We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Royal Oxford Hotel(Oxford)
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$139
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$259
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (3,421)
Filter reviews
3,421 results
Traveller rating
1,356
939
621
330
175
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,356
939
621
330
175
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorse barashmolean museummolton brown toiletriesconcierge teamafternoon teadrawing roominspector morseturn down servicenespresso machineexecutive roombeautiful buildingspecial occasionbreakfast servicerestaurant staffcentral locationcar parkingcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,159 - 2,164 of 3,421 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

For one of the best hotels in Oxford the bathroom is too small. the smallest i heve seen ever in a five star hotel. Breakfast was good and personnel attentive and welcoming. Location is very central, Common areas are well kept. Restaurant very elegant and with plenty of natural light

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Pelpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I was very pleased that you enjoyed breakfast, and that the restaurant was pleasant.

Thank you for your comment with regard to your bathroom. Being an old hotel, our bathrooms do vary in size. Some are extremely spacious whereas others are smaller in scale. The smaller bathrooms are in our entry-level rooms, the classic bedrooms, whereas the executive and above rooms are much more spacious.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

First the hotel is beautifully located and the staff were all very pleasant but the prices are just outrageous for what it was.

Our so called Executive Room was well in excess of £200 a night for an old fashioned room that was a route march away from reception. Just because you add a bathrobe and a Nespresso machine does not make it an Executive Room.

The Morse Bar had no Real Ale - Morse would have refused to drink there and the prices were ferocious - £12.50 for a glass of wine.

Also if you are paying in excess of £200 a night you do not expect to be charged £15 to use the Spa (hence the rating I am sure it is delightful!) and the final insult a £3 charge for using a credit card. What a bill in excess of £500 and you still want to squeeze out another £3!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Ian B

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our prominent Oxford location and that the team were polite and professional in their conduct. I will be sure to feed this back to them through our weekly meetings. Our rates do fluctuate depending on our occupancy levels and all rooms are categorised depending on more than just the additional extra items. We have tried to sell real ale in the Morse Bar on many an occasion but unfortunately there is simply not enough of a demand to make it commercially viable. Colin Dextor the author of Morse still comes in to see us regularly and enjoys his time in the Morse bar very much. I appreciate your frustration regarding the extra charges for paying by credit card but these are not applied if you were to settle by debit card so there are indeed other options that avoid these charges. I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Macdonald Randolph should your travel plans bring you back to the city of Oxford in the future

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellent short stay. We were slightly perturbed by some negative reviews prior to arrival so called ahead and prebooked the car park and confirmed our room was on the lower floors (executive room). We checked in at midday but couldn't get our room until 2pm. Wasn't a problem as we headed into Oxford for lunch and took in some sights including the Ashmolean. Room was very comfortable and just what was expected. We overlooked the entrance to the Ashmolean which meant the road has plenty of coaches turning the corner. The windows didn't seem as sound proofed as modern windows but it didn't detract from a good nights sleep. We ate in the restaurant as part of our package and drank cocktails in the Morse bar. The bar opens onto the hotel foyer so lacks something in atmosphere because of it. Lighting the fire may have helped but may have been very warm for those close to it. Cocktails lovely. We found two that we will ask for again. Very attentive service and fantastic food. Would stay again.

Room Tip: prebook car parking, vey busy.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear Ian U

Thank you for taking the time to review your short stay with us. The range of cocktails in the Morse Bar is extensive and I am pleased you found some that was to your liking, the bar team really work hard to create something special with quiet a few creations of their own on the menu. Please feel free to pop back in at your earliest convenience and I am sure the bar tenders would be delighted to look after you again. I hope that you may consider us for your next special occasion.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I wanted somewhere in Oxford and this hotel met the brief. It's not cheap - nothing in Oxford is! My wife and I found the hotel charming with an old world elegance and yet the vitality of today. A long established hotel which is brought to life by its staff who were so helpful and friendly. Never obtrusive just there when you needed them. Our room (213) was on the front of the hotel and looked out on the Ashmoleum museum. A very worthwhile reason to go out and cross the road. We did hear some very loud youngsters in the early hours making their way past the hotel but see that as inevitable with non double glazed windows. We loved the creak and groan of the old floors just oozing character in room well & tastefully decorated with a very comfortable bed.
The Morse bar is a cosy spot for a pre dinner drink. The restaurant served an excellent dinner again without fuss or rush.
We aren't SPA people so didn't use the facility.

Room Tip: Just talk to reception they were so friendly and helpful I'm sure they will do their best meet your needs.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEANO615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear DEANO615

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to the team at our weekly management meeting and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to spend another relaxing stay with us in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are a fan of Morse and Lewis then this is the place for you. An old and well established hotel in the middle of Oxford where some scenes from Morse were recorded and just around the corner from many of the famous Oxford University colleges.
Stayed as part of a Secret Escapes deal in a Standard room which was very small for the money (even with the discount) with plenty of noise from next door and the bins being put out at various times. Bathroom was a bit of a squeeze and the shower leaked all over the floor despite our best efforts, soaking the floor mats.
On the plus side: check in and out was fairly painless with friendly staff on Reception, there is a nice lounge to take tea or coffee and the breakfast was ok, although the scrambled eggs were cold. Paid for parking overnight (£28.50p) and they did let me leave the car in the garage for another couple of hours while we explored the Oxford colleges. The concierge also looked after our bags until we left around midday.
Left with the feeling we probably got what we paid for and nothing else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistaPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Dear MistaPeta

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay with. I am disappointed that you found your stay to be just satisfactory as we pride ourselves on trying to ensure all of our guests have a truly memorable experience. I will of course be investigating the shower issue and thank you for bringing that to my attention. I will thank concierge on your behalf for the additional free parking that was extended to you on the day of departure. I hope that we may be able to be of service to you again in the future should your travels bring you back to the city of Oxford.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews