We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you to all staff at the Randolph Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you to all staff at the Randolph Oxford”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I took my 92 year old mum for a Saturday night stay and from the first minute we were very very happy here. It was definitely made perfect by all the wonderful staff. Really helpful doorman nipped out and found a disabled parking space for us and helped with the bags without a moment's hesitation. Room lovely, food fantastic, just a really homely place which made us feel welcome and at ease. Well done everyone and we would love to come back.

Room Tip: If you are elderly or disabled mention it on booking as it is a large hotel and some rooms are a lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for your very nice comments about the hotel and the staff. I'm very pleased that you felt welcomed, and thank you for choosing to take your mother to our hotel.

I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    858
    569
    302
    152
See reviews for
584
1,491
136
454
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Fantastic location for a weekend exploring Oxford. Room was very comfortable. Only criticism was a long wait for the cooked breakfast to arrive on one morning but without us saying anything they refunded the cost of the breakfast as realised the service was not to their usual standard

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and found The Randolph an excellent location for exploring Oxford. All the sites of Oxford are within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel.

I was very sorry to learn of the delay with your cooked breakfast - we do pride ourselves in cooking breakfast fresh for each and every guest, and I am sorry that on this occasion caused an inconvenience for you.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The room was perfect - extremely comfortable bed and lots of extras including a bottle of wine and chocolates. We even had a plate of "Happy Anniversary" mini desserts brought to our room after dinner. Delicious food and an extremely professional team We'll be back!

Room Tip: Four poster bed was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your Anniversary. I was very pleased that you were happy with your visit and thank you for your generous comments about the team at The Randolph, who will be very motivated to recieve this feedback from you.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay,everything was perfect looking forward to staying there again,the room was perfect,the little touches like turning your beds back and putting chocolates on the pillows just made it a wonderful experience,nothing was to much trouble for the staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley67502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
I am very pleased you enjoyed your New Year's Eve stay. Thank you so much for your great feedback on the hotel - we are already taking booking for 2014/15, and I hope we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff went above and beyond for my husbands birthday.

The room was beautiful and had lots of extras. All the staff were so thoughtful and really made our stay. The breakfast was the best full English I have ever had with its award winning sausages. It's very busy and you need to book food, parking etc.

Drinks were expensive but the wine was good quality. The hotel is in the best position in oxford. If your looking for budget over quality then stay away as this hotel is perfect as it is!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind comments. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I have now stayed at the Randolph twice and can't recommend it highly enough. The position is perfect for exploring Oxford and it has two of the best pubs within 3-4 minutes. Check out the Lamb and Flag and the Eagle and Child. The hotel is lovely from the outside and just as nice on the inside. My room this time was quite a walk but perfectly nice with a spacious bathroom (with an actual bath!). The staff are very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food is always wonderful and was especially so this trip. It isn't cheap but I challenge you to find an Oxford Hotel so well positioned for much less. I'll be back soon no doubt.

Room Tip: Car Parking is quite expensive so if you can park elsewhere you'll save a bit but what the heck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review about our hotel. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed fortuned that we are so centrally located, and thank you for your generous comments about our restaurant. We have recently appointed a new Executive Chef and it's very rewarding to recieve such generous feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the hotel soon.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

For one of the best hotels in Oxford the bathroom is too small. the smallest i heve seen ever in a five star hotel. Breakfast was good and personnel attentive and welcoming. Location is very central, Common areas are well kept. Restaurant very elegant and with plenty of natural light

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pelpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. I was very pleased that you enjoyed breakfast, and that the restaurant was pleasant.

Thank you for your comment with regard to your bathroom. Being an old hotel, our bathrooms do vary in size. Some are extremely spacious whereas others are smaller in scale. The smaller bathrooms are in our entry-level rooms, the classic bedrooms, whereas the executive and above rooms are much more spacious.

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing