We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Came for dinner after hearing lots of positive comments from friends. Visited originally just over a year ago and left deflated but what a change. Great food, beautifully presented but what an amazing change in the ambience and quality of service. Greeted by Andrew, the manager and he set the tone for the evening. He has clearly got his team trained and motivated and i am sure the positive vibes will translate to accolades and awards in no time at all. Well done Andrew and his team

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your dinner with us here at the hotel. Andrew and the team will be most motivated by your comments. With both Andrew our Restaurant Manager and Simon Bradley our Executive Head Chef in place, the food and service has indeed excelled.

The restaurant does get busy and advanced reservation can be made on our website or direct with the hotel. We offer a wide range of dishes on our set menu at £44.95 as well as various a la carte options.

I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    844
    549
    292
    150
See reviews for
562
1,469
133
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Met a great bartender in the Morse Bar early May 2014. Chris was so helpful and pleasant when we were on an Insight Tour for 22 days visiting the UK. Even showed us how to correctly use our ipads. We visited many tourist places and Chris was a standout.

Laurene (Australia)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 814Lauren63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Chris is indeed a real asset at the hotel and is very popular with our guests. Here at the hotel our internet access is complimentary and powered by ‘The Cloud’. Staff are on hand to assist guests should they require assistance in accessing this.

I do hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was built in the 1850's and is a typical English hotel. I was booked in as a single and got the 'monk's cell' for a room. There was barely room for me and my luggage and the room contained a single bed lined up against the wall. The bathroom was small and the tubs in England are narrow and tall. Figuring out how to work the shower and not getting the whole bathroom flooded with water is a challenge. The windows can be opened, but need to be propped open with something, otherwise they close. The double room they finally moved me to did seem to have A/C, but I wouldn't count on all the rooms having it. It didn't seem like the single room had A/C. While the hotel is well located across from the University, the staff are pleasant and try to accommodate you, it is not a five star hotel. For the price, I was very disappointed and would not stay there again.

Breakfast was OK, but nothing to write home about. The Morse Bar is lovely, but gets very crowded and then you cannot get a seat. The drinks are overpriced.

Room Tip: Book a double room and ask for one of the rooms looking over the college - Room ending in 2 or 3 suc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelprincess63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the hotel. We offer various types of rooms at various tariff structures. We offer all our rooms that guests will be comfortable and I am sorry that the single option was too small and had maintenance issues that needed attending to.

Here at the hotel we offer comfort cooling in all guests’ bedrooms. These units are normally very reliable and help to keep the bedrooms cool.

The Morse Bar is very popular with our guests and does get busy. We do offer a lounge also in the evening for drinks and have an extensive list available in both outlets. We regularly carry out competitor pricing reviews to ensure we are in line with other establishments and I am sorry you found the drinks to be expensive. The Morse Bar is a doubles bar but single measures are of course available on request.

I do hope that we might have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future where you can be assured of a very warm welcome.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the macdonald randolph hotel.
I briefly mentioned in an email booking that we were staying for a birthday and there were a lovely box of chocolates and a note from the manager to kick off our celebration.
Room was lovely and clean. Very comfy beds.
Location is brilliant. The morse cocktail bar has two brilliant staff members - one Jose and they do make fabulous cocktails. Huge choice!
Only downside is probably the £30 for parking which feels a little pricey.
Also used the spa facilities as I booked my boyfriend in for a massage. We then used the saunas etc which were lovely but £15 each even if you have had treatments.
The concierge service booked us into a great Thai restaurant - Chang Mai which was lovely.
Overall a lovely stay thank you!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review following your stay for a birthday. Oxford is a great city to visit for a short break and we are right in the heart of the city opposite the famous Ashmolean Museum. Parking however is very limited. We charge £28.50 for valet parking and can assist with parking permits for the council car park when we are full which charges £30.00 for 24 hours. The best option is to use the many park and ride facilities and avoid the heavily congested city centre.

I do hope that we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a treat. My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights and really were pleased with the central location, breakfast buffet and hot cooked breakfast, afternoon teas and the excellent concierge service. Neil Cowen, head concierge, is knowledgeable about the city, tours, and the array of restaurants the city has to offer. Everything is first rate--clean, professional, and welcoming. The small gym satisfied my husband's need for a daily workout and the pub and tea rooms added wonderful atmosphere.

We'd stay there again on future trips.

Room Tip: Room that doesn't face either street are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. The hotel team will be delighted by your comments. We do have a very knowledgeable concierge at the hotel on hand to arrange items for our guests. The Randolph boasts a beautiful lounge for afternoon tea (pre-booking essential) and houses a collection of Osbert Lancaster paintings.
The spa at the hotel was built in the old cellar and has a mini-gym as well as thermal suite and fully trained therapists who offer a range of Elemis and Jessica treatments.

I do hope that we can be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here in June 2014 and were very disappointed. In general, the reception staff were very rude and unhelpful. Every time we asked a lady at the reception a question she pulled a dissatisfied faced and pointed at the concierge saying: "There". Concierge, however, was very friendly and helpful and so were the bar staff.

The room was ok, however we had the worst sleep ever. The floor boards in that hotel creak something shocking. We could constantly hear people above us walking and it kept us awake for hours...the boards were making extremely loud squeaking sound. It was impossible to walk around quietly, no matter how hard one would try. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was very poor, as well. Not enough fresh fruit and they only served one poached egg per person...which was ridiculous for the price of the breakfast and frankly not enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was very perturbed to learn that you found the reception staff to be rude. This is not the normal feedback I receive and I shall be discussing your comments with the team and thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Please be assured that all your comments will be discussed to ensure that we are offering the highest levels of guest care and comfort here at the Randolph Hotel.

I do hope that we might have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our stay was for our 15th wedding anniversary so we wanted to do something a little special and booked this hotel. Our first contact was the concierge who were so friendly and helpful it was unbelievable. On such a busy road it was a little disconcerting about where we parked etc. but they just took the problem right away and assisted us impeccably and took our bags for us. The reception staff were fabulous. So helpful friendly and welcoming. The room was exquisite and so very very comfortable and clean. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The room was very well equipped and we were most delighted at having a tea pot as we hate cups of tea with a tea bag in! It was like home from home. When it was discovered the kettle was not working, a replacement was brought to us within minutes. Excellent service, excellent location, the only thing that could have been improved is that I wish our stay had been a little longer! Time seemed to fly by too quickly. An exquisite and most memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for kind review and I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over your 15th Wedding Anniversary. The staff will be pleased by your comments. I am sorry the kettle was not working but however delighted that a replacement was bought at once.

Wishing you a happy anniversary and do hope we can of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Grange
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Property: Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
#13 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing