We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quaint hotel with a great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A quaint hotel with a great restaurant”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed at this hotel on business as I could not get into my usual one, and I will be staying here from now on. It is a beautiful hotel which has be tasteful decorated and has a great restaurant in the hotel which serves great food. The room in the main building had been updated with a modern twist which really worked. The bed was comfortable and really enjoyed the small touches in the bathroom, such as the bio degradable packaging of the shampoo and shower gel.

Room Tip: If you like the look of a modern room stay in the main building where the restaurant is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    388
    176
    77
    35
See reviews for
180
445
34
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed following a wedding nearby. Despite another wedding taking place at the hotel that night, we heard no noise and had a lovely dual aspect room, very spacious and nicely furnished. Bed had memory foam mattress and was very comfy and the room was very spacious! Breakfast was lovely and staff were very flexible if you wanted to change things on their cooked breakfast (despite them showing set items for each one on the menu - hot food isn't a help yourself buffet). I'd stay here again if I needed to be in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and most professional. They couldn't do enough to help. This was true of the breakfast staff, the receptionists, the bedroom staff and restaurant staff. Thank you for helping to make an 'older' persons birthday even better!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZLAT L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed for two nights celebrating my wife Glenys birthday in February 2013. The weather was freeezing but the welcome and service we received here was very warm. From the start we were made to feel welcome although it was a bit of a shock when we found that we were in the annexe building. Having said that the accommodation was excellent and it was only a short walk to the main part of the hotel which contained the restaurant. Food here was excellent, as good as many non hotel resaurants we have eaten in. The bar also had a choice of two local bottled beers which was a pleasant surprise. Oxford is lovely but a nightmare to drive in. The local bus service was cheap and regular making this hotel worth stopping at. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninetyseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed at the Hawkwell for a friend's wedding on the 6th April.

Despite usual check-in being at 2.00pm the receptionist let us have our room at midday, which was great. We were put in Elms House, a smaller house behind the hotel, which was a bit annoying, as we'd booked well in advance. However, the room at Elms House (401) was a good size and had an interesting split-level arrangement. The room is on the ground floor next to the front door, but we heard no noise, so all was fine.

In the day I ordered a sandwich and some drinks for lunch. The barman wasn't exactly rude, but he hardly went out of his way to be friendly and polite either. This was replicated by nearly all the bar staff later that evening. (I should point out that all the reception staff were, without exception, friendly, efficient and polite).

The drinks at the bar were quite expensive. However, for such a small bar, there was an excellent range of drinks.

The food enjoyed at the wedding reception was delicious. There was a great soup to start and a brilliantly-cooked roast beef. This was especially impressive given the numbers that were being catered for.

In the morning breakfast was a buffet-style and taken in the same room we'd had the wedding reception. I can understand the motivation for this, although I don't think I would've chosen to eat there in the morning. The quality and range of food at breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: I'd request to not have the Elms House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for our tenth wedding anniversary. We booked the suite which was a beautiful room, very pleased with it. Clean and warm when weather was chilly.

The only issue was the delay in getting our food on two occasions in the hotel restaurant. The food bill was deducted by the manager.

Overall, lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Book the suite, not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaG747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and the quality of the room and surroundings was reasonable, despite the hotel renovations that were being carried out during my stay. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially so in the restaurant when I had to send my dinner back to the kitchen. The menu is quite limited and fairly pricey too. Had it not been so cold I would have eaten elsewhere on the second night so had to choose something from the bar menu instead, which wasn't too good either. The gentleman at the next table sent back his chicken dish too, whilst I was sat in the restaurant.
The best aspect of my stay was the room itself; good size with a sofa etc. I don't understand that as a guest I can be trusted with a flat screen TV, Ipod dock, kettle etc but they feel the need to nail down the (fairly pathetic) hairdrier in a drawer with just a short amount of cable....
Also, the shower in my room was painful.... every 15 to 20 seconds I was blasted with scalding blast of super-heated water which was rather painful indeed..... would I choose to stay here again? probably not... I have stayed at much nicer and quite frankly cheaper hotels in the Oxford area.

Room Tip: pot luck until renovations are complete... I would ask for a quiet one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,082 reviews
4.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#14 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two magnificent manor houses dating back to the 19th century, Hawkwell blends tranquillity with contemporary elegance, making it the perfect venue for leisure, business, events & weddings. With availability for exclusive use and utter privacy for up to 150 guests, Hawkwell House and its grounds offers one of Oxford’s most picture perfect settings. Located in the quaint village of Iffley - just 2 miles from the historic city of Oxford and just a stone’s throw from the river Thames – here is where you will be met with the splendour of this setting. Situated in 3 acres of private gardens and steeped in history with seamlessly blending character with contemporary design, the hotel’s 77 bedrooms have been carefully designed to make you feel relaxed, comfortable and surrounded in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing