We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawkwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for a short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We just stayed overnight here whilst visiting the area. It is in a very pretty village with a nice walk down to Iffley Lock and then along the Thames. The hotel staff were efficient, courteous and helpful, and the room was of a good standard, although with no view (not an issue as we only used the room one night) and velux windows which took some effort to open and reduce the excessive room temperature on arrival. The cooked breakfast was served to us at table, a nice change from buffet options and we also had the evening meal in the Iffley Blue Restaurant, where the soup was average but the Sea Bream on specials sheet was excellent.
Easy access from hotel to Oxford and surrounding attractions, and free and plentiful car parking when we visited.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenCopestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    372
    161
    71
    32
See reviews for
162
423
31
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is my second review here. Stay often and have no major complaints. Last stay was in April 2014. Breakfast quality and service dropped a notch. Not sure if it was just a one off bad day.

A gym will really help.

Room Tip: Avoid the out house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank convie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We got married in Hawkwell House 2 weeks ago and from the moment we booked 2 years ago to the final minute we left, the whole experience was flawless! Gary the wedding co-ordinator helped us every step of the way and no matter how big or small our request it was always met with a smile and reassuring comment!
We visited the hotel several times before the wedding and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The food during our tasting was wonderful and even on the day when catering for 70 guests (and 200 evening guests) with different orders; the food was still well presented and tasted as if only one dish had been created.
Although some small mistakes were made with room bookings, these were quickly corrected on the day and all the rooms were clean, spacious and guaranteed a good night’s sleep. The honeymoon suite was the perfect way to end a very busy day and we stayed an extra night to enjoy the in room hot-tub for a bit longer! We received nothing but positive comments about every element of their stay from our guests.
For value for money, in the centre of Oxford, we could not have asked for more from Hawkwell House. We would recommend this hotel for anyone planning a wedding (or just wanting a break) in a picturesque location, with friendly staff, wonderful food and a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We were a party of 50 spanning four generations and Hawkwell House was a great venue for our get together. Everyone commented on the high standard of the rooms and the food. The staff were extremely helpful both when we were there and during the planning stages. There was some confusion over pricing but that was swiftly sorted out. This is a really lovely hotel in an excellent position. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hillerymillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent a lovely weekend in this hotel recently. Very pleasant rooms/surroundings. The occasion was a family reunion and on the Saturday evening we had been due to dine in a local pub. However, when they let us down the hotel very kindly accommodated 20 of us for an evening meal, in a private room, which was great. The room opened out onto the garden which was perfect for the children. The food was lovely and the service great. Good hearty breakfasts too for those interested. Iffley is perfectly situated if you fancy a walk along the river into Oxford.
No complaints at all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked for location as we had some business and social outings to attend. We were placed in Elm House which is a large house at the rear of the property, up a hill and not for the infirm. This annex is not mentioned anywhere in their advertising so we were surprised to be sent up the hill. Avoid room 406 unless you like a basement room with low ceilings, dark and with a view of a brick wall. It was classed as a standard room. The breakfasts and bar meals are good. The gardens pleasant. A wedding was taking place and they were grossly understaffed in the customer bar area on the night.

Room Tip: Avoid 406 in Elm House. if you book online check to ensure you are not given this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelrus56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We chose this hotel in Iffley because we liked the idea of being able to stroll along the tow path into Oxford and not contend with trying to find public parking. Hawkwell House Hotel is in a very pleasant and picturesque village and we found it to be most comfortable for a few nights stay.

The staff seemed attentive and the rooms were well maintained. The restaurant servers were gracious and the food choices on the menu were adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamachompkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.7 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing