We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent location, comfortable room, good range of complimentary stuff, eg fruit, free wifi. Full English breakfast slightly puzzling in presentation, but good quality ingredients. Staff knowledgable and helpful. Very good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for your time to write the review and I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    307
    101
    23
    12
See reviews for
124
194
68
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent staff and room was great, including bathroom.
extra provided fruit and desert were really kind as well.
The lift was only thing could be improve, but the staff were really with that.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCHIANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Madam
Thank you very much for find the time to write the comment and we are very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Having selected this hotel with the help of TripAdviser, I wasn't disappointed.
Despite the somewhat unprepossessing entry (we drove past it twice before realising we'd arrived!) our two rooms, next to one another, suited us fine. Having just arrived from Australia, then driven to Oxford; being able to access our rooms early in the morning was so good...we could settle in, have a shower etc. before going out to explore.
The staff were delightful...friendly and helpful...the beds really comfy, and the breakfast (go the omelettes!) a good start to the day. The city sights are only a short walk away.
I had asked for quiet rooms, and there was no noise at all...great for jet-lagged travellers.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms were 201 and 203.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great location, really comfortable and spacious with many special touches. All the staff a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was too much trouble from the selection of free daily newspaper to the reservation of local overnight parking. Breakfast very enjoyable and well presented.Thank you all

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Convenient and perfect location, 1 min walk from traían station and 5 min walk to central of Oxford. Good links to public transport and coaches to London.
Staff very kind and professional.
Really clean the room and common areas
Really good quality/value

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

How pleasant after the very ordinary hotels of London. An inviting and well appointed room with a very comfortable bed. A large, immaculate private bathroom and complimentary biscuits and fruit. The porters carried our bags and the staff are lovely. And so close to both the train and the town centre! Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IndigoNightowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Having read all the reviews for this hotel, we booked for a night. And although much of what people say is accurate- we were very disappointed. Yes - it was clean for instance - but surely that is not a selling point just a basic standard? I can't see it what sense this can claim to be a hotel - it's essentially a boarding house. The room we had was small and pokey and the bathroom stank of food from a café/take-away underneath. Yes there was bottled water and tea etc- but that is so basic a thing to expect anywhere it doesn't deserve rave reviews. The staff were friendly, but since all they can possibly do for you is give you a key - I can't see on what basis people could judge their service as being good? It is a short walk to the centre - but it's not pretty or historic - more bleak.

There was no iron or board and no other facilities in this non hotel - there is just the rooms. A decent B&B would be a better choice and offer more. I can't believe it has won a trip advisor award - I shall be more cautious about Tripadvisor reviews etc in future. It's a shame because this is the first time they have not been reliable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Jo D
We provide all the required services necessary to maintain a 3 Star Hotel status. The hotel is assessed and awarded every year by the Tourism Board. The smallest room at the hotel measures 12m2 and all rooms were refurbished in August 12. The rooms are modern, comfortable and functional. Please accept my apology for any food smell in your bathroom; the issue was brought to the restaurant Manager attention and resolved last week. I would like to take this opportunity and highlight that it is not a café or a take away but a very good Korean restaurant and provides our guests with English and Continental breakfast, lunches and dinners as well as Room Service. It is also open to the public. Guests can enjoy a drink at the restaurant bar or have it served to the room.

Many of our customers mention that it is a 3 Star hotel providing a 5 Star service! The Front of House employees as well as providing basic reception duties, provide tourist information, reserve cinema or theatre tickets, print boarding passes, coach tickets, order taxis, arrange parking, book your next hotel destination, carry your luggage to the room, help with any IT issues and remember you next time you come to stay and do everything in their power to accommodate your special requests.

Irons and ironing boards are available on request.

Yours sincerely
Marzena James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Property: Royal Oxford Hotel
Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing