We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room, but comfortable and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small room, but comfortable and excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Hawkwell House Hotel on the Saturday night of a week-end in Oxford recently.
This is a large and attractive hotel spreading over quite a large site in the village of Iffley on the outskirts of Oxford. It is quiet and peaceful and within a few minutes walk of the Thames towpath at Iffley Lock, despite also being only a couple of minutes drive from the Oxford by-pass. It is an easy bus ride into town, so that you don’t need to brave Oxford’s parking restrictions or its fiendish one-way system. Our room was in an annexe to the main part of the hotel and although comfortable and clean was a bit cramped. The double bed was distinctly on the small side, and the wi-fi reception was very poor (although much better in the hallway outside the room!). Breakfast was very good, and the service efficient and friendly.
I suspect that many of the other rooms are more spacious, so it would be worth inquiring specifically about the type and size of room available at the time of booking, particularly at week-ends as the hotel seems to be a popular wedding reception venue. In all other respects this was a pleasant stay, and the location of the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: The hotel has 2 annexes and rooms in the main building may be more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    374
    164
    71
    32
See reviews for
164
427
31
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hadn't been for 20 years, so it's changed a bit...for the better!
Very busy Saturday, surprised to see a Bride and Groom waiting in reception to go through to the lounge and their vows, but hey ho!
Car Park tight and steep, but accommodation, service, food etc. was very good. We were a large party (12, almost all over 60 years old) and were very well looked after.
Staff on reception deserve special praise.
Nice walk down the lane to Iffley Lock, and then along river towpath into Oxford.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked this hotel as an alternative to the Holiday Inn Express etc, as all we needed was an overnight stop whilst picking our daughter up from University. Easy booking (booking.com), and easy to find. Needs a bigger car park though - not a lot of space.
Check-in was quick, and the room very good. Nice double bed, plenty of space, good bathroom and Sky TV. Decided to have dinner in the bar - fish & chips and burger, both very good with excellent chips! Quick service, reasonable price, and didn't want a dessert afterwards.
Good breakfast as well, with eggs benedict and kedgeree on the menu, as well as standard menu. Quick service again.
Overall, hotel was bright, clean and well maintained.
Great hotel, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historyboy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed for four nights during a training and i Must say the staff were very nice and helpful, Though there was not a very wide range for variety, everything I had was very tasty and well presented. The tea breaks we had were excellent and they always took our suggestions into consideration. Very good, I would certainly go back or recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: you would have to inquire about the wifi service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently had a small christening reception at Hawkwell House Hotel and from the first moment we stepped into the hotel to the moment we left we could not have felt more looked after.

We asked for the afternoon tea menu which everyone commented on how excellent it was. The staff continually replenished the sandwiches and cakes etc without any fuss or us having to ask and the whole afternoon ran incredibly smoothly.

The booking, reception and catering staff were brilliant. The hotel itself and grounds were lovely and overall we had a great afternoon and would like to thank everyone at the hotel for the excellent service and making our time there so enjoyable and stress free!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKLHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just wanted to say a massive thank you for all of your assistance with organising our hen weekend. We had an absolute fabulous time & the hotel was amazing- everything was organised as arranged, the staff were all so helpful & accommodating & the hotel itself was lovely- lovely rooms, lovely food & really nice atmosphere. It's really made our weekend. Would definitely recommend. We've had an absolutely amazing time. Laura Simpson & hen party. Stayed 23-25th May 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorlaSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just like to say had a wonderful experience at Hawkwell, we only stayed one day over Saturday night, bed and breakfast, but the reception staff were happy to help, the room was very good, with complimentary tea, coffee, water and biscuits, the breakfast was super with a lot of choice and we tried the restaurant on the Saturday evening and couldn't fault the service or the food, which was exceptional and a must try if you are staying. The location is terrific and it took us 40 minutes to stroll down the towpath into the centre of Oxford, Would love to stay there again. Well done.
janet (Leicester)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.0 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.7 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Property: Hawkwell House Hotel
Address: Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#12 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 saw an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TVs with Sky HD, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing