We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Although we only spent one night at the hotel, it was not hard to find that the hotel was maintained at its best. It is only 5 minutes walk from the station. Hotel's hardware overall was adequate, the room was very clean and cosy, and its staff was very friendly. It would be an ideal choice for weekend breakaways.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the "Royal". What a pleasant change from the last visit to Oxford when I stayed at a far more expensive (and historic) hotel with threadbare carpets and disinterested staff. By contrast the "Royal" staff were quite exceptional; always smiling; and consistently helpful. The room was well appointed, light and clean with fruit, biscuits and water provided with coffee and tea etc. Equally close to both bus and train stations, yet only a few minutes walk from the centre of everything. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceratopsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The outside look of this hotel contrasts markedly with the very clean and cosy accommodation and exceptionally friendly staff at reception and in the Breakfast Room. The breakfast food is tasty,clean and served hot. There is no on site parking or lift with all rooms on either the first or second floor. The central location makes access to all Oxford's attractions very easy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Approaching the hotel on our two block walk from the Oxford train station, the hotel appeared dreary and none too enticing. That all changed once inside when greeted by the cheerful desk staff in a bright, modern front desk area. We were shown to our room on the second floor, three flights up (no lift), a fairly spacious corner room with three large windows. The staff delivered our luggage directly to our room. The room was well lit and our queen-sized bed comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and spotless though the plumbing was a bit quirky. A basket of apples and oranges is provided in the room along with bottled water and packs of various biscuits as well as tea and coffee. It's about a 10 minute walk into the heart of Oxford and the fact that it's so close to the train station makes coming and going very easy. There are a couple of little cafes close by the hotel where you can get a continental breakfast at a savings over the hotel's continental breakfast. If you're sensitive to traffic sounds though, you may want to pick somewhere else. All in all, this is a good choice in Oxford.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R6Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Straight and to the point, this is a series of bedrooms with a place for breakfast for those so inclined. Nice to have fresh fruit in the room. Furnishing is fine as are all the bits and bobs. It is no a nonsense place which ticks the boxes if you are looking for a place between the station and the colleges to rest your head.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaviddwrOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel had a very traditional feel to it although it has gone through some changes since I worked there in 1975 having lost it's large front bar to a restaurant.
The rooms were clean, spacious, and freshly decorated, the mattresses deep and comfortable. Water and a bowl of fruit was included in addition to tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits.
It was very nice to be able to open the windows for ventilation; they have a secondary double glazing. The street was a little noisy at night but it was Mayday Eve and the windows were open!
The receptionists were very pleasant and accommodating. Check out was by 12 midday and we were able to leave our luggage for collection later.
Very good value for money!

Room Tip: I liked room 107 on the end of the building as it had a dual aspect and interesting space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppytoadfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Quite a decent place to stay if you're visiting Oxford for a weekend. Very close to the train station and only a 7 min walk from the high street. Great value for money.
The ladies at the reception were very nice and helpful.
The room was quite comfortable and clean. The heating could have been a bit better though as it was still cold in the room even with the heating being on full blast.
Nevertheless we had a good stay and would definitely go back when we visit Oxford next.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imadzafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £133 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing