We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is located across the road from the Ashmodean Museum and is within easy walking distance of most major Oxford attractions. It is also a 10 minute walk from the train station. It is an old style English hotel that will appeal to fans of the BBC Inspector Morse/Lewis TV series in that it is often featured. The cast tend to stay there while filming and the hotel has a 'Morse' bar.
It is not however a 5 star. Our room was quite ordinary,the bed rather small and uncomfortable and the bathroom minuscule. There is free wi fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,563 - 2,569 of 3,276 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

What a wonderful treat to stay at the Randolph, fabulous day in the hustle and bustle of Oxford then back to the Randolph an oasis of calm and luxury a really beautiful room and nothing too much trouble for the staff. A good nights sleep and an excellent breakfast before leaving.
A special thank you to Paul Conway so friendly and welcoming

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Miriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have just stayed 3 nights at this awfall Hotel Easrer 2012. The roon needed attention, the mini bar fridge wasnt working. The breakfast was so poor we dinned in the town, they couldnt even get poached eggs on toast write, the orange juice was un drinkable, the bacon very poor and the service no better. Location was good but they charge £26.50 to park per nite. House keeping was appalling dust not just in the room but everywhere. the whole hotel needed a really good cleen night clothes were just thrown on the bed and we had to ask for our roon to be serviced at 3.30 pm because it had not been done. And they want to charge you £15 if you just want a swim.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have stayed at the Randolph on many occasions over the last five years or so, our most recent visit being over the Easter weekend.
The Randolph is our favourite hotel in Oxford.
The central location cannot be bettered. It is very convenient for the Ashmolean which is just across the road, and is a must see.
The Randolph itself is a lovely, comfortable, and very old fashioned hotel.
The reception staff are courteous and efficient. Special mention must go the concierge team who do a fine job, and are very knowledgeable about what to see and do in Oxford.
The Morse Bar is small but cosy, and serves delicious cocktails. One small point is that table service in the Morse Bar could be more prompt and attentive.
The rooms are comfortable but may now be coming to a stage where they need to be updated, especially the bathrooms.
All in all, the Randolph is a charming hotel, and is very well located as a base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I took my mother for afternoon tea on Monday 2nd April having read some good reviews. The room where it was served struck me a bit of faded grandeur. The chandelier, grand piano and antique furniture were all very grand, but it all looked rather tired, and I have to say, a bit grubby.
The table we sat at was tiny, and in fact they all looked around the same size, and we had to fix a serious wobble by folding some cardboard under the table leg. The chairs were far too low for the tables, so it was hard to sit back and relax. We ordered the standard afternoon tea and when the cake stand arrived along with all the other associated things, the table was so full that it was actually quite difficult to eat. I couldn't actually see my mother past the cake stand, so I had to move my chair round. The rather thick sandwiches were okay, but had definitely been sitting around for a while, and the fillings were nice, but really quite stingey. The cakes were better and a nice selection, but the scones felt like they had been put in the oven to warm through, and forgotten about so they were almost crunchy. I was typically British and didn't complain at the time, but now regret this. Maybe if you have tea on a weekend when they are busier, it's better. Sad to say I was quite disappointed, especially for the price.
As a travel agent, I book my clients in the hotel and they love it, but I wouldn't rush to recommend the afternoon tea I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsDemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

stayed at the Randolph for one night. Lovely rooms for the family and I. Housekeeping very attentive. Fruit in the room and nice turn down service. Fantastic location, easy to get to the town. The concierge was most helpful directing us to the best places to see and the bus tour. Nice to stay in a hotel where there is attention to detail, like beautifully clean windows and carpets, where so many hotels let these things slip. You know that when they take care of these things all of the other things seem to follow as far as cleaning is concerned. Great museum over the road. Got to meet the General Manager also when he was on walk about, which is nice to see the top man keeping his finger on the pulse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerTPMayfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed for two nights over Easter 2012. Don't recognise the hotel from negative reviews, service was excellent throughout, room was lovely, large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom also large with power shower, quality products. View out to the Ashmolean. The hotel is so central and yet easy to find, very good for shopping, theatre, colleges and museums. Also lovely historic building with character. Afternoon tea is a must, if a 'sugar and calorie overload'. The only negative is that we were on 1st floor and there was some road noise but nothing really problematic, and the high parking charge needs to be factored in!

Room Tip: Older part of building at the front of the building for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faulkners_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £134 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing