We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous stay at this hotel. It was my fiancé's birthday and I surprised him with the dinner bed and breakfast package .

We stayed in an executive suite facing the museum, it was a lovely stay, staff were professional and friendly. Dinner was DELICIOUS, the presentation was perfect and the service was great, usually you could feel intimidated in such a restaurant but it didn't, we felt very relaxed, its an elegant setting and we loved the way the chef wrote "happy birthday" in chocolate on my fiancé's dessert . I opted for a surprise breakfast in bed the next morning and that was also wonderful, especially when the hotel offered us a bottle of champagne at 10am! :)

Would definitely recommend the DBB option. Great place to stat, very central location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rorox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Rorox88

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you both back for many birthdays to come. I will be sure to pass on your glowing feedback to the team as I am sure they will be most motivated by your comments. I hope that we will see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,112 - 2,118 of 3,364 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

From the reviews it's evident that it's very hit and miss at this hotel. We stayed in a classic room for 2 nights. The room over-looked the Ashmoleun museum which was great, but it was really small and the bed was incredibly uncomfortable.
After trying to find some form of comfort on the bed we had to ask for another room - we were shown another classic room that was even smaller, so stayed where we were. It seems we actually had one of the better rooms.
Staff were very helpful and offered to put a board under the mattress to firm it up. Unfortunately this made no difference.

The location was great, the breakfast was great, the staff were great - but at the end of the day if you book into a 5 star hotel you don't expect the room to be tiny and the bed uncomfortable.

Sure, the room had some nice furniture, a mini-bar, but by cramming it all in to hit the '5 star' status, it seems to lose any star feeling. Wouldn't it be better to be a descent 3 or 4 stars to avoid disappointment?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mercuryman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Mercuryman2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am pleased that you found the team to be as good as our location and our signature breakfast. I will of course be investigating the mattress in the room you stayed to ensure that we can have this changed as soon as possible so that the uncomfortable nights sleep that you endured which I would like to apologise for is not an issue to anybody moving forward. I would like to thank you for your constructive comments and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Macdonald Randolph in the future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just returned from the Randolph. Our deal included dinner, which was excellent. We had an executive king which was so spacious. We couldn't have wished for anything else - and if we had, then we we're secure in the knowledge that the staff would do their best to oblige. We opted to park our car which is expensive but if you've ever tried to park in Oxford.............. The Randolph is so conveniently situated you don't need a car. The staff were excellent - so helpful and friendly. They put a discretionary tip on the bill which I didn't regret at all. The smoked salmon starter was to die for! And they would happily adapt any dish.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Jane 046

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Our Head Chef Simon Bradley has really injected a new lease of life into the cuisine in the restaurant without losing some of the traditionalism and theatre of the smoked salmon starter carved tableside. I hope that we will be welcoming you back through our doors without too much delay.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Have just returned from a short break at the Randolph.On arrival , as if by magic the concierge team came to greet us and immediately made us welcome.Their efficient manner meant we could just go straight in to meet our guest in the "morse bar".After coffee and luxury shortbread, we then checked in with the reception and had an equally pleasant welcome from them.The room we had ,was beautiful and overlooked the Ashmoleon museum.The Ashmoleon is well worth a visit and much bigger than you can imagine covering several floors so really could spend a whole day there.As a Christmas present ,we had afternoon tea booked so we sat down to the accompaniment jazz pianist while we we indulged in several choice of sandwiches, scones and delicate cakes and the best lemon curd ever!Much later in the evening we had an equally gorgeous meal and wine ,which is definitely 5 star standard.The breakfast was equally impressive.The hotel was busy this week end but this did not distract from the attention to detail and fantastic service we received from all the staff .Very memorable experience and a real treat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Jill a

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I will be sure to share your feedback with the management team at our weekly meeting as you have experienced first class service from start to finish which is our key objective. I sincerely hope that we may be of service to you again in the future should your travels bring you back to the city of Oxford. Maybe you could try our new Elemis Spa range to bring your next stay to a new level of relaxation.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Arriving at the Randolph in early afternoon, we were greeted by friendly staff. Our package included afternoon tea, which had a good range of sandwiches and cakes, tasteful in presentation and generous in quality and variety.
The evening itself began at 7 p.m. with a champagne reception and the warm and convivial atmosphere amongst our fellow-diners was a very good beginning to what was a most enjoyable evening. The food was superb and the waiter service was extremely attentive.
All in all very pleasing and memorable.
Chris E

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank chrise404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Chris e

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us over the New Year celebrations. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to the team as I am sure they will be pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald Randolph Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just come back from another stay at the Randolph which is our favourite hotel in Oxford. The rooms are quality and 'The Morse Bar' and the lounge are great places for a drink, although watch the prices as it can get a little costly. Breakfast is good, although you can save by eating in town, and the same applies to Dinner. The staff on concierge are first class, usually very friendly and there to help with any enquiries. Parking is costly but well worth it in Oxford. Go on spoil yourself at a good old British 5 Star.

Room Tip: Book a parking space for the cat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Chris T

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent overnight stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. It always a pleasure to read a review from a returning guest and I thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. I hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Location is perfect in an otherwise difficult city to find central accommodation, thus loads of " not so good" Bed and Breakfasts miles out of the city.The hotel has it made and can charge what it likes.... Individual members of staff attentive and helpful but felt it didn't come together as a whole, united experience
First room was noisy beside the kitchen extraction fans, which were turned on FULL at 5pm for the rest of the evening. Hotel guide in the bedroom was out of date as I rang down to get the code for the internet to be told "Why would you need a code for the Internet? To which I responded "Because that's what it says in your Guide in the hotel bedroom".... All out of date would be fixed...sometime... chap arrived with no Guide in hand..."no one told me" etc etc.
Breakfast menu full of extras eg. an extra charge for kippers £2.50...why be so mean...were they stuffed with caviare...What 4 star hotel charges extras for breakfast items like kippers?/ Mean and silly I thought.
We ate dinner with friends in the hotel and it was OK. Not cheap by any standard. Only 4 tables occupied when we were there form 6.30pm to 9 pm...and I can see why..too pricey for what was on offer. £39.50 for 2 courses!!
All in all disappointing. The Manager needs to be more visible, checking on the customer experiencing and sampling this.... but then they will always get business because of the location, so I guess little incentive to bother...a pity!

Room Tip: stay away from the kitchen extraction fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wemyss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear wemyss 1

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am pleased that you found our location to be suited to your needs. I would like to apologise for the issues that you encountered during your time with us with regard to the in room information and the noise from the extractor fans. The pricing structure for the level of cuisine that we offer in a 5 star hotel is indeed competitive and the general feedback that we receive regarding the food here at The Macdonald Randolph is very good so I am sorry that this was not too your liking. I can assure you that the Management team here take hospitality very seriously indeed. I thank you for your constructive comments and hope that we may be of service to you in the future should your travel plans bring you back to the city of Oxford.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 45 in Oxford
1,236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 45 in Oxford
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
770 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £122 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing