We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawkwell House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$263
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
US$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$401
US$373
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$127
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$100
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveller rating
360
420
192
92
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
420
192
92
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsiffley lockblue restaurantprince of walesmemory foamhoneymoon suiteiffley villagenumber bussky tveggs benedictcity centrelovely hoteltow pathfull englishquiet locationlovely weekendbooked this hotelvisiting oxford
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
741 - 746 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We had a mixed stay!
Good points - receptionist very nice, room lovely & big - we had a family room in elm house, bathroom lovely, tea, coffee etc & bottles of mineral water a great touch. Breakfast ok
Bad points - the walls in elm house are very thin & we were kept awake past 1.30am with people next door talking. & we were woken by the fire alarm which must be ultra sensitive as it was set off by someone on our floor using hairspray!

Our daughter liked that she had a separate bit of the room for her bed. The toiletries were good. I can't decide about the mattress though! Worth a visit but not sure we would come again

Room Tip: We liked elm house which was separate from the main building but walls very thin
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I've Stayed Here OverA Dozen Times Now And Always Happy To Return,Always Clean, Staff Friendly, Free Wifi And Plenty Of Parking. Nice Location Out Of The City Centre And Quite A But Of Variety About The Rooms... Some Improvement Work Going On During ThIs Stay ButApart From The Bar Being Moved I Wouldn't Even Have Noticed. Only Slight Issue Was Interrupted Signal On TV During Stay But That's Like Complaining The Cindy Crawford's Got A Mole.... Thank You Hawkwell House, A Pleasant stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Essex1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed at Hawkwell House Hotel for 2 nights mid week in March 2013. The hotel is on the edge of a village but less than 5 mins from Oxford centre by local bus and car. The bus is the sensible way to get into Oxford. Good parking on site but stretched when conferences are taking place.
The hotel is currently undergoing massive reconstruction which did have an effect on our stay and it would be good to go back in 3-4 months when work is hopefully complete.
The location is really good, not out in the sticks so more of a city centre type break. The staff were all very helpful.
The bedrooms we had were at the rear of the hotel on the first floor and had a view of the back garden and Elm House. These rooms have been refurbished and were very comfortable. Tea and coffee making in the room. Bathroom modern with shower over bath. Beds had memory foam mattress, very comfortable.
The main restaurant was the major area of construction so this was moved to a very nice room at the front with a conservatory. Evening meals were very good with a reasonable choice and considering the kitchens were some way from this temporary restaurant the staff were brilliant in serving high quality hot food.
The hotel was generally very cold inside, ie entrance, corridors, seating areas, due mainly due to the construction work. Bedrooms were great temperature but 7.30am start by workmen under our room was little early for us.
There is a very limited amount of lounge seating whilst construction is under way .
This was made worse by having a number of business meetings which when they had break out groups there was no where to sit.
Bar area with TV showing sports programmes needs some work. Sofas in particular very low.
My rating of very good is based upon what I expect the hotel to be like when construction is complete using what we experienced as a guide.
I think this will be a great place to stop from later in the year..

Room Tip: Rooms on first or second floor facing rear of the hotel are probably some of the best. Others tend to overlook hotel car parks and houses
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen_royle845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night visiting oxford. The staff are all very friendly and can't be faulted. The location is good and there's plenty of parking. Our bedroom was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern and looked after, a large bottle of water and selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate provided in room. This was however about it. The wifi, is incredibly slow and frustrating. When we got to our room, our view was of a huge set of building materials stacked up, 30 cm away from us due to building work, shame! The bar is tiny with three tables and is a squeeze. The general decorative state of the hotel is below what I expected - touch ups all around that stand out, poor workmanship, builders tape left stuck to things, plastering left unpainted etc, see photos I've uploaded. I was excited for the "afternoon tea", but was massively let down, for £17 (one cream tea, one afternoon tea). There were two school dinner tasting mass produced brownies, 5 scones, no muffins as described, a foul set of dry old sandwiches which must have been left overs as they were almost hard round the edges, only one pot of tea, even though I ordered two, and cheese tasting clotted cream as if gone over. It was highly unpleasant, missed off quite a bit, and added things that weren't listed, so really wasn't as described and isn't "afternoon tea", more bar food left overs I'm sorry to say. It is a shame the staff were all so friendly and helpful because this all let them down. Breakfast however, was nice!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Twiglet2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkwell-Manager, Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you for your comments, we value all feedback from our guests whether it be good or bad.
We are currently improving the facilities at Hawkwell, and we are trying to keep
disruption to a minimum, the pile of building materials that was visible from that bedroom and will be gone shortly. We are also investing more in day to day maintenance but take on board the guests comments.
With regard to the cream teas, we obviously did not supply our normal standard, we would be like to ask you back to experience what it should have been like. Please contact the hotel directly to arrange this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Newly refurbed rooms, clean, quiet, nice staff. Good location. Only a poorly-handled mixup over taxis spoilt the picture. Excellent alternative to staying in the centre of town - but then you do need that cab!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TangoEcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews