We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aimed squarely at the easily impressed tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Berks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Aimed squarely at the easily impressed tourist”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My stay was tainted by a run in with a rude concierge and less than welcoming bar (not to mention the extraordinary prices - £12 for a G+T is not sensible).

Whilst initially helpful, the concierge was pretty rubbish when I requested our luggage was taken to the room when it was ready. It was busy, but I would have preferred he politely decline my request than whinge about it and mutter under his breath.

After midnight the bar is open for hotel guests only (which is true, and presumably a legal requirement) but the way the bar manager loudly announced it to reasonably quiet assembly was just embarrassing and suggested he thought a riot was about to break out.

Generally, the atmosphere and the service in the hotel seemed a bit dated - a throw back to the bad old days when waiters would serve with pretentious disdain. And the quaint touches thrown in to help justify the prices (such as the obligatory turn down service, complete with dressing mat) don't quite add enough value.

The B+B rate seemed about right, and the facilities are as you would expect from a 5* hotel. I didn't get a chance to use the spa - it may be that this facility tips the balance, but there are better place to stay in Oxford if you're not going to use it.

Breakfast was a significant redeeming feature. The selection was very good, the cooking excellent, and the staff outstanding - almost a complete contrast to the previous evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_DBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for posting a review and I was sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. I was concerned that you found service elements to be old fashioned and in some areas to be rude. Please be assured that these comments will be discussed at our weekly meeting and is not our normal feedback.

We strive to offer value for money and do work on a rate structure similar to an airline. I will be assessing our bar prices to ensure we are in line with our competitors.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write and I do hope we may of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    837
    542
    289
    147
See reviews for
555
1,458
131
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Wonderfully appointed rooms - we had a large suite with lounge/dining room and entrance hall - impeccably clean and light and peacfully quiet.
Large sized molton brown products,luxurious towels and bathrobes, amply stocked minibar teas and coffees,and wonderful Randolph design truffles on table with beautiful fresh roses. Beds always comfortable as in all macdonalds and a 7 foot bed amazing. Two big flat screen tv.s and two bathrooms a real treat. wonderful views from the lounge. staff so friendly and helpful without being OTT. A totally peaceful weekend despite being full. Morse bar very small but there was still plenty of room even on a saturday evening. Would thoroughly recommend. only one down was no dvd player but didn't want it in the end.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac75874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank for your kind comments following your visit to The Randolph Hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be perfect for your needs.
I am sorry however that you thought the DVD Player was in the room. These are in fact available through our concierge department and will be provided on request.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My husband & I stayed at the hotel last night and we were very impressed with every aspect of our stay. Right from arriving and being greeted by the Concierge who parked our car, to check out, the hotel staff were professional and attentive. The hotel is filled with character and charm. Our room was the second level above the standard room and was beautifully presented, well equipped and spacious. All the extras one would expect of a hotel of this standard were apparent, for example, Molton Brown toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, iron and ironing board etc.

The location couldn't be more perfect as it is centrally positioned, next to the Ashmolean Museum. Everything is walkable and convenient. We asked the Concierge to recommend a nice Indian restaurant for dinner last night and he booked a table for us at the marvellous 4500 Miles from Delhi, which we can highly recommend.

We will most definitely be booking to stay at the hotel next time we're in Oxford.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 168, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonsGatwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and I know the team will be most motivated by your comments.
We hope to be of service to you again in the future when your travels plans next bring you to the city of Oxford
Kind regards
Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Have stayed several times at this hotel.
Without exception have found it to be a delightful and comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
The rooms have been large and well appointed with excellent facilities.They are well looked after by the domestic staff.
The food is excellent -whether at breakfast,afternoon tea or dinner.We love the Morse bar cocktails -especially the Apple Martinis!!
We anticipate each stay with great pleasure.
It isn't the cheapest hotel in Oxford but "worth it"!

Room Tip: Have found each room to be comfortable -haven't tried the more expensive rooms or suites. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomar1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I was pleased to learn that being regular guests you have always enjoyed your stay with us.

We do offer various rooms types at different tariff structures and it is always worth checking our website to see the benefits of each and to check for special offers we run periodically throughout the year.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future.
Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

There's a lot of excellent things about this splendidly situated hotel right in the middle of Oxford's historical centre opposite the Ashmolean Museum and within 15 minutes or so walk of the main sights and sites.
Staff are pleasant and efficient and extremely helpful.
Breakfasts are among the best we've ever had. Includes an array of fruit and healthy options and Frank Cooper's Oxford Marmalade (it's excellent).
Room was comfortable, clean, good bathroom facilities.
Could do better on a couple of things - reception areas and halls are a bit gloomy and creaky (although Morse Bar is cheerful and wood-panelled). And it is all a bit pricey including drinks in the bar and room service. But there's no shortage of pleasant pubs, cafes and eateries in Oxford centre.
On balance great as a treat. And Oxford is simply wonderful...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for posting a review and I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel. We are indeed very centrally located and in walking distance of most attractions and colleges.
I shall be discussing your comments regarding our drinks prices and checking we are in line with our competitors in the area.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. Having read the reviews on here I was not totally certain I had chosen the right hotel. Well in fact I had. The whole thing was brilliant from reception to check out. The staff were polite without being obseqious. Ignore the negative reviews, there truly is no pleasing some people. The rooms are excellent, the cleanliness of both the room and the hotel was exceptional. It is not cheap, but neither is it overly expensive. We breakfasted every morning and the food was very good. We only dined once and again the food was vv tasty. The wine list is very extensive. We will be going back. We stayed over the New Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased we could be apart of your special celebration here at The Randolph Hotel.
Thank you for your kind comments and I know the team will be most motivated by your feedback.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and once again Happy Anniversary.
Kind regards,
Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Upon entering the lobby of the Randolph you are struck by the resemblance to an old church. The doors and windows all have cathedral arches and the stained glass is there as well. As you walk down the creaky old halls you wonder how many previous travelers have passed through. The concierge is really very good, knowledgeable, and spot on with his recommendations. The front desk staff are caring and really did read my requests! What a pleasant surprise!
We did experience a few negatives however, we wanted dessert and ordered a hot fudge sundae, we got 4 scoops of vanilla with a few slices of strawberries...no fudge?
The shower was a leaky sieve, and the pressure was not constant...The furniture is past its prime as well. Also the night watchman would wake me up as the hall creaks just on the other side of the bed..
Overall, the service, the knowledge and the caring staff still make this hotel one to stay. I do say the room was nice and bright, and Quiet! So for character in Oxford this is one to keep!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room select one on the back of the hotel, not much of a view but you won't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4snickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you taking the time to post a review. I was pleased that the team afforded you every courtesy and you enjoyed your stay with us.

I was concerned to learn that your dessert was less than perfect when presented to you and I shall be discussing this with my Head Chef, thank you for letting us know.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future when your travel plans next bring you to the city of Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing