We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel just outside Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Fantastic hotel all in all. Very reasonable price, a very clean room with everything we needed and a delicious breakfast in the morning (a la carte rather than buffet). Bed was incredibly comfortable especially the pillows!

Short journey into Oxford from the hotel - cab to Oxford ranged from 5 - 10 pounds each way. We didn't bother with the bus as we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
There are newer reviews for Hawkwell House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

As a group of friends meeting for a weekends annual reunion we blockbooked 8 rooms, 5 double, 1 twin and three for single occupation. All rooms were rated as spotlessly clean and comfortable. One couple could not turn down the heating, but no one else had problems. I , too, had one of the ground floor extension rooms, 112, but it was huge, very well lit from the skylight and I was not disturbed by noise. It was slightly disappointing initially not to have a view but I knew I would not be spending much time there.

We all found the food excellent, both the a la carte and the prebooked private meal on Saturday. The breakfast bacon received especial praise, however I thought the kedgeree a little dry and could have had more fish in it.

The staff were welcoming and helpful and the waiting staff on Saturday coped well with the late arrival of two guests, serving their first two courses promptly while we lingered before all being served dessert at the same time. We were not given any hint that we were delaying things. We also asked for a DVD player while in the dining room which was set up for us with no hassle.

If we return to Oxford in the future we would certainly come to the Hawkwell again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I was recently planning our wedding in Oxford with 80+ due to stay at the Hawkwell House Hotel in Iffley. As a local resident and large client of the hotel through my former employer, and following the wedding of a friend at the hotel, I had positive expectations that the experience I would have planning the occasion would be smooth and enjoyable.

It turned out to be the worst event management - hotel booking experiences I have ever encountered. Having confirmed a booking for a certain number of rooms, of which the vast majority were booked and confirmed with credit card details directly by guests well in advance of the event, we proceeded to experience the following:

- HH confirmed after we had already made the block booking that my partner and I couldn't have the honeymoon suite due to a wedding that had booked 6 rooms. Then several weeks later, after we had booked another suite elsewhere, HH said we could have the special room (only due to said 6-room wedding cancellation)
- more than 8 guests complained to me as they had confirmed a room by phone and / or by email, this was then not actually confirmed, or they were contacted 1-2 times more to ask if they were confirmed. Several guests also had to recontact the hotel again themselves (often from overseas, paying for calls) to re-book their rooms several times
- HH did not provide an update on new bookings or cancellations to our block booking
- the HH corporate manager handling our booking seemed to have his 'out of office' email response on most of the time without an alternative email to contact
- when I had pre-arranged to visit some of the hotel rooms (ideally as many as possible, on the least busy day, and given 40+ room bookings), I arrived at the hotel to see 6 rooms, 3 of which weren't even under our booking
- HH removed some of the best rooms from our booking without discussion or notice
- HH Corporate Manager ignored my suggested rooming plan (to accommodate friends and family in the best rooms and close by to one another)
- when I expressed dismay at poor communications, the Corporate Manager proceeded to tell me to 'relax' despite the hotel's seeming indifference the day before my wedding and given he was also out of the office the day guests were arriving.

We were given our wedding night room as a complimentary gesture for the experience (single night). This was in no way compensation for the distress and poor service experienced from some of the HH team.

Conclusion: do not book your wedding, or large events at this hotel, especially if you are looking for a personal, competent and friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FreeSpirit78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHH1865, Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I would just like to clarify that this was a group bedroom booking, the wedding was held elsewhere, not at Hawkwell House. We are sorry that all your requests were not met, as discussed prior to arrival, we did have other guest requests to consider. We did our utmost to meet the guests needs and received positive feedback from them on departure and are therefore disappointed at your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed in one of those ground floor rooms in the extension on the hillside. The room was underneath the stairs and we could hear every step... For some reason we only had one set of toiletries in the bathroom and one bottle of water. The modern feel (in the hotel description) probably referred to the storage rails in the room instead of a wardrobe (see photo) and the lack of pictures on the walls. Check out on Sunday took a long time, as obviously almost everyone was doing it at 11, with only one person at the reception... Glad we only stayed for one night.
However, the property definitely has potential. A very nice, spacious and comfortable lobby area, delicious breakfast, good food and service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnl_sz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our party of four stayed here during the Oxford Literary Festival. Our rooms (in the main building) were spacious and well appointed though the bathroom floor would benefit from a non-slip surface. Breakfast was good, though the tables are mostly too small to seat four people together. We had dinner on one evening which was very good. No prices are quoted on their website because the price for each night varies according to the degree of occupation of rooms. The hotel is situated on the edge of the village of Iffley in pleasant grounds and is handy for local buses into Oxford. The hotels seems to be popular with Americans. We would certainly stay here again provided that the room price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iffley094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very disappointed with room 113. The hotel has been extended back into the hillside and these "ground floor" rooms are really underground. No window, a big skylight which is overlooked by the upper floors.

Furnishings, comfort and cleanliness good, breakfast ok (a bit slow).

A real shame that they did not warn us about the room - which really should not be offered as "superior".

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHH1865, Owner at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that you did not like the location of your bedroom but happy you found the furnishings, comfort and cleanliness good. The stairwell outside the bedroom window has been cleared and is due to be painted soon, we have plans to lay atsroturf and landscape this whole area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Called into the hotel for morning coffee with my family after visit to local cemetery to pay our respects. We have used this hotel many times over the years for just this purpose. I ordered coffee for three and asked if we could have some biscuits or cake to go with our drinks. "No we don't do biscuits or cake at this time of day". This is a hotel for goodness sake, don't they have biscuits for the rooms! I thought the waitress must have made a mistake so asked at reception, who confirmed they don't normally serve biscuits or cake at this time ( about 11am ). The receptionist did then ring through to the kitchen and said the chef would try and sort something out. We then had 8 small biscuits and 4 pastries delivered for the four of us which cost me £12.50 .......coffee was another £ 10 something. As I said before we have used this place regularly before, will not do so again. What happened to good service.?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry2883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHH1865, Manager at Hawkwell House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We are appreciative of feedback, and as a consequence of this review, will be reviewing our offering during the day, we do want people to drop in for coffee, and we are sorry that this wasn’t how we were perceived. We would like to ask you back once we have done this. Aside from that, we are proud of our helpful and friendly service, and it would appear that we did not deliver in this instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.0 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,810 reviews
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £83 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two magnificent manor houses dating back to the 19th century, Hawkwell blends tranquillity with contemporary elegance, making it the perfect venue for leisure, business, events & weddings. With availability for exclusive use and utter privacy for up to 150 guests, Hawkwell House and its grounds offers one of Oxford’s most picture perfect settings. Located in the quaint village of Iffley - just 2 miles from the historic city of Oxford and just a stone’s throw from the river Thames – here is where you will be met with the splendour of this setting. Situated in 3 acres of private gardens and steeped in history with seamlessly blending character with contemporary design, the hotel’s 77 bedrooms have been carefully designed to make you feel relaxed, comfortable and surrounded in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing