We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Just what my wife and I needed. I stayed for a few nights and was extremely impressed with every little detail. Specifically the Wi-Fi, the high ceiling and the service. I would highly recommend to anyone passing through Oxford.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex1234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    307
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
124
194
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Flying from Taiwan to the UK and staying in this hotel for our first days of the holiday. My husband and me and my 4-year-old son was staying in a one-double and one-single bed room, which was bigger and more spacious than we expected. We liked the high ceiling, the individual heaters, and the very bright bathroom.

Besides tea bags and instant coffee bags, they warmly provided a big bowl of fruit, more than enough tea biscuit and 3 glass bottles of mineral water everyday. A miner thing that made my husband nag a little bit is that sometimes the cleaning lady didn't choose good quality of apples for us, fortunately the oranges were good.

We could have rented a one-double bedroom and had my son squeeze with us in one bed and got a cheaper room rate, which could lessen the negative part of a little too pricey rate we took, 150 pounds per night, but we found a very pleasant stay in the end and didn't regret at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graceshih999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay as we did not expect such a well appointed room for the price we paid. Also really appreciated the complimentary water, fruit and newspaper. Will stay again if we again visit Oxford.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sevenducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very central, convenient location. Nice, basic, clean room with very comfortable bed. Well supplied with toiletries, tea, coffee, water, biscuits etc. Slightly bizarre voucher arrangement when having breakfast. Breakfast was pleasant (though this is the first time I've ever been offered garlic potatoes as part of an English breakfast)! Friendly, amiable service. Would be happy to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel staff allocated me a room in a location I had requested.
The room was everything I wanted and I enjoyed my overnight stay.
The exterior of the hotel,looking at it from the railway station,could do with some tlc but the interior was fine.Will re visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
192 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I recently stayed here for 4 nights. The location of the hotel is great to the bus station and easily walkable with luggage. The staff are very nice and responsive. There are several coffee shops near the bus station that are fine for breakfast if you eat light. The bathroom could have a few more clothes hooks and the shower knobs were different than others I have seen but no problem. Since Oxford is an easily walkable city, it is fine that this hotel is not "in the center" of things.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room on a low floor which I received but the window faced an air vent. Since I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelyn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Don't get your expectations up, while the hotel is close to the rail station and Gloucester Green the bus terminal, the rooms are quite basic. We arrived by car and there is no place to pull over and stop off luggage. The hotel is boarded on three sides by very busy streets - bus routes so stopping can be quite the experience. Our room was on the third floor, no elevator - staff kindly place our luggage in our room as we dealt with the car. The room faced a light well with lots of air handling equipment...no quite what I was expecting for the price. Their double is a double bed, with not much walk room all around. The shower is a challenge - there are two signs providing instruction so read each carefully. There is only so much the staff can make up for.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room and have a demonstration of the shower function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojofasulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing