We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our stay there was a pure pleasure from start to end. Staff were all helpful, courteous and nothing was too much trouble. The Valet parking was an excellent service. Hotel room was lovely and clean and the "Sweet Dreams" chocolate left on the pillows was a nice touch. The star of the weekend was the concierge, he was brilliant, helpful, he knew exactly what was going on, where everything was in town. He is truly suited to the job and he does it so well!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I know the team will be delighted to learn of your comments.

We pride ourselves in offering the highest levels of service and comfort to our guests and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope we have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    837
    543
    289
    147
See reviews for
555
1,458
131
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Wanted to click on a 'Good' - it is not 'very good' but above 'average'. The meet and greet at this hotel is excellent. The concierge met us on the pavement and took our car away while another took us inside. At first glance it is quite a grand, majestic reception, bar and lounge - and we did enjoy champagne in the Morse Bar. However, on the way to our room the public corridors are quite shabby and in need of decorating. In fact, my heart started to drop as I wondered what the room would be like. However, the room was lovely and very clean. Breakfast in the grand, old dining room was very good. Location good to explore Oxford and it was easy to find, without going through the town. Get the public areas spruced and don't let the glory fade!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TessaNearLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at the hotel and. I was sorry that the mini-bar had been overlooked prior to your check in and I shall be having the necessary remedial training carried out.

The room you were staying in was one of our spacious executive rooms in our Worcester Wing at the hotel. These are a slight distance from the main body of the hotel, however do boast separate baths and showers and more space for our guests.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights whilst getting married in Oxford. We we very grateful to be upgraded on arrival to a suite room and we found our room to be spotless and very comfortable. The hotel staff were simply excellent which made us feel very special. It was a very grand experience . The room was luxurious and full of extras such as a nespresso machine, complimentary chocolates, moulton brown toiletries and lovely bathrobes to use. Room service was excellent. Prices for drinks in the Morse bar and the fridge in the room were very priced i.e 9.75 for a glass of wine. So we did not drink in the hotel and the food in the restaurant in was also very pricey. However the experience of staying in such a grand hotel made up for this. Thanks for helping to make our wedding weekend a special experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2bestmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we were able to be a part of your wedding celebrations. I know the team will be most motivated by your comments.

We regularly carry out price comparison checks to ensure our products and services are in line with other establishments and I am sorry that you found the food and beverage elements to be expensive.

Once again thank you for posting a review and wishing you all the best for your future together.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Arrived at the front door to be instantly greeted by a concierge who whisked our luggage out of the boot and valet parked the car. We were early but our room was ready and we were given an upgrade from a classic to an executive without asking. Beautiful art and crafts foyer with gothic arches and stained glass and a beautiful staircase. A longish walk to our room at 172 however it was at the back of the hotel and was unbelievably quiet for a city centre location, no traffic noise at all. Room spacious, Moulton and Brown toiletries, large bathroom with seperate shower and bath, all beautifully laid out. Extremely easy to walk out into Oxford for all the colleges, the market, the Bodleian Library, the Ashmolean, restaurants (great Thai down a little alley off High Street). When we got back our bed had been turned down and choccies on the pillows. Crisp white sheets, feather pillows and an incredibly comfortable bed. Great choice at breakfast with attentive staff. Concierges are all so delightful and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I said it's 'the little things' because all the little things add up to one wonderful experience. It was my husbands and mine Christmas present to each other and it lived up to expectation.
One little funny was the half eaten bar of Green and Blacks in the fridge when we arrived (how they could've left half I don't know!) which was removed promptly when notified. Drinks in the bar are on the pricey side but hey it's a 5* hotel so to be expected.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is very quiet but a longer walk. If you want a view then the front overlooks the A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainAsh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review. I was very pleased that you enjoyed your birthday stay and thank your for choosing our hotel.

I was pleased that you had a pleasant visit, and that you found the staff to be helpful. I am glad you enjoyed dinner, but sorry that breakfast was rather busy. Sometimes we find that all our guests want to come and have breakfast at the same time and this makes the restaurant very busy.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Beautiful building making this a beautiful hotel. Staff friendly, welcoming and go the extra mile. Excellent location in the centre of Oxford. Not the cheapest hotel for drinks etc but fantastic if you want to treat someone special, or yourself. We stayed in one of the 4 poster feature rooms and this was well worth the extra money, beautiful room and extremely comfortable. Food excellent and I would highly recommend the afternoon tea

Room Tip: Four poster feature room well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMLBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We were all very pleased at the hotel to read your review, and thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to review your stay here.

I was very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and found that location was convienent for you. We are right in the center of Oxford, opposite the museum, a few yards from the restaurants and shops, and the University Quarter.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future

Kind regards

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just a one night stay to celebrate my daughters birthday but it was a memorable experience. From the efficient and friendly valet car parking and the warm welcome at reception the experience was excellent throughout. We decided not to eat in so the concierge helpfully recommended a great local restaurant which was certainly a good place to go. Afterwards cocktails in the Morse bar were a great way to end the evening. Breakfast was also excellent and attentive service throughout. The room was warm spacious and comfortable as was my daughters single---pics all over Facebook in minutes! Well done to this hotel we will be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Ashmolean are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel here in Oxford. I am glad that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience for your daughters birthday, and I will ensure that your comments are distributed throughout the hotel, as the team enjoy recieving customer feedback.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest regards

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winteringham
Level Contributor
321 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break and have to agree that staying at the Randolph is superb, the check in and valet parking make it memorable, this isn't the cheapest place to stay in Oxford but as it was a special birthday we decided to max the credit card!
Location is as central as is possible to get with all the major sights within a few minutes walk, the Concierge offer local guides and maps to point out so you can get the maximum from your visit.
We dined in the restaurant and had a very good meal with attentive service, breakfast though was a little chaotic service wise but still enjoyable. The only downside was that our room was on the top floor which is reached by a small staircase, but is was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing