We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxford and The Randolph go together - Like Lewis & Morse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oxford and The Randolph go together - Like Lewis & Morse”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Efficient and friendly service. This time we stayed in the new extension where the rooms are modern, bright and well serviced. On previous visits we have stayed in the main hotel and here the rooms have a lovely charm, which we particularly like and if you are lucky, some splendid views. The food is excellent, particularly the breakfast with a tremendous spread at the buffet and a good range of freshly cooked food, plus toast, coffee etc. Oxford is buzzy, full of interesting museums,beautiful colleges to visit and the Randolph is at the centre of it all. Although we are Londoners, Oxford is a favourite destination and the Randolph is our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: LIfts do not service some of the upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatJ00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    858
    568
    302
    152
See reviews for
584
1,490
136
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed in the Randolph on a recent trip to Oxford. A lovely very upmarket hotel in a great location , right opposite the Ashmolean museum and close to all sights. Very welcoming staff, and our room was huge. Only negative is that I found the hotel to not be very toddler friendly - there as steps at the entrance and to our room also, which took a bit of negotiating with a buggy, but all in all a lovely hotel, in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuzzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

A recent v isit to this hotel left us with the impression of a most comfortable hotel in a very convenient location for all the interesting sights in Oxford and of a hotel run by staff who all enjoyed their job of making their guests feel really welcome. The smiles all seemed to be genuine and smiled by people who liked what they were doing. It seemed that there must be an excellent policy of recruitment and training which must be followed up by keeping the recruits satisfied. A very unfortunate health incident was dealt with both tactfully, sensitively and with efficiency, leaving me with a feeling of great relief. Although drinks in the bar seemed rather expensive, food in the restaurant was no more so than might have been expected for excellent food beautifully prepared and presented. We would happily return there on a future visit to Oxford; indeed it is our experience of other Macdonald hotels experienced from the Thames Valley to Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Randolph was booked as a weekend away in Oxford as I had never been to oxford. 1st of all it is in a great location - close to the shops and yet just far enough away.

Everything about this place was good from the care and attention to detail of the bar staff - to the friendliness of the staff.

Overall worth the stay - and would consider it again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewmills9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is a lovely hotel ideally situated for dropping students off in Oxford and staying overnight. Make sure you drop them off before you book in as it is a bit expensive and dont bring them up in a big van as the hotel car park is very tight.

You might need some form of navigation device to locate your room if you have had a good evening out.

Room Tip: Our room was a long way from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenHavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinstock
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We recently spent two nights at the Randolph for a weekend break and found the service friendly and professional and well up to 5 star standards. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded on arrival and were given a very pleasant room in the new wing. It lacked a view but this wasn't really an issue. Breakfast was excellent as was our evening meal in the restaurant, if a little pricey. Afternoon tea was excellent once a booking snafu had been resolved. Overall we would certainly come back again - and of course Oxford is one of the most beautiful cities anywhere - particularly in spring sunshine!

Room Tip: If you can do without a car do. Parking is pricey
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I recently spent 3 nights at The Randolph; the hotel was lovely, particularly the public areas, although I felt the rooms were lacking some character. The hotel is well situated in the city, with no more than a 10 or 15 minute walk to anything. While I enjoyed my stay, I did notice a few problems. Many of the dishes at breakfast had not been completely cleaned, and the tea kettle and hair dryer in the rooms were of notably poor quality. These are admittedly very minor issues, but I did feel that considering how much I was paying to stay there, perhaps not too much to ask. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable stay, but I'm not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, however concerned that the finer details were not up to the mark.

I shall be discussing your comments with my team and thank you for sharing them. I do hope that we can be of service to you again in the future when your travel plans next bring you to the city of Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing