looking at the Randolph.
1- You are a foreign tourist looking for a "ye olde English" hotel in a great location and are prepared to judge as quaint and wonderfully English eccentric the faded furnishings, maze of passages and stairs to get to the "new" rooms, erratic service, and don't mind paying a high price for the experience.
2- You're a local who knows the place well and knows what you're getting.
3- You've travelled, stayed in real 5-star hotels, and think the "ye olde" ambience, great location, faded furnishings, maze of passages and stairs to get to the "new" rooms, erratic service, and high price are simply not worth it.

Room Tip: Great location, but no 5-star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremyfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. We always strive to offer good value for money and I am sorry that you did not feel this was the case.

I hope that you may consider us in the future should you be visiting Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Beautiful building, appropriately decorated. The service was smooth and professional. The food simply delicous! The hotel is ideally located to explore the city on foot. A wonderfully relaxing visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibbo5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that we will have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

The staff are fantastic - not stiffy - young & vibrant - this hotel is perfect for Oxford city centre - beautiful clean room - the staff are so willing to make your stay perfect. The food - oooohhhhh wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Go on spoil yourself - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillsWeekendBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and in particular our staff here at the hotel. They will be most motivated by this and we look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our stay in the Randolf Oxford was to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and it could not be faulted; from the bedroom to the restaurant and from the luncheon room to the Morse bar, everything was 'first class'. I definitely earned 'brownie points'.

Room Tip: Situated in the centre of Oxford city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panzoult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post a review. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your special occasion with us and congratulations from all the team at The Randolph Hotel.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £142 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing