We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smack in Oxford centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Step out of the Randolph and you have the Ashmolean Museum right across the street, and Broad street starting 150 meters to your left. The hotel has character, is well appointed and operates with service oriented staff. The bar is EXCELLENT, all bartenders highly professional, although it perhaps tries to get a little bit too much mileage from the Inspector Morse stories (it is called the Morse Bar, which I am sure it was not in Morse's time). Afternoon tea in the drawing room was pricey, but then what is the price of perfection? On the negative side: we found the room and public spaces overheated, and plumbing can be improved (but then these are general phenomena in UK hôtels with a history going back to the 19th century). No time unfortunately to test the spa which has a good reputation.

Room Tip: Room 310 was ok, although on the cramped side. In one of the Inspector Morse mysteries a corpse is f...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be conveniently located. The world famous Ashmolean Museum is always popular with our guests. With the shops, restaurants and University quarter just minutes away, it makes our hotel a very good base for exploring Oxford.

I was very pleased that you found the bar excellent. Michael, our bar manager, and his team were very pleased to read your comments and thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you found the hotel to be rather hot - we do have thermostats on all of our radiators and use comfort cooling and air conditioning during the summer period, but I do appreciate the hotel does hold it's heat being a very solidly built old building.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,174)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Randolph Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,914 - 1,920 of 3,174 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is truly a five star experience. Traditional hotel, great service which made this a perfect weekend stay followed by shopping at Bicester village. The winter warmer offer was excellent value for money, can't wait to stay again and explore more of beautiful oxford

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I am so pleased that you had an enjoyable birthday stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Winter Warmer offer that we have here at the hotel, which you found to be good value. This promotion has proved very popular with our guests.

I am pleased you were able to visit Bicester Village Shopping Outlet - this is always popular with our guests and many say that it is the best outlet village in the country with all the top designer shops. We are fortunate in being able to offer our guests VIP invitations to the village, where extra courtesies are extended to them.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I took my 92 year old mum for a Saturday night stay and from the first minute we were very very happy here. It was definitely made perfect by all the wonderful staff. Really helpful doorman nipped out and found a disabled parking space for us and helped with the bags without a moment's hesitation. Room lovely, food fantastic, just a really homely place which made us feel welcome and at ease. Well done everyone and we would love to come back.

Room Tip: If you are elderly or disabled mention it on booking as it is a large hotel and some rooms are a lon...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you so much for your very nice comments about the hotel and the staff. I'm very pleased that you felt welcomed, and thank you for choosing to take your mother to our hotel.

I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Fantastic location for a weekend exploring Oxford. Room was very comfortable. Only criticism was a long wait for the cooked breakfast to arrive on one morning but without us saying anything they refunded the cost of the breakfast as realised the service was not to their usual standard

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and found The Randolph an excellent location for exploring Oxford. All the sites of Oxford are within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel.

I was very sorry to learn of the delay with your cooked breakfast - we do pride ourselves in cooking breakfast fresh for each and every guest, and I am sorry that on this occasion caused an inconvenience for you.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay. The room was perfect - extremely comfortable bed and lots of extras including a bottle of wine and chocolates. We even had a plate of "Happy Anniversary" mini desserts brought to our room after dinner. Delicious food and an extremely professional team We'll be back!

Room Tip: Four poster bed was very comfortable
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us for your Anniversary. I was very pleased that you were happy with your visit and thank you for your generous comments about the team at The Randolph, who will be very motivated to recieve this feedback from you.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay,everything was perfect looking forward to staying there again,the room was perfect,the little touches like turning your beds back and putting chocolates on the pillows just made it a wonderful experience,nothing was to much trouble for the staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley67502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I am very pleased you enjoyed your New Year's Eve stay. Thank you so much for your great feedback on the hotel - we are already taking booking for 2014/15, and I hope we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The staff went above and beyond for my husbands birthday.

The room was beautiful and had lots of extras. All the staff were so thoughtful and really made our stay. The breakfast was the best full English I have ever had with its award winning sausages. It's very busy and you need to book food, parking etc.

Drinks were expensive but the wine was good quality. The hotel is in the best position in oxford. If your looking for budget over quality then stay away as this hotel is perfect as it is!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaEdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us.

We look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Michael Grange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £135 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing