We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morse Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Morse Bar”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Chris is a SUPER cocktail maker! Great atmosphere in the MORSE BAR. We will certainly go back there! We did not stay in the Hotel, but we just went in for a cocktail. Since we are detective- addicts, we went to a lot of Pubs and Bars where Morse en Lewis and later Lewis and Hathaway are going for a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraJohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you your kind review. Chris in our Morse Bar is indeed a great cocktail maker. He will be delighted by your comments. The Morse Bar is a great location for a drink and often Colin Dexter the writer of Morse can be seen having a drink during the week.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    844
    549
    291
    148
See reviews for
562
1,467
133
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I am a trave agent in Uruguay and need help from the reservations department at this beautiful hotel. Mrs. Michelle Mayes listen to my predicament, and found a solution with no hesitation. I will reccomend staying here, specially because of the very good staff.
Amilcar Viñas - Montevideo Uruguay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amilcar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review and I was glad Michelle was able to assist. She is indeed a true asset at the hotel and I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed to celebrate a birthday and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The person who took my booking passed on that it was a special occasion and when we arrived we were upgraded a great suite (306) and there was a bottle of champagne and a bowl of fruit in the room as well, all complimentary.

Service was great from check in to check out, the little extras in the room such as a nespresso machine, moulton brown toiletries, etc are a nice touch. The views from the upper floors are amazing and the turndown service really added to the experience as well.

Breakfast the next day was delicious, although there was a bit of a wait. We went down at 9am on a Saturday which is obviously a very busy time and everything is cooked to order so quite understandable - the staff did a great job looking after us nonetheless.

Overall a great experience and I would definitely stay again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Room 306 - very large spacious suite with great views over st. Giles and Beaumont street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_North85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you posting a review. I was pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a perfect destination for a special occasion and I was glad that the team were able to recognize this. All our executive rooms and above offer a nespresso machine in the room and our classic rooms have cafetiere coffee.

We do get busy on a weekend during breakfast service and as you point out, our cooked breakfasts are made to order. We endeavour to offer a speedy breakfast service and I am sorry there was a delay.

I know the team will be most motivated by your comments. I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed once over the past several months and my son twice , simply because there is such a shortage of hotels in oxford , basically pretty shabby , overpriced , with a marvelous touch of arrogance ..... Just note £3 is added to each bill which most guests don't notice ..... Ah yes they tell you on enquiring " this is because you paid by credit card" .......what on earth do they expect me to carry !!? , they add £ 3 to a bill of £1000 plus to cover credit card .... now how devious is that , tell them what you think and it is rapidly removed, but really , how awful to sneaky treatment and will avoid simply because they tried it on .... Twice !

Room Tip: Suggest an alternative hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that you were not aware of our credit administration fee of £3.00. This is applied to guest accounts if settled with a credit card. We clearly state this on all our booking channels and confirmation details. Use of debit cards or cash does not levy this charge. This is throughout Macdonald Hotels. I shall be passing your feedback to our Head Office. I am sorry that you found the hotel to be shabby and overpriced. We offer all our rooms with every confidence guests will be comfortable and regularly carry out refurbishment work at the hotel.

I do hope that despite the shortcomings we may have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My partner and I treated ourselves to lunch at the (Macdonald) Randolph on 31 May 2014. We arrived early and had a delicious non-alcoholic cocktail in the Morse Bar, followed by an excellently presented and prepared three course lunch in the atmospheric restaurant. It was excellently located for a visit to the Ashmolean Museum, opposite. I'd chosen The Randolph for lunch given the recently poor reviews on TripAdvisor for the rooftop restaurant at the Ashmolean. We were certainly not disappointed by the Randolph, although at £91 for the two of us for lunch, including the cocktails, it's not something that most people could do every week.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for kind comments following your lunch with us at the hotel. We do offer formal dining in our restaurant for lunch at the weekend with views of The Ashmolean Museum and Martyr’s Memorial. We are currently striving for our third AA Rosette. I know the team will be delighted by your comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Randolph last week. What a disappointment! We arrived in a deluge and were informed of an upgrade. So far so good. However there was no heat in the room. When we informed Reception we were told to avail of a heater as the heat was turned off !!!! We were wet and cold and seeking sustenance. The lunch room had so availability so we had to resort to room service (a 40 minute wait). I was travelling with an elderly aunt. It was my treat to her. Never again.

I would expect while staying at a 5 star hotel to be able to regulate the heat. To provide none in May is an absolute disgrace.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 736Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that the weather was not good and that you were cold during your stay. Due to the age and nature of the building it can be difficult to regulate the heat. We have switched into our summer mode but there was a significant temperature drop. We offer portable heaters in all bedrooms and comfort cooling in the summer. I will be discussing your comments with the team and I am sorry for your discomfort. We are about to start significant improvement works on our heating infrastructure to assist with better temperature regulation. The lounge is very popular but we endeavour to seat resident guests and I am sorry that we could not during your stay.

I do hope that despite your comments we may be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel was ok, that is it. Pretty standard decor, pretty standard breakfast food (although service was poor and my poached egg was rock solid, I asked for a new one but that never came despite asking three people) and pretty standard everything else to be honest, for a hotel that aims to be the best in Oxford it's not good enough. An example is that that the mirrors in the bathroom aren't heated to avoid misting - a small point I know but you expect more from a hotel so grand. All in all, Ok, not great and not worth the price, I will try the Malmaison next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikesamonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your email. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will be discussing your comments at our weekly team meeting. We strive to offer the highest levels of comfort, cuisine and service and I am sorry that you did not live up to this ideal.

We are a traditional property right in the heart of the city and hold an AA 5 star rating. We are assessed on an annual basis.

I do hope that we may be of service to your again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
671 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing