We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“a beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

we stayed at the Randolph after winning a stay in a charity auction , the hotel exceeded all expectation , the actual hotel was beautiful and elegant , our room was very comfortable and had everything we needed , nice touches like chocolate and fruit were there when we arrived , also as it was easter sunday the next day we were left crème eggs by housekeeping , we dined in the rather wonderfully grand restaurant and the food was exceptional , before eating we visited the morse bar , where we had cocktails , first class service and lovely surroundings especially if you are a morse fan. where the hotel excels is it's staff , without exception everyone was welcoming and attentive and clearly have a great pride in the hotel and love their jobs , special mentions to Hana , Liberty and Fernando in the restarant who looked after us so well , a credit to the hotel. also Dean who didn't want to be mentioned , but chatted to us about the hotel and told us some great morse stories. nice to meet a staff who are passionate about their jobs. a class act. we will hopefully return.

Room Tip: we stayed in 328 , very comfortable. a little noise from the street but nothing too bad. nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review and we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. All the team work really hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and well looked after and I am pleased we were able to welcome you to the city of Oxford.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    837
    542
    288
    146
See reviews for
554
1,458
131
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Firstly to the management of the Randolph hotel, staff training is definitely working, absolutely brilliant everyone from the house keepers (Always a smile and hello, no matter what time of day and how busy they are) to the rest of the team at the Randolph, but a special mention must go to the lovely Jade the wonderful and special receptionist, she certainly went the extra mile for myself and my partner after a not so great first night stay, but soon forgotten. (Don’t lose her Randolph, she was a credit to your hotel).

We have just come back from a wonderful 3 night easter break in Oxford, we are regulars in Oxford and the Randolph, we have had many opportunities to stay at other higher rated establishments in Oxford, but we have a wonderful relationship with the Randolph and it’s lovely staff.

Our room was 409 which was situated on the 4th floor in the roof and it has become one of our special rooms, so quiet and comfortable with stunning views of the Ashmolean museum, did get a bit chilly in the evenings and had to use the supplied portable heater as the room radiators did not get warm, but a part from that we had a wonderful time yet again and cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: Any problems just speak to the Hotel Staff, they are more than happy to help where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We are always so pleased to receive feedback from our guests but especially regular patrons of the hotel. I know the team will be delighted to learn of your comments. Jade unfortunately has left the hotel to be closer to her home of High Wycombe and we greatly miss her on our reception desk but wish her every success for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our overnight stay was to attend a wedding. The wedding itself went well. The stay however was an average experience with some negative aspects to it. The room itself was a decent size and had everything in it that we needed however we booed a double room and was given a twin. The experince was further let down by the standards at breakfast. It was a menu process where we had to order our cooked food from, rather than a self service process where you could have a choice of a varied selection. In addition it was clear that there was an issue with our order as we waited for over 45 minutes before we had to ask someone to check our order. It was apparent that the order had not been placed and the people we spoke to did not apologise for this error. Just prior to our breakfast arriving the waitress asked if we would like more coffee and continued to top up both our cups with coffee however, I was not drinking coffee and she had pourd coffee into my tea.
Overall the stay was in no comparison to my stay in a Hilton hotel a week earlier, which was a far better standard all round. Hats off to the Hilton with this hotel coming some way behind.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy certain aspects of your stay. I shall be discussing your breakfast experience with my Restaurant Manager. This is not the normal feedback we receive. Our standard through the group is to offer a cooked to order English breakfast and I am sorry this was not your preferred option.

Please be assured that your comments will be taken on board and I do hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future should your travel plans bring you back to the city of Oxford.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife booked the family here for one night, for my 50th Birthday. We had stayed before some years earlier.
Wow what an experience, excellent position in Oxford, right near the town centre. The hotel is very large but sizeable rooms which are very well appointed.
The meals were excellent and the staff charming, who could not do enough for you.

Excellent, but try to book your car in to the garage next door, because it is very difficult to park in Oxford for long periods.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank startpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and once again Happy Anniversary. I was pleased we could be a part of your celebrations. The hotel is located right in the heart of the city and all transaction are within walking distance of the hotel.

The city centre is very limited for parking and we ourselves only have limited space. Overnight valet parking is charged at £28.50 per night at the hotel and pre booking is essential. The council run a very user friendly park and ride system which allow guests to leave their cars and not navigate through the heavily congested city.

I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visiting Oxford I couldn't think of a better location. The Oxford Playhouse just doors away, the wonderful museum across the road and an easy stroll to every other attraction. The hotel has been beautifully renovated, but is still extremely elegant and stylish. The service is exceptional and the dining room is to die for. I particularly liked being able to pre-book car parking and have my car taken from me at the front door a quietly whisked away with no fuss. All meals were excellent and beautifully presented. My wife and can't wait to visit again next August.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet, so it doesn't matter which one you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review and I was pleased to learn your enjoyed your stay with us. We do offer valet parking at the hotel costing £28.50 per night. Our restaurant boasts a beautiful view of the Martyr’s Memorial and Ashmolean Museum and is the perfect venue for an intimate dinner or celebrating with colleagues. Our Head Chef Simon Bradley has created a fabulous menu and we are striving for our 3rd AA Rosette currently.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night in February. The hotel is a beautiful traditional generally in good order. The position is fantastic, we had a beautiful room opposite the museum, lovely view.

Te bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp and clean. There was a nespresso coffee machine in the room and ample tea making items .

There is very limited parking at the hotel and expensive. We opted to go to the park and ride. The bus dropped right opposite the hotel. Very easy to use and we would use again .

The hotel bar prices are a little high, more tan the average hotel.

Breakfast buffet lovely with lots of choice, hot food made to order .

All in all we would re visit for a special occasion .

Room Tip: View of the museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan1warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your stay with us. I was pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Oxford. We are indeed right opposite The Ashmolean Museum and in walking distance of most of the city attractions and colleges.

Parking is very limited in the city and we charge £28.50 per night for valet parking. Oxford does have a very good park and ride facility located on the ring road and allows visitors to avoid the heavily congested city centre.

Please be assured that we regularly carry out competitor pricing reviews to ensure our prices are in line with similar establishments.

I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future where you can be assured of a very warm welcome.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for one night last weekend as we were attending a dinner in my husband's old college. There was a large wedding party in the hotel at the same time (we didn't notice any extra noise, just lots of people in wedding finery in the reception) so I imagine rooms were at a premium and we had been allocated a room which must also be for guests who use wheelchairs (the handbasin was lower than normal, there was a no bath but a wet-room type of shower, which was very good - the bathroom was obviously big enough to manoeuvre in a wheelchair). The staff were very helpful, and friendly but not obsequious - our dog being a magnet for treats, compliments and attention - I know it's an easy way to a dog-owner's heart but this felt genuine.

We have stayed a few times at the Randolph over the years and it does indeed feel like a grand old lady of a hotel, not super-fashionable, but a true landmark. The concierge, porters and reception staff are fantastic (we didn't meet any other staff as we ate elsewhere). It might be nice if at some point the colour schemes were lightened up - but not at a cost of smaller rooms, which seems to happen when a hotel is refurbished! It is as much for the scale of our bedroom and bathroom that I rated our room as very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DH2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review and I was delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do accept dogs at the hotel but not in our food and beverage areas due to health and safety reasons. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the bedroom. This is one of our accessible rooms which boast a wet room style bathroom and lower level units.

I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing