We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel!”
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Oxford Hotel
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Excellent hotel! Friendly reception staff, comfortable and clean room, wonderful free wifi. Good location, near to the rail and bus station. Have free snacks in the room. I would stay again if I come back again.
a bit too hot in the room





  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiawen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
There are newer reviews for Royal Oxford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The room and service were much better than we have received in far more expensive hotels. Lots to see and do within walking distance, plus loads of great restaurants. A great central place to stay in Oxford- we will be back.


  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your review and I am please that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Excellent location, comfortable room, good range of complimentary stuff, eg fruit, free wifi. Full English breakfast slightly puzzling in presentation, but good quality ingredients. Staff knowledgable and helpful. Very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you for your time to write the review and I am very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Excellent staff and room was great, including bathroom.
extra provided fruit and desert were really kind as well.
The lift was only thing could be improve, but the staff were really with that.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCHIANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manageress31, General Manager at Royal Oxford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Madam
Thank you very much for find the time to write the comment and we are very pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again in the very near future.
Yours faithfully
Marzena James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Having selected this hotel with the help of TripAdviser, I wasn't disappointed.
Despite the somewhat unprepossessing entry (we drove past it twice before realising we'd arrived!) our two rooms, next to one another, suited us fine. Having just arrived from Australia, then driven to Oxford; being able to access our rooms early in the morning was so good...we could settle in, have a shower etc. before going out to explore.
The staff were delightful...friendly and helpful...the beds really comfy, and the breakfast (go the omelettes!) a good start to the day. The city sights are only a short walk away.
I had asked for quiet rooms, and there was no noise at all...great for jet-lagged travellers.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms were 201 and 203.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Great location, really comfortable and spacious with many special touches. All the staff a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was too much trouble from the selection of free daily newspaper to the reservation of local overnight parking. Breakfast very enjoyable and well presented.Thank you all

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Convenient and perfect location, 1 min walk from traían station and 5 min walk to central of Oxford. Good links to public transport and coaches to London.
Staff very kind and professional.
Really clean the room and common areas
Really good quality/value

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#12 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £128 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing