We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Stay, But Did Play”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 27 November 2013

After several hours at the Ashmolean Museum across the street, the Randolph was an appealing watering hole to dispel some dust. Service in the bar was traditional and prompt. I would not describe the pricing as favorable, but then no pricing in the UK is. Sit down, enjoy a pleasant interlude, and listen to the duchess seated at the next table.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfxj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear golfxj6

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at the Macdonald Randolph Hotel. The Morse Bar really is a lovely little venue full of character and characters, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stop off and will hopefully be welcoming you back to watch the world go by in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,001 - 2,007 of 3,204 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had a great stay at the Macdonald Randolph. The staff were especially lovely and we were all most impressed with Dave the Barman. Attentive, polite and professional with a smile for everyone and great service. Thanks Dave!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahSarahSarahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Sarah W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at the Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your gratitude to the team at the Morse Bar for their excellent service and will hopefully see you in the not too distant future to sample the mulled wine.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Great central location, stayed several times and every room is different. Staff are very attentive and polite. After long days coming back to find bed turned down and chocolate on pillow was a nice touch. Had a lovely grasshopper cocktail in the Morse bar which I really enjoyed. Breakfast is varied and again well served by the staff. Overall a good experience. Only reservation is that on this occasion my room was a little small.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank FCC186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear FCC186342

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that the grasshopper cocktail and the turn down service left you feeling spoilt. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Morse Bar and Housekeeping teams who will be most motivated by your comments. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to be welcoming you back to The Macdonald Randolph in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The Randolph is a very traditional old English sort of hotel -- good service, decent food but worn out and not as clean as it should be.

The staff, in particular the foreign staff (thankfully in the majority), are very good. Breakfast is very average, The rooms are comfortable but not as clean as they should be. For example, the shower in my room had bits of obvious black mold in the corners and in various crevices. Application of a little household bleach would cure this. The problem is a sense of mediocrity -- and poor attention to detail.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room that is within easy walking distance. Some rooms an amazingly long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Edward B

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. We have a program of re-grouting currently under way to address the issue that you have raised and I have already bought up your feedback with our Executive Head Housekeeper regarding the cleanliness which is not our usual feedback at all. I can assure you that your comments have been taken constructively and actioned accordingly which I thank you for. I hope that we have the opportunity to change your perception of the Macdonald Randolph in the future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our stay at The Randolf from start to finish was an excellent experience
All of the staff were very friendly and also very helpful .
Rooms very excellent very clean, the Hotel was very well positioned for all aspects of Oxford
We would certainly go there again Thank you Randolf Hotel for making
Our short stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Rosemary T

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that the team made you feel special. The people really do make a difference in this industry and I honestly believe that I have some of the best in the business working here at The Macdonald Randolph hotel. I hope that we can be of service to you again if your travels bring you back to the city of Oxford.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Myself and my husband had a wonderful time at this hotel. The location is perfect for strolling around the beautiful city of Oxford. Our room was spacious and clean with plenty of character. The service at this hotel is excellent and the staff made us feel very welcome. We had pre dinner drinks in the Morse bar which is very atmospheric - the cocktails are fabulous! We also took afternoon tea at the hotel. This room is lovely and cozy with fabulous views of the Ashmolean museum opposite - a perfect place for afternoon tea. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickymLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear nickymlondon

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I will be sure to share your positive review with the team at our weekly management meeting as reviews of this nature really helps to motivate the team and ensures that we keep pushing our service levels to make every stay special for the right reasons. Next time you are with us may I suggest making use of our Spa to elevate your relaxation to an even higher level.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank 522amberb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
715 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £163 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing