We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 2 November 2013

For anyone staying in Oxford and arriving by train this is an ideal place to stay. Clean and comfy rooms and bathroom. What more could you ask for? Excellent position for walking around colleges and shops


  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKn0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for Royal Oxford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

The staff were friendly and very helpful. Room very comfortable and clean. Little touches like fruit made us feel very welcome.
The location is perfect for a sightseeing trip to Oxford as close to transport and easy walking distance from the centre of Oxford.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A small hotel, well situated within walking distance of the Central Bust Station and downtown, Royal Oxford is a reasonable alternative to higher priced hotels in Oxford. The staff is very accommodating, rooms are small and inelegantly furnished, but the overall result is a good deal. Note that there is no lift.

Room Tip: Go higher to avoid street noise, but be aware there is no lift.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfxj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was convenient for our stay, the room and bathroom were both clean and of a good size. However, we thought that for a room only, it was expensive, although we realise that Oxford is an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cricketer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you are traveling the Royal Oxford is perfectly situated within easy walking distance of both the train station and the central bus station. But be aware, it has no elevator so if you don't travel light you will face a work out. Having said that the front desk staff were most helpful in helping to carry luggage up and down the stairs. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well furnished. The daily paper, hot beverage selection, biscuits and fresh fruit are a welcome touch. The hotel is within a 10 minute walk of the center of old town Oxford and there is a wide range of restaurants within a 10 minute radius of the hotel. The hotel is right at the intersection of several main thoroughfares and near a number of clubs but double glazed windows kept noise to a minimum. We would not recommend the breakfast. There are much better options close by.

Room Tip: If you can not travel light ask for a room on the first floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the railway and bus stations. we were a travelling party of 4 with a medium sized luggage in transit to another destination. We planned to stay in Oxford for 2 days and see the rest of the shire by train. The hotel is very near the railway station. After making through the exit into the street, just turn right through the ramp, and down to the street. Just turn to the right and cross into the middle portion of the road where the bus stop is, turn left and voila, there in the distance, in the middle of the plaza, is the hotel. THere was no lift as most of the hotels built in their time, was the only problem. THe room was comfortable. we had the corner room overlooking the street, and even if there were cars passing by, the noise was not noticeable. The minibar provisions were a blessing. THe housekeeping service was too thorough though, =) having "lost" an adaptor when it was inadvertently left plugged into the sockets. getting about our travels by train and by foot was perfect. the hop onn and hop off buses stopped outside and the rest of the city was very accessible. the bed was perfect, the free wifi strong . perfect. i wish i was back there right now.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aretha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We chiose the hotel as it was right next to the station. Also only 5 minutes in the other direction were lots of restaurants. But the facilities weren't the best. No lift so struggled to carry bags up and down stairs ourself. We never took breakfast but the 'cafe' didnt look appealing. Bed was comfortable, warm duvet, shower was fine, rest of room needed an uplift.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cactusteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £130 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing