We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer first”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Amazing hotel, great friendly staff. I had an issue with overbooking 2 rooms instead of just one. No hassle whatsoever, put customer first. Room is family room which is more spacious than the last stay. Clean and very tidy, beds very nice and clean linen. Complementary apples and water. Nice and warm considering its -5 outside. Will book again for next year when we leave.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2bfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at The Royal Oxford Hotel on the 21st January for one night. We arrived about 12.00 midday and the reception staff were very pleasant and said that we could leave our luggage with them while we went off to explore. We arrived back at about 5.00 and made our way to our room. I had asked for a quiet room and it was indeed very quiet, right at the back of the hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of the main road at the front. It was decent size twin room with a large bathroom and it was lovely to have some complimentary water and fruit. A lovely touch. Here comes the negative! We had booked breakfast for the following morning at the adjoining Cafe Coco. With it being our first time in Oxford, we didn't really know how easy it was going to be to find somewhere that did breakfast so we thought we would play safe and book it. How very disappointing it was. We ordered scrambled egg and bacon. Unfortunately, the egg had been burnt and the bacon had obviously been cooked in the microwave! No crispiness whatsoever and very fatty. We couldn't eat any of it. On checking out, we did express our disappointment about the breakfast, bearing in mind the hotel had been perfect. The reception staff informed us that the restaurant next door wasn't linked in any way to the hotel but that they had an understanding with the cafe that if people wanted breakfast, then they would book them in. I do think that if a hotel is going to take peoples money for breakfast, they should make it their business to know that the breakfast they are providing is a good one. This clearly was not! We would definitely stay at this hotel again but would steer clear of the Cafe Coco, especially when there are so many other fantastic eateries within a stones throw!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you will be rewarded with a room towards the back of the hotel, away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ros R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

First, having been to Oxford before, I know how difficult procuring accommodation here can be, particularly if it's a high travel period. There are plenty of bed and breakfasts around, but in my experience, the variance between B&Bs in terms of comfort and service makes it difficult to book something and know what you'll be getting. So for this trip I decided to go the hotel route, which are somewhat few in Oxford and spread apart, so if location to the city centre is a requirement, I found that there are very few choices.

With that in mind, I found the Royal Oxford Hotel's location, service, and overall experience very good. Our receptionist was very friendly, efficient and accommodating, our room was spacious and clean, and we had a very comfortable stay. As others have said, the location is extraordinarily convenient. There also seemed to be a significant concern for security (as others have said, you give your key to them when leaving the premises, after a certain time you must be buzzed in by the night porter, etc), but my wife and I felt safe the entire time and did not experience any difficulties in that department.

The building appears to be mid 1930s or early 1940s construction and oddly neo-classical; it appears a bit at odds with the rest of the area which I would think was intentional in its design. As the building is not new, the rooms are not modern, stylish or what have you, but they do have charm and the cleaning service does an excellent job in maintaining it. As such, I found the hotel very charming and comfortable and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel due to its location, cleanliness, and service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Comfortable stay overall. Needed a place for two nights in Oxford, this was a central location and convenient for me. Good staff, restaurant serving evening meals, I ate here both nights and found service calm and the food tasty. Would use this hotel again if I have to repeat my visits to Oxford in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our welcome receptionist Evgeniya was very helpful and friendly. The beds were comfy and the location was very convenient to the bus station and all downtown sites. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58linds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

From the minute we walked in the door, we were treated with courteous, efficient service by the staff at Royal Oxford. I asked for an ironing board and it was delivered to my room in literally two minutes. The room was relatively spacious compared to other rooms in the U.K. (especially in London) that I have stayed in. The bathroom was modern and the showerhead powerful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Hotel is very well situated in Oxford, close to the Railway Station and also the centre of the City is only a few minutes walk away. Reception staff are very attentive and friendly. The room was good , a reasonable size and very comfortable bed. But for breakfast arrangements I would be giving this Hotel a better review. Breakfast is seved in the ajoining Cafe Co Co.
The Cafe lacks atmosphere and the food is below average not helped by hot breakfasts seved on cold plates.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjwCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £123 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing